Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The whole experience from the doorman the housekeeping the concierge all was excellent
Cons: Maybe a newspaper
Location: Very central lots to do and see
The service and all the staff were great. Thanks for all the help. Would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Very clean and nice. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Very classy hotel in the best location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Very nice and the staff was excellent with large crowds. You still felt like you were important to them. I would recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

A high end treat.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Comfort and friendliness.
Cons: Door/bellmen not helpful in getting a cab at the curb.
Location: Great location 2 blocks from Union Square and theaters.
We stay at top line hotels frequently but this was our first experience at a JW Marriott. Could not have been much more pleasing. Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, luxurious bedding. Could not ask for much more. Would not have made this choice but for the rate offered by Expedia. And, other gusts included the flight crew of the Blue Angels in town for fleet week! Good chance to thank them for their service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton, alberta

Great hotel close to shopping and nightlife!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Went on a girls trip. Shopping a couple blocks away and easy to get everywhere. Safe area as well. Staff were amazing in helping us get anywhere and had great advice as to where to go. Great time, great hotel and friendly staff. Worth the dollars to stay somewhere nice, safe and it was quiet in our room during the night (no parties/street life heard from our room.)
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

OK Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Proximity to almost everything.
Cons: Interiors
Location: Shopping is given since it's in Union Square.
It seems outdated. The overall interiors is nauseating to look down from upper floors. It may appeal to certain population, but not to younger population. Bathrooms are less functional as I expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2014 by Nasser, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately within Marriott. Sincerely, Nasser Mobarak Director of Hotel Operations JW Marriott San Francisco
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel and good location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: comfortable beds, good location
Cons: the marks on the walls, it didn't give the room a clean appearance. Bigger shower
Location: Great location, right in Union square where you can catch the double decker bus to fisherman's Wharf. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.
Hotel was nice, staff was nice. The room was nice, not huge but decent. The bathroom was really nice except the shower was very small and lots of marks on the walls. The beds were comfortable, not many tv stations for kids which after a long day out it would have been nice to put on the Disney channel or something. We ate the hotel restaurant one night, I recommend eating outside the hotel, much better restaurants in the area within walking distance. I ordered a glass of chardonnay and without even asking me what kind the server brought me out the most expensive glass on the menu and it wasn't very good. That's why I asked her what kind of wine it was in which she hesitated to tell me since she knew she never asked me what kind I wanted which in my opinion it should have been the house wine. The hotel is in a great location right next to Union square and lots of shopping. The valet at the hotel is 66.00 tax incuded (SUV) and 55.00 non SUV. Right across the street is a public parking garage for half the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MWfrom New York City

NYC Visitors

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fine except that we couldn't get any coffee early in the morning. We had meetings at 6 a.m., and nothing was available at 5:30 a.m. Probably should have a coffee pot in each room. Views were great, location was convenient and the staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Caroline Millerfrom Adelaide, AUS

This place is the best! Close to Union square

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved this hotel, half a block from Union Square. The service was absolutely fantastic. Super friendly and helpful valets, waiting staff and concierge. Internal atrium and glass lifts gives this hotel a really good feel. I was very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Bathroom was lovely too. Travelling with tired, little kids, we ate in the hotel restaurant every night and the food was fantastic, some of the best we had in 3 weeks in CA. Everything is expensive - room, valet and food - but if you are shelling out in San Fran anyway stay here and you wont be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Elisefrom Monterey

Paul Macarney concert

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We came to SF for the Candlestick/ Sir Paul concert...The hotel went out of its way to make our one night stay perfect. We needed transportation due to the crowds and traffic. They booked a limo, found additional passengers and over all saved the day. We would have still been in the parking lot trying to get home!