Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Chico, CA

Amazing view of the city

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The view. The attention to detail. Everything was clean, cared for well, and ordered perfectly. The staff was courteous and friendly.
Location: About 4 blocks from the Ferry building in the financial district. A short drive to the Ballpark. A short walk to Union Square and Chinatown.
The people at this hotel really take care of you. They've thought about what you may need before you even become aware of it yourself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Friendly staff, great hotel and convenient location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Old Hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: the personnel
The elevator doesn't function well. the room doesn't has space for the clothes. really I think it is very expense for what you get. I didn't like it in any way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by XIAORONGfrom 上海

很不错的酒店

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
酒店位于金融街,离联合广场也不远,出行方便。大堂不大,服务员基本是东方面孔,感觉比较亲切。房间面积不小,床很舒服,只是装修和家具略显旧,但是很干净。因为是市中心高层建筑,所以看出去的view还是非常好,尤其是夜景。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Expensive hotel that doesn't provide free wifi

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: location and view
Cons: internet availability
Location: Embarcadero, trolley ride to Golden Gate Park, Chinatown
The hotel is well located. The staff is pleasant and well trained. The rooms are comfortable exactly the way you expected from an expensive hotel.The view from the room is breathtaking . There's no free internet available though. I didn't get it because I thought was insulting that they want make an extra buck when I had pay handsomely for my stay. I would suggest that they include the internet fee to the room price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Spectacular views, great location

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location; access; cleanliness; friendly staff; great customer service
Location: Beautiful views; close to everything
Appreciate the early check in; pleasant staff; extremely accommodating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Just an ordinary room. Nothing that will make you want to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susanfrom St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

Made My Anniversary Special - Thanks!

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
Booked the Mandarin Oriental for one night for a layover to Hawaii for our Anniversary trip. I wanted something special since we were only in SanFran for one night. Wow! The view was spectacular. But...to make it even better, the hotel sent up a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries as a gift for our anniversary. The service was amazing. Would recommend for other special occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Francesco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

OK but not luxurious

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
A no-frills Mandarin Oriental that is more suitable for a business trip than a romantic getaway. This is the most austere Mandarin Oriental I've been to. The lobby was small with one bench where people sat as they waited for their cabs. The breakfast/bistro area was just off the lobby, looked very much like an airport business lounge area. We did not feel like eating there during our stay. We stayed in the King City View room, which had a good size and a very comfortable bed. Offerings in the room were kept to the bare minimum-- two little bottles of water, no coffee/tea, and wifi had to be paid for (who charges for wifi these days???). We ordered room service on our first night there as we got in late. The two tasteless wonton soups which came to $50 with tip (they automatically charge a delivery fee plus a 25% gratuity) were quite disappointing. The spa had a decent menu of services, but it seemed a waste to put treatment rooms with no windows on the third floor when they could have been outfitted with great views from a higher floor of the 40-storey building. We went elsewhere to get our treatments. Overall the hotel was fine, not as luxurious as the other Mandarin Orientals and more business-y than romantic. The location was also fine-- right in the financial district, so it was easy to get around although there were very few restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Staff was friendly and service was good.