Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Friendly staff, great hotel and convenient location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Old Hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: the personnel
The elevator doesn't function well. the room doesn't has space for the clothes. really I think it is very expense for what you get. I didn't like it in any way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Expensive hotel that doesn't provide free wifi

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: location and view
Cons: internet availability
Location: Embarcadero, trolley ride to Golden Gate Park, Chinatown
The hotel is well located. The staff is pleasant and well trained. The rooms are comfortable exactly the way you expected from an expensive hotel.The view from the room is breathtaking . There's no free internet available though. I didn't get it because I thought was insulting that they want make an extra buck when I had pay handsomely for my stay. I would suggest that they include the internet fee to the room price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Spectacular views, great location

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location; access; cleanliness; friendly staff; great customer service
Location: Beautiful views; close to everything
Appreciate the early check in; pleasant staff; extremely accommodating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Just an ordinary room. Nothing that will make you want to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

OK but not luxurious

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
A no-frills Mandarin Oriental that is more suitable for a business trip than a romantic getaway. This is the most austere Mandarin Oriental I've been to. The lobby was small with one bench where people sat as they waited for their cabs. The breakfast/bistro area was just off the lobby, looked very much like an airport business lounge area. We did not feel like eating there during our stay. We stayed in the King City View room, which had a good size and a very comfortable bed. Offerings in the room were kept to the bare minimum-- two little bottles of water, no coffee/tea, and wifi had to be paid for (who charges for wifi these days???). We ordered room service on our first night there as we got in late. The two tasteless wonton soups which came to $50 with tip (they automatically charge a delivery fee plus a 25% gratuity) were quite disappointing. The spa had a decent menu of services, but it seemed a waste to put treatment rooms with no windows on the third floor when they could have been outfitted with great views from a higher floor of the 40-storey building. We went elsewhere to get our treatments. Overall the hotel was fine, not as luxurious as the other Mandarin Orientals and more business-y than romantic. The location was also fine-- right in the financial district, so it was easy to get around although there were very few restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Staff was friendly and service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graemefrom New Zealand

Best hotel in San Francisco

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The most comfortable and sophisticated hotel in SFO. We have stayed there several times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robertfrom Austin

Fantastic and worth every penny

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is incredibly well located and is simply superb in every way. Despite the price, it struck me as a great value. There was nothing I encountered that needed improvement in any way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kathleen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with amazing views!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
We stayed there for our anniversary and really enjoyed the beautiful views of the bay. The staff was really helpful and congratulated us on our anniversary every time we talked to them. They even sent chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to our room! We look forward to visiting again soon.