Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Clean rooms, ok location, bad check-in experience

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Room rate
Cons: Check-in experience needs improvement. It's the first thing people experience and it left a bad taste in my mouth.
Location: Location was only okay. A short walk away takes you to the Tenderloin district, which I didn't know was a really bad part of town, full of homeless.
The hotel is within walking distance to many places (though stay away from the Tenderloin District at night unless you like seeing a ton of homeless and crazy people). Check-in was the only rough part of my stay. I reserved a king bed room through Expedia.com. After we got checked in and got into our room, we found we had two queen beds instead. I went back to the desk and said she made a mistake with our room and it wasn't what I had requested. She said you guys don't often get the correct room information from booking websites (which, if true, should be fixed as soon as possible). She said we were in luck, and she had one king room available and gave us your last one. A traveling companion also requested a king room, but reserved through your website. She, too, got a room with two queen beds instead of a king. I felt bad for her and told her we were just given your last king room. She went to talk to them anyway. Same message was given to her about booking through a website, however the clerk had no explanation for it since the reservation was done through your website and not a third party. To my and her surprise, she was given a king bed room. I did not appreciate being lied to in my first stay with your hotel. You clearly had extra king bed rooms available, and I suggest a review of your procedures and systems to prevent this from happening again. I would stay at your hotel again to give you one more chance to prove this wasn't simply a "bad day".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The whole experience from the doorman the housekeeping the concierge all was excellent
Cons: Maybe a newspaper
Location: Very central lots to do and see
The service and all the staff were great. Thanks for all the help. Would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Very clean and nice. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Very classy hotel in the best location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Very nice and the staff was excellent with large crowds. You still felt like you were important to them. I would recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

A high end treat.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Comfort and friendliness.
Cons: Door/bellmen not helpful in getting a cab at the curb.
Location: Great location 2 blocks from Union Square and theaters.
We stay at top line hotels frequently but this was our first experience at a JW Marriott. Could not have been much more pleasing. Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, luxurious bedding. Could not ask for much more. Would not have made this choice but for the rate offered by Expedia. And, other gusts included the flight crew of the Blue Angels in town for fleet week! Good chance to thank them for their service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton, alberta

Great hotel close to shopping and nightlife!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Went on a girls trip. Shopping a couple blocks away and easy to get everywhere. Safe area as well. Staff were amazing in helping us get anywhere and had great advice as to where to go. Great time, great hotel and friendly staff. Worth the dollars to stay somewhere nice, safe and it was quiet in our room during the night (no parties/street life heard from our room.)
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

OK Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Proximity to almost everything.
Cons: Interiors
Location: Shopping is given since it's in Union Square.
It seems outdated. The overall interiors is nauseating to look down from upper floors. It may appeal to certain population, but not to younger population. Bathrooms are less functional as I expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2014 by Nasser, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately within Marriott. Sincerely, Nasser Mobarak Director of Hotel Operations JW Marriott San Francisco
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mikefrom Winnipeg, Canada

San Fran honeymoon

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I stayed at the JW Marriott for our honeymoon last week. Upon arrival the front desk told us there was only one room with a king size bed left available and that it was a handicap access room. We were ensured that the only difference was that there was a hand rail in the shower. My wife and I decided to take it, however, upon arrival to our room we realized there were more than a few difference between the standard room and handicap access room and that it wasn't quite suitable as our honeymoon suite. I went back down to the front desk to request a different room and after explaining that we were on our honeymoon we were given a beautiful room (with a king size bed.) On our first evening we were surprised with a free bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. Overall great hotel, great location and a great experience. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel and good location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: comfortable beds, good location
Cons: the marks on the walls, it didn't give the room a clean appearance. Bigger shower
Location: Great location, right in Union square where you can catch the double decker bus to fisherman's Wharf. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.
Hotel was nice, staff was nice. The room was nice, not huge but decent. The bathroom was really nice except the shower was very small and lots of marks on the walls. The beds were comfortable, not many tv stations for kids which after a long day out it would have been nice to put on the Disney channel or something. We ate the hotel restaurant one night, I recommend eating outside the hotel, much better restaurants in the area within walking distance. I ordered a glass of chardonnay and without even asking me what kind the server brought me out the most expensive glass on the menu and it wasn't very good. That's why I asked her what kind of wine it was in which she hesitated to tell me since she knew she never asked me what kind I wanted which in my opinion it should have been the house wine. The hotel is in a great location right next to Union square and lots of shopping. The valet at the hotel is 66.00 tax incuded (SUV) and 55.00 non SUV. Right across the street is a public parking garage for half the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com