Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for first visit to San Francisco

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, excellent location.
Location: Near Union Square. Shopping, Hop on-hop off bus tour, Wine Country tasting, bay cruises, local pubs and restaurants, Fisherman wharf, etc etc.
Excellent. Polite and friendly staff. Large rooms. Perfect location for first visit to San Francisco. Concierge as extremely helpful in exploring the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Very old and outdated hotel , good staff but needs

Posted Mar 14, 2015
To be renovated, central location but hotel and rooms are very old. Restaurant food was expensive but subpar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice, close to the Union Square.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Chinese parade was around the corner. Union square was only a block. All of the employees were extremely nice. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the bathroom stall needed to have it's own room. I was in a group of 3 and it wasn't the best experience when it came to the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2015
This stay reminded me why we always look for a JW !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2015
I thought this hotel was excellent. It was located near the shopping district. The staff was friendly and super professional. I would happily stay there again if I get another chance to visit San Francisco.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Marriott engages in absurd price gouging

Posted Jan 27, 2015
I didn't mind that my last-minute room reservation was very expensive, because there were two conferences in SF and hotel rooms were scarce. Fair enough. I did mind, however, when I came down for breakfast and the hotel was charging $59 plus a mandatory 18% tip for the run-of-the-mill Marriott breakfast buffet (about double what it usually costs, and about triple what it is actually worth). I minded even more when I discovered Marriott was charging guests $60 to sit in a chair in the lobby (no, I'm not kidding), complete with a hostess on duty to enforce the fee. When I noted the fees to the clerk on checking out (I wasn't even complaining, just pointing out it seemed over the top), he got snarky with me, informing me that it was "what the market would bear what with all the wealthy clients at the annual JP.Morgan Chase conference"). I visit SF a lot on business -- this was the last time I'll stay at a Marriott property there -- I'll leave them to their wealthy (but apparently stupid) patrons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jonafrom California

SF hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great location and very comfortable. Desirable. $5 for a bottle of water? $10 for internet? $70 for parking? Less desirable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

JW Marriott, a gem in the city.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: Wifi accessibility
Overall, the stay at the JW Union Square was a great experience. The staff was great and very pleasant, and the property was immaculate. The front desk was able to provide early check-in and even gave us an upgrade to a city view room upon request! Having stayed at various 4/5 star hotels in the area, I am positive JW Marriott Union Square is one of the best. The only complaint would be the daily $10-16 Wifi fee. Although very fast and efficient, the high price tag was a turn off. Cheers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

まあまあ

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
場所は観光にとても便利です。フロントの対応など全般的評価はまあまあだと思いますが、クリスマスの時期でホテルが忙しかったのか、依頼したことに対する反応が今一つ、という感じがします。特に私の部屋は備え付けの家具のドアが壊れていましたが、修理を依頼しても滞在中にfixされませんでした。悪くはありませんがサービスの内容にムラがあると思います。再度泊まりたい、という感じではありません。