Ratings based on 1,282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from Citrus Heights, CA

Welcoming, friendly, helpful staff!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The employees were great! Keep hiring the polite, friendly ones, please!
Cons: Water pressure and the ability to get cold water quicker from the bathroom faucets. Make your valet service less expensive ($60.00 is TOO high!).
Location: We didn't want to pay $60.00 for the hotel staff to park our car, so we found a public parking garage close to the hotel that was about $38.00.
This was a great hotel to stay in. The staff at the front desk, along with the concierge, were very friendly and welcoming. The service was quick, and the concierge spent considerable time helping us identify a good Italian restaurant to enjoy (she even called the place we chose and made reservations for us). Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and I particularly liked having a small room safe to store the few treasured belongings we had brought with us while we ate out. There was only one thing that we really didn't like. The hotel is quite energy-conscious, which is fine, ut there was very little water pressure in the bathroom sink; this made it hard to rinse your toothbrushes, washcloths, etc. Also, when you turned the faucet handle all the way over to the right to get cold water, it ran quite hot for a long time before it finally became cold! A little annoying but definitely not a deal-buster. We would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would Stay Again

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Wonderful hotel and what you expect from Intercontinental.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Giants ballpark.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Staff is friendly, well appointed, knowledgeable, and efficicient. My stay at Intercontinental Hotel Howard Street was memorable and stress-free. A five-star experience South of Market Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Melodie from Santa Barbara, CA

Downtown San Francisco

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Location, comfortable, upscale, they treated our 8-year-old daughter very nicely.
Cons: I didn't like having to pay so much extra for parking, but then again, I'm not a city person, so I'm not accustomed to paying for parking at all.
Location: There was a lot to do within a one-mile radius. We visited Top of the Mark, Chinatown, and a couple of good restaurants.
We picked the room via Expedia "What's in a name" selection, and we're exceedingly pleased with their selection. Great location and really nice hotel. The staff were all extremely helpful, especially the doormen and concierge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rafael from Sao Paulo

Comfortable hotel with large rooms

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Staff and modern facilities.
The hotel has a good location for business purposes, but in the night time the surrounding areas are not so pleasant. Very attentive and helpful staff. Good but expensive breakfast buffet and spacious rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by luis

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Great atmosphere. Very friendly and super nice hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My wife and I have stayed here many times.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
We love every aspect. It is clean and inviting. The staff are helpful and aim to please. It is our favorite hotel in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mary Anne from ambay

The staff are all friendly and helpful.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: The jacuzzi and they could add sauna that we dnt have to pay in order for us to use.it
Location: It is close to everything yet away from the busy and crowded downtown.
We always stay in this hotel when in San Francisco. It's clean, nice and has a friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

good location great comfort

Posted Feb 25, 2014
This is a high end hotel in a great location next to the convention center. Room was comfortable and quiet. Nothing exceptional but certainly comparable to other 4+ stars hotels. I had little interaction with the staff but check in and out was most efficient. My first thought was that it was strange and atypical that the room had no coffee machine...Only to find it tucked away in a cabinet right before checking out! I did not make use of the spa, pool etc so can't comment on that. It was a great stay, would recommend and go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Seanzy from Beverly Hills, ca

What a spectacular hotel!!!!!!!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: big rooms, modern, clean
Location: Shopping center, Chinatown.
I booked this hotel because of the location and I am so happy I did. This hotel has an amazing entrance which brings you in this grand lobby. Everything is immaculate and modern. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. I got a double full bed and they charged me $20 to upgrade me to a bigger size room and bed. The rooms are quite large and beautiful. I was very impressed by the bathroom which was very bright. We had big windows and a huge bed. This is the most I have been impressed by a hotel in a very long time. If I am ever again in San Francisco, this is the only place I will stay! I should also add for all you shoppers, that there is a great shopping center with all different stores two blocks away from the hotel.