Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2015
This stay reminded me why we always look for a JW !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2015
I thought this hotel was excellent. It was located near the shopping district. The staff was friendly and super professional. I would happily stay there again if I get another chance to visit San Francisco.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Marriott engages in absurd price gouging

Posted Jan 27, 2015
I didn't mind that my last-minute room reservation was very expensive, because there were two conferences in SF and hotel rooms were scarce. Fair enough. I did mind, however, when I came down for breakfast and the hotel was charging $59 plus a mandatory 18% tip for the run-of-the-mill Marriott breakfast buffet (about double what it usually costs, and about triple what it is actually worth). I minded even more when I discovered Marriott was charging guests $60 to sit in a chair in the lobby (no, I'm not kidding), complete with a hostess on duty to enforce the fee. When I noted the fees to the clerk on checking out (I wasn't even complaining, just pointing out it seemed over the top), he got snarky with me, informing me that it was "what the market would bear what with all the wealthy clients at the annual JP.Morgan Chase conference"). I visit SF a lot on business -- this was the last time I'll stay at a Marriott property there -- I'll leave them to their wealthy (but apparently stupid) patrons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

JW Marriott, a gem in the city.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: Wifi accessibility
Overall, the stay at the JW Union Square was a great experience. The staff was great and very pleasant, and the property was immaculate. The front desk was able to provide early check-in and even gave us an upgrade to a city view room upon request! Having stayed at various 4/5 star hotels in the area, I am positive JW Marriott Union Square is one of the best. The only complaint would be the daily $10-16 Wifi fee. Although very fast and efficient, the high price tag was a turn off. Cheers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to Union Square

Posted Dec 24, 2014
My wife and I had a wonderful stay last night. Blanka at the front desk was so friendly and helpful. She quickly noticed how long of a travel day my wife and I had with our 3 month old and took great care of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay right off union square

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: rooms were nice and clean people were helpful
Cons: they could give free wi-fi parking could be less (but you can drop bags off and drive across the street and park yourself for less)
Location: you are one block away from union square and all the shopping you could want, 4 blocks from chinatown and a taxi away from the best restaurants.
our family of 3 had a wonderful stay at the j.w.marriott 12/17/12/19... we always stay in SF right before the holidays so we can go out to dinner in SF a couple of times w/o DUI worries and for the shopping we have stayed a few other nice places in years past but i decided to try a different, less expensive hotel this year and was very surprised by how nice this hotel was...we will stay here again next year the rooms were quiet...starbucks and peet's around the corner they should give free wi-fi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu

Everyone was so welcoming!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Everything! Room was incredibly comfortable and well designed. Felt spacious and was very relaxing. The bed and comforter were perfect!
Cons: Can't think of a single thing, except perhaps having the ice delivered upon check in. It's a bit of a hassle to have to call for ice.
Location: Location is great! Right up the street from Union Square, our favorite hang out!
Doormen, bell hops, front desk, (especially Steve), housekeeping, everyone says hello, or welcome! Incredibly great training. Nobody is lazy and are always standing by to help. This was an incredible hotel experience. Can't wait to go again and can't wait to spread the word about how great your hotel. Bravo! Bravo! Bravo! Thank you so much! As we say in Hawaii, "much Mahalo!"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Thanks you Rena for you kindness in planning our short time in SF
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Arturo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

excelente servicio e instalaciones

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
excelente servicio e instalaciones