Ratings based on 1,331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Hotel very close to Union Square

Posted May 19, 2015
Comfy beds with lots of pillows. Coffee in room PLUS in lounge every morning plus sherry and tea in the afternoon. I loved the benches in the elevators- when you returned to the hotel, very exhausted from climbing those hills in SanFrancisco, you could set your packages down and sit down until you got to your floor! The staff was very attentive, also.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Nice hotel excellent location in centre

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Bathroom, guest toilet in lobby
Location: Near city center and shops.
Hotel staf very friendly. Booked rollaway bed in room but was not there when i arrived. No coffee facility in lobby. Guest toilet on first Floor in dark lit ballroom area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rural northern calif

We needed a hotel that was close to great eateries

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: The staff was very helpful. The bed was great, just enough covers.
Cons: nothing
Location: Union square offered lots of shopping experiences and close to the ballpark
Great experience and walking distance to everything
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Disappointing

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Location is OK.
Cons: Provide clean bed sheets.
Bed sheets were unchanged. Previous occupants' body odor/sweat obviously still on sheets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Apr 24, 2015
This is a very old hotel, and in my opinion, it was overpriced even for downtown San Francisco. The biggest issue was: No hot water in the morning to shower. Enough said. When I asked at the front desk if any discount or credit would be forthcoming given no hot water, the gentleman said he would "have to ask my manager" which is less than optimal customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
I was not too thrilled about the facilitiy. There was no Gym or breafast facilty onsite. The hotel front was undergoing construction which I get but there was water everywhere. It was difficult to hail a cab and a couple of times when we called Uber they would not let them wait for even a little bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 千葉

立地良いホテル

Posted Apr 23, 2015
ユニオンスクエアに至近で、立地的に便利なホテル。レトロな雰囲気ではあるが、設備的な不満はない。だだ欧米系以外のクレジットカードの扱いが不慣れでチェックイン時の対応がやや不満。それ以外は満足。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Very convenient location!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
My friend and I went to San Francisco for a 4-day visit and found this hotel to be very conveniently located near Union Square and other amenities -- near the main cable car stops and the buses. We found the room to be very comfortable and pleasant, no real complaints at all. Friendly staff too. We enjoyed the tea, sherry and water on offer to guests every afternoon although we were not always around to take advantage of it.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, CB

The hotel is in need of an upgrade!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Great location. Central to all the action of Union Square
Cons: Maintenance of the rooms.
The hotel is centrally located next to Union Square which makes it an ideal location. The check in process was great with the Guest Agent being very courteous and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable but could definitely use an update. The biggest issue we had was with the washroom. We stayed in room 45 and the shower head was so congested with calcium deposits that the water coming out was virtually non existent. When you try to adjust the head, it either came out in a fine mist barely or a straight downpour which was not enough to stand under to get cleaned up. Also, when someone close by turned on their water, the temperature in ours varied greatly. The vanity is this room as well is unusually low as well which made it seem strange. Our friends stayed in another room and did not have any of these experiences so we'll just chalk this one up to poor maintenance of this room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff ruined trip

Posted Apr 20, 2015
the lazy, rude staff ruined an otherwise enjoyable trip. the doorman John stood and watched as I struggled to get my luggage and couldn't even to open the door.