Ratings based on 1,325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

I can't say enough nice things about the staff.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Bill and Leigh Ann at the Concierge were particular helpful. Location was close to all transportation to get to all parts of the city. Also many things within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Very clean hotel and staff was very helpful.
Excellent hotel! Close proximity to Union Square and Embarcadero
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great hotel, affordable price.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Our family of four just wrapped a 3 night stay and really enjoyed the Intercontinental. The location is 2 blocks south of Union Sq and within 1-2 blocks there is a Target, lots of dining options that make it easy if you want a quick bite or forgot some essentials. It was about a 15 min walk to Chinatown, 5-8 mins to get to the cable cars. We got a very good rate and were happy. Our kids swam every day. The pool and hot tub were great; our only complaint is that there is no comfortable place for people to sit at the pool-no room and just a couple hard benches. Overall, great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Nice hotel close to AT&T park

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Great location, clean and safe.
Location: Walk to AT&T for a Giants game, Powell street for a cable car ride to the Wharf where Alcatraz and biking across the Golden Gate bridge are a must!
Our family of 4 stayed here again this year to take in the city. The location is close to BART and the cable cars with all the shopping you could ever want. Great time in San Francisco!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Close to the trolleys, BART station and shopping.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Beautiful hotel. Amazing staff. Bill, the chief concierge, was kind, funny, and spot-on with recommendations. Super clean room and great ambiance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, cleanliness, style!
Really nice room, courteous staff, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Could not be any better

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Kara was wonderful. She booked us am exceptional room and by the time we went up a bottle of champaign and strawberries were placed as it was our anniversary. The locations is also good, 7 minutes from union square.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptionally poor service

Posted Jun 26, 2014
I was very disappointed in our stay - our room was not serviced until we had been there nearly two days and after repeated calls to the front desk. Each time I called I was also placed on hold for lengthy periods and when finally connected to a representative, I was met with a frosty and unapologetic tone. Highly avoid this chain, particularly this location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Electric Charging Station

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, spacious rooms, fast elevator
Location: Close to Market street, Moscone, Nordstroms
I first chose InterContinental San Francisco because it looked good and had a charging station for my Tesla. Now I come back because it has a charging station and is a wonderful hotel and in a central neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LA Lisa from Marina del Rey

Very good, modern hotel.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Very clean, modern and efficient. Knowledgable and truly helpful concierges.
Cons: Please try to honor room location requests. There was a blotch of gum on our otherwise nice carpet. Gorgeous bathroom but mold around tub.
Location: Yerba Buena Gardens is a great place to have a picnic lunch. The Samovar Tea room is fantastic. Park in the lot behind the hotel for much cheaper
Full disclosure, I got an amazing deal on this room. That being said, it is a great hotel even if paying a higher room rate. Everything is very new, clean and contemporary. For us, it was centrally located in SoMa next to the Moscone Center. The lobby is very open, light and airy. The front desk is efficient. The concierge gave us perfect recommendations every time for all our meals. The beds and linens are very nice and quite comfortable. The TV was big but the picture wasn't too crisp. Great amenities: shampoos, bath robes, slippers and such. And nice decor overall. While the hotel is really great, I didn't love my particular room. Checking in at the Front Desk, I made one request, "please do not put me in a room directly across from the elevators". I understood that, due to nature of my reservation, I would be placed on a low floor in a standard room. But, when I got out of the elevator, BAM- there was my room. Normally, I would have gone back to the front desk and politely requested a different room but, as I said, I really did get an awesome rate so, we stuck it out. The good news was that the room was shockingly very quiet despite its proximity to the elevator. All in all, our stay was quite pleasant.