Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu

Everyone was so welcoming!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Everything! Room was incredibly comfortable and well designed. Felt spacious and was very relaxing. The bed and comforter were perfect!
Cons: Can't think of a single thing, except perhaps having the ice delivered upon check in. It's a bit of a hassle to have to call for ice.
Location: Location is great! Right up the street from Union Square, our favorite hang out!
Doormen, bell hops, front desk, (especially Steve), housekeeping, everyone says hello, or welcome! Incredibly great training. Nobody is lazy and are always standing by to help. This was an incredible hotel experience. Can't wait to go again and can't wait to spread the word about how great your hotel. Bravo! Bravo! Bravo! Thank you so much! As we say in Hawaii, "much Mahalo!"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Thanks you Rena for you kindness in planning our short time in SF
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Clean rooms, ok location, bad check-in experience

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Room rate
Cons: Check-in experience needs improvement. It's the first thing people experience and it left a bad taste in my mouth.
Location: Location was only okay. A short walk away takes you to the Tenderloin district, which I didn't know was a really bad part of town, full of homeless.
The hotel is within walking distance to many places (though stay away from the Tenderloin District at night unless you like seeing a ton of homeless and crazy people). Check-in was the only rough part of my stay. I reserved a king bed room through Expedia.com. After we got checked in and got into our room, we found we had two queen beds instead. I went back to the desk and said she made a mistake with our room and it wasn't what I had requested. She said you guys don't often get the correct room information from booking websites (which, if true, should be fixed as soon as possible). She said we were in luck, and she had one king room available and gave us your last one. A traveling companion also requested a king room, but reserved through your website. She, too, got a room with two queen beds instead of a king. I felt bad for her and told her we were just given your last king room. She went to talk to them anyway. Same message was given to her about booking through a website, however the clerk had no explanation for it since the reservation was done through your website and not a third party. To my and her surprise, she was given a king bed room. I did not appreciate being lied to in my first stay with your hotel. You clearly had extra king bed rooms available, and I suggest a review of your procedures and systems to prevent this from happening again. I would stay at your hotel again to give you one more chance to prove this wasn't simply a "bad day".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The whole experience from the doorman the housekeeping the concierge all was excellent
Cons: Maybe a newspaper
Location: Very central lots to do and see
The service and all the staff were great. Thanks for all the help. Would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Very clean and nice. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Very classy hotel in the best location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Very nice and the staff was excellent with large crowds. You still felt like you were important to them. I would recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

A high end treat.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Comfort and friendliness.
Cons: Door/bellmen not helpful in getting a cab at the curb.
Location: Great location 2 blocks from Union Square and theaters.
We stay at top line hotels frequently but this was our first experience at a JW Marriott. Could not have been much more pleasing. Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, luxurious bedding. Could not ask for much more. Would not have made this choice but for the rate offered by Expedia. And, other gusts included the flight crew of the Blue Angels in town for fleet week! Good chance to thank them for their service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton, alberta

Great hotel close to shopping and nightlife!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Went on a girls trip. Shopping a couple blocks away and easy to get everywhere. Safe area as well. Staff were amazing in helping us get anywhere and had great advice as to where to go. Great time, great hotel and friendly staff. Worth the dollars to stay somewhere nice, safe and it was quiet in our room during the night (no parties/street life heard from our room.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by DAVID Tfrom AUBURN

cl0se to shopping,restaurants, and theaters.

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
poor service at table in bar, only one robe in room,only coffee for one, and no newspaper monday morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by Nasser, Hotel Management
Dear David T, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in our hotel. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. I will share your message appropriately within the organization to prevent incidents like these from reoccurring. Sincerely, Nasser Mobarak Director of Hotel Operations JW Marriott San Francisco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CBfrom Central Valley

Good but with room to grow

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall our stay was very good. The coffee available in the room was poor quality and the fact I needed to pay for wi-fi for the cost of the room was absurd. It was wonderful to come into our room after an evening at the game to a tasty snack tray.