Ratings based on 2,569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham, UK

Start of an adventure

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Quirky, funky, contemporary and central
Cons: It was slightly impersonal, not that everyone wants that in a hotel
Location: Very close to all the major sights
Central, clean, friendly, quiet at the weekend due to proximity to financial district and walking distance to some of the major tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Great hotel close to the bay!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location and staff, and design of the hotel
Cons: Complementary food/snacks
Tripadvisor had this place rated fairly high ad the price was very good, so we stayed at Le Meridien. Everything we needed was mostly walking distance form the hotel (the piers, Market St, movie theatre right across the street) so it was a great location for us. We requested a room that faced the water which was a nice touch. Staff were great to deal with, and hotel had a clean and mostly contemporary look to it. They include complementary tea and coffee at the restaurant in the hotel, but I wish they would add some free snack items like fruit and pastries. Very pleasant stay overall and I would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great San Francisco hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Overall great hotel. Fantastic location if you want stay just outside the busy union square area. Had no problems at all. Good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom troyes

Trés bien situé A recommander

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Je ne vais quand même pas vous raconter mes vacances.. L'hôtel est parfait à mon goût
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Years Eve

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Good location to walk to Embarcadero for the New Years Eve fireworks. But the lobby bar closed serving drinks around 12:15am. I thought last call is usually 1:30/1:45am. Not sure what was going on but the bar staff was rude or just lazy. Rooms were ok (nothing sprectacular). But it was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by RandyLMSF, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing. I am sorry you were disappointed by the time the bar closed. Our posted closing time for the bar is 12am and unfortunately we cannot stay open later on New Year's Eve for the safety and security of our guests. Based on the history of the night, the majority of the bars in the area close at this time on NYE due to the large event at the Embarcadero letting out. It would not be a comfortable place for our guests if the huge crowds walking from the event came in for a drink. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you have a great 2015.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Ireland

Good hotel...professional and pleasant staff...

Posted Jan 4, 2015
A pleasant hotel with a very European feel. A good city hotel with excellent links to transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom GLASGOW

Great for North Beach & Chinatown

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Fab bed & bathroom, huge room. Starbucks literally across the road, Walgreens just down the street. Great for the ferry to Sausilito at Ferry Building
Cons: Stronger coffee in the morning
Location: Beat Gen Museum, Café Vesuvio, City Lights Bookstore,Chinatown just 5 mins away. Not far to shopping of Market St, where you must have food in Bun Mee
Excellent - though can be noisy.................... are the windows not double glazed ?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Close to the Embarcadero

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The beds and linens were very nice. The bathroom was also very nice. Everything was cleaned very well each day.
Cons: Train the staff to be welcoming, to offer you maps of the area upon check in and to know the hours of their own restaurant and bar. Hospitality!
Location: The location was great. It was walking distance to the Ferry Building, the Embarcadero, Fisherman's Wharf, ChinaTown and Union Square.
The location was excellent for walking to the Embarcadero, the Ferry Building and ChinaTown. It was also close to Union Square shopping. Public transportation was easily accessed. The Wharf was a good mile long walk. The location of the hotel being in the Financial District made finding evening dining options rather tricky. The hotel staff at reception was mediocre. One or two of the concierges were excellent but other staff members were inept and not helpful. Staff should know the hours of the in hotel restaurant and Bar 333. The comfort of our room was lovely, always cleaned well and relatively quiet. There is a fire station nearby and that was loud being that we were on the 5th floor. Overall it was a good stay and I would recommend the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2015 by RandyLMSF, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. I want to apologize for the disappointing service you received from the hotel staff. I am sorry you found some of them not helpful. This is not the perception we want our guests to walk away with and I appreciate you sharing your experience with us. With that said, I am happy that your overall your stay was good. We are pleased that you found the room to be comfortable and clean. Thank you for staying and thank you for the feedback. Thank you for recommending us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montréal, Canada

Great location near embarcadero

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Location, quick check-in and courteous staff.
Cons: Cleanliness of furniture: armchair was terribly stained.No in-room coffee/tea but staff provided it when requested. Uneven daily housekeeping.
Location allows you to walk to most sites or to take local transportation which is frequent and well-priced especially if you are 65 and over. BART is a 5 minute walk and the best way to get to the airport. Lots of great restaurants around and priced for every budget. You do not want a car in SF as traffic is horrendous downtown. A Safeway (grocery store) is a 10 minute walk and Fisherman's wharf is about a 20 minute lovely walk along the water.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomasfrom Los Angeles

Not a great stay

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I always pick this hotel for the location but each time the service has not been great. Very unwelcoming. Never a hello or welcome. The room bathroom door was off the track and had to call to get it fixed. The bedside lights didn't work but I pulled out the bed stands and they were unplugged. Had the do not disturb sign up but got calls from housekeeping to see if I wanted my room cleaned. I wanted to rest not get woken up by a phone call. Check out was zero interaction. No questions on how was your stay did I need help wit luggage. It was just a nothing stay. At 200 dollars a night in a bad room you call a superior king I just expected more then being treated like a nobody.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by RandyLSF, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing to us about your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the issues you experienced during your stay. We pride ourselves on great customer service and offering a memorable product. While it is true that usually we accomplish this goal it is clear that this time we dropped the ball in several places. Please be assured that we read every review and take them very seriously. I have already started sharing these concerns with my team to ensure this does not happen again. We will work on these issues during our daily training meetings. Thank you for staying with us and once again we are very sorry for the shortfalls.