Ratings based on 1,709 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Yountville, CA

Beautiful room and cheerful staff

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Everything, the rooms, facilities, service, restaurant . . .
Cons: They need to install towel bars in the bathrooms.
Location: Near Mosconi center and Union Square and accessible to anywhere in the city by public transportation,
We had a great stay at the Intercontinental Hotel in San Francisco. The location was perfect for shopping and jumping on local transportation to anywhere in the city. We had a spacious corner room with nice views over the city and a very comfortable king size bed. The amenities at the hotel were excellent, including an indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness room, spa, Michellin rated restaurant and a Grappa bar. The food in the Luce restaurant was superb. We have stayed here before and we will be back again. We highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay, friendly staff, great location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
My husband, nine-year-old son and I were at the Intercontinental for a recent "staycation" and completely enjoyed our weekend there. The room was very comfortable; every single staff person was helpful and friendly; and the pool, fitness room and spa made it a perfect stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

Okay-too many added expenses

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here but wouldn't return. Located too close to crime ridden streets- one wrong turn and we felt like we were about to get mugged. Also, restaurant was extremely expensive and additional cost to use business center computer was ridiculous when most hotels offer for free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice hotel, great location, and wonderful staff.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Location is convenient. Atmosphere and rooms are nice. Staff are very courteous and helpful.
Cons: Some of the linens were a bit worn, but we never had a concern about cleanliness.
Location: Very close to Union Square. Chinatown, Financial District, and the Tenderloin are easily walkable. From Mission/Powell you can get most anywhere.
The InterContinental San Francisco on Howard Street is in a convenient location, very close to Union Square. It is easy to get both private and public transportation to anywhere you would like to go in the city. The hotel itself is quite nice, with up-to-date rooms that are priced reasonably. The staff are wonderful. From the time we arrived and dealt with the Front Desk staff to the time we left and received help from the Concierge with transportation to SFO they were great. The latter actually went over-and-above to get a town car with child seats after the taxi company we had booked with failed to show up to take us to the airport. We only had breakfast at Luce and never got a chance to use the amenities, such as the pool and spa, but we will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom ottawa

A hotel for business travellers.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Cons: If internet is complimentary.
There is a daily fee for internet. I didn't want to add this internet fee to my room. I felt disconnected during my stay. I only need may be 30 minutes to check informations around town. This is a hotel for business travellers. Fridge in the room is full of small bottles of alcohol. Only a tiny space for your own stuff. For family travelling it would be convenient to have a fridge and microwave in your room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed and room

Posted Dec 1, 2014
I stayed in this hotel for three nights. I expected that I'm gonna stay in Five stars hotel, but I found out that I was wrong. This hotel is just bed and room and so expensive. I acknowledge that it was mistake when I went to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2014
had a great experience. the only problem is the hotel is located next to the Moscone Center so there is a lot of traffic near and around it. otherwise the hotel is great. nice rooms and great access to the Bay Bridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Jacuzzi, pool and spa were excellent. Staff were very polite and accommodating. Great location for union square. Room was spacious and nice for SF. Bathroom wasn't as clean as would expect do high end hotel. Had to remind them that my employer had provided an auhotization and cc # to cover incidentals several times but they always made it right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good business hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Lobby, location
Good business hotel in central location, good facilities, including solarium, gym and swimming pool. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Rooms spacious but temperature wise a bit warm, nice Eco-friendly hotel. Staff warm and friendly.