Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You will surely get a noisy room over the street.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Free parking, good beds.
Cons: A less disingenuous clerk.
Location: It's very near Fort Mason, which has $10 all-day parking at Buildings A through E and is a pleasant walk from the Wharf.
I read the reviews and noted the need to ask for a room not fronting Lombard, but the price was very good. So I made the request when I made the reservation. It was a mid-week arrival, and the response was that room selection is confirmed upon check-in. So I made sure I was there first in line at the 3 pm check-in. I confirmed that we wanted a room away from the street and asked if they had one: No response except a request to fill out the registration card. I asked again as I handed over my VISA, and got: "I'll check." I asked again, and got silence. I was handed back the form to sign and I asked again if the room was away from the street, and got "It's room 311." Finally, a woman came from the open room next to check-in and says to the clerk; "It's #311; tell him its over the street." The clerk says: "It's up three stories and should be quieter there." It was 90 db sirens and much honking all night long, and we finally got to sleep sometime after 2 AM. Avoid this place like the plague, because they won't give you a straight answer! (Or invest in really good earplugs, if you are on a tight budget.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Volker from Karlsruhe, Germany

Nice place to stay

Posted Apr 7, 2014
PRO: - Close to Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf - Free parking - Clean room, comfortable bed CONTRA: - Inside room was quite loud, due to street front (Lombard Street is real busy)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shellie from oregon

Best deal in town.

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Hanging light by the back door I would put A light cealing fan .
Location: Close to so much.
This Hotel is such A amazing deal. So many great places to eat.Room is so clean with cusinart coffee pot and wolf gangpuck coffee yum. Bed was awesome had A balcony if you worried about noise at night earplugs work great. Employees are great also your only three blocks from fishermans warf.One more great thing parking is free came back late one evening garage was full but the employee made it work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel, close to the fisherman wharf.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Staff here are really really nice, had a great time staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Orange County, CA

Best hotel yet in SF!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Comfy Beds! Great Hotel Staff Location Two levels for easy parking
Cons: Have to pay an extra fee for a mini fridge in your room No Microwaves
My girlfriend and I love going up to San Francisco for vacation, and this is the best hotel we have stayed at yet! Its in an ideal location (Minutes to the Fisherman's Wharf, Crooked Lombard Street, restaurants and the Golden Gate Bridge!) The hotel staff was very very helpful! We were going to go to the Giant's Baseball game, and the guy at the front desk explained what bus route to take, where to get on and off, and even made change for me to use on the bus. And THE BEDS! These beds must have been temperpedic or memory foam or something, but they were the most comfortable beds I have felt in a hotel! We got lucky and got a room in the back of the hotel, thus not having a window on busy Lombard Street. This is a great hotel for anyone who wants a comfortable nights sleep and prime location to all the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Dallas

Good location with free parking

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Softer ,maybe cleaner, carpet.
Old but refurbished to be very nice. Free parking (vs HI Express at $45/nite). Free WiFi that works. Stayed in back room so no view, but quieter than street side. For a moderate hotel everything was good....lots of towels, Coffee maker, 42" TV and very confortable beds (Tempurpedic,I think).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jazmine from California

My stay at lombard

Posted Mar 27, 2014
My stay at Lombard motor inn was great there was a bit of traffic but that is to be expected because Lombard is a busy street but everything was in close proximity the staff was great I will definitely stay there again
1 out of 5
by Daniel from Oregon

Terrible hotel I had ever stayed

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Location.
The room I stayed faced the street with heavy traffic. The noise came from the street even if the balcony door was closed. There is no way to go to sleep due to the noise. I had asked for changing the room, but I was told all rooms opposite the street were booked. No alternative help was provided from hotel staff. Staying away from this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Art from Canoga Park, CA

OK hotel at a good price

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: The price.
Cons: Parking is too tight. The sole elevator needs to be upgraded.
Location: Fisherman's Wharf and the Marina were close by. It is just around the corner from Van Ness and I could easily reach just about anything of importance
Parking spaces less than needed. Bed was very hard. Like all of San Francisco, if you are a smoker you are out of luck. A good point, the hotel had easy access to most of the major places of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Sacramento, CA

Great deal

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Location near Fisherman's wharf and many eateries
Cons: Outside noise level
Location: Visit Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square
I was hesitant to stay in a two star "motor inn", but was pleasantly surprised! The facility is small so parking is right next to the elevators to the rooms. Check-in was quick and easy and the price was much better than anything closer to the wharf. The room was the perfect size for our one-night stay - there was actually four adults and one child staying the night in a room with two double beds and one bathroom. We paid $5 extra for a refrigerator and a miniature one was immediately brought into our room. The beds felt like memory foam and the shower looked new. The room even included a small table and large TV. It was also nice that the sink was outside of the bathroom, especially since there were so many of us in the room. I felt safe in the area at night and it was a very short 10-15 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. We visited the coffee shop next door in the morning, and it was also nice. There are many places to eat in the area. The only downside was the noise at night. The trucks that sped past the room were so loud that it shook the entire facility. Overall, I would recommend this motor inn.