Ratings based on 1,488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Jacuzzi, pool and spa were excellent. Staff were very polite and accommodating. Great location for union square. Room was spacious and nice for SF. Bathroom wasn't as clean as would expect do high end hotel. Had to remind them that my employer had provided an auhotization and cc # to cover incidentals several times but they always made it right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good business hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Lobby, location
Good business hotel in central location, good facilities, including solarium, gym and swimming pool. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Rooms spacious but temperature wise a bit warm, nice Eco-friendly hotel. Staff warm and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Exceptional staff, family friendly

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Location, clean rooms, great staff and amenities
Cons: The coffee in the rooms.
We had an amazing stay at the Intercontinental. When I was looking at reviews before we went we found out the President had stayed there a couple of weeks ago. When we checked in my son asked the front desk how many rooms were in the room the President stayed in. They offered to provide us with a tour of the suite if we came back when it was free. The kids (7 and 10) made sure that we checked back to see if that offer was still available. When the room was clean they called our room and let us know that we could come and see it. While we were waiting to go take a look Albania (the lady from the front desk) had a chilled canister of milk and cookies delivered to our room for the kids! They thoroughly enjoyed their tour and were even given special memory books to document all of their special moments from their trip. As a result we had a amazing dinner out that night. The kids wrote in their memory books about the trip while waiting for their food to arrive and my husband and I enjoyed a glass of wine while the kids told us all about the fun they were having on their first trip to San Francisco. Your staff were amazing, we will be back---to bad we won't be staying in the suite next time!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Good hotel overall, kinda old, but very clean. Booked a club room on the 31st floor, great view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anaheim, CA

ICH-SF

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: View, staff, neatness of rooms, location.
Cons: Hotel provides a 59$/day valet parking, or you go around the bloc to the 5-th and Mission str and park your car there for 34/day.
Location: Downtown,Moscone centers,Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, China Town,cable car, AMC theaters, lots of places to eat: Samovar, Europa Deli,Cafe du Soleil...
To clarify: This review is for the Intercontinental Hotel downtown San Francisco 888 Howard street, not for the Intercontinental Mark Hopkins hotel. View from club room at level 33 was nice, and you can see the bay and the city Bed: comfortable king size bed, Room: very clean, and neat. Bathroom: very nice, cast iron tub,full walk in shower, frame less shower doors, natural stone counter-top, energy efficient fixtures. In room fridge, club room gives you free internet access, staff was nice and polite. I would definitely come again, but there is a major downside: parking is NOT free. There are 2 options: valet parking 59$/day as of 11/7/2014 or parking just around the block (on Mission street), where the rate is 9$/hr or 34$/day whichever applies. That is as of 11/7/2014. The parking is not free, as i stated above, and i think next time i will fly to S.F. and use public transportation as it will be much cheaper. From the hotel to the Fisherman's Wharf, Pier39 takes about 20 min to walk, or 15 min, with the car because of the pedestrian traffic and 1 way streets, and there you have to pay another 8$/hr for parking. IF YOU CAN, just fly to S.F and use the well developed public transportation, that being: cable car, tram, bus, troley-bus, metro, or taxi.They can take you anywhere for dollars a day rather than 40-60$/day for your car's parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Very nice location, close to Moscone Center

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Overall very pleasant experience. Easy to valet the car, easy to check in, easy freeway access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2014
I found the WiFi to be pathetic... I was not able to connect to it from any device - Lap, Mobile or from my iPad... Called the room service @9PM but nobody attended or called me back either.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible a/c

Posted Oct 29, 2014
The ac is in Eco mode which kept the room sweltering and it took 6 calls before it was finally resolved at 1 am
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, overpriced

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Room size for price. More intriguing lobby
Great staff, great location, beautiful view. Very Small room for $450 a night. TV took forever to turn on. Most likely would not stay there again.