Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Fransisco

san fran

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: safe neighborhood, staff was friendly & did hold our luggage when we had to check out
Cons: upgrading everything
Location: walking distance to union square & everything else
great weather..had a great time...if your on a budget this is the place for you but you also get what you pay for...this is a old tiny building..you do get a key card to come & go as you please
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orange, CA

Inexpensive hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The staff. the price
Cons: upgrades to all furniture, fixtures
Location: bad location
The staff at Mithila are all very nice and helpful. The hotel is old and in the process of repainting etc. However, it is exactly what you pay for. It is a cheap stay, in an old place. The area around is very sketchy with lots of homeless. East it gets nicer toward Union Square. There is not easty access to transit, and it is best to go to Union Square to get it, to avoid going through the sketchy areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mobile, AL

Decent hotel in heart of the city

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Cons: Like many hotels, the curtains were almost broke and took an annoying amount of effort to open or fully close.
Location: This hotel is right in the heart of the city, just a small walk from nob hill or civic center. Also there are a lot of Halal food places nearby.
Room was small, but clean. The toilet was also clean and the bed seemed to have a fresh set of sheets. The comforter looked a tad dirty though. It had a microwave, and a refrigerator, a small TV as well. The lift was medieval, took quite some effort to open, but I enjoyed that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Cozy and Convenient

Posted Mar 9, 2015
It's a small place in an old building. They try to clean as best they could in those circumstances, which was enough for me. Walls were thin, as I was able to hear my neighbor snoring. Free coffee or tea and staff is there 24/7. Walking distance to Union square and other eateries.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Rosa

Glad I chose this hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Price, location, "The Shining-esque" qualities (in a totally good way)
Cons: I think it's just fine
Location: Golden Gate Grille, Lefty O'Douls, Chinatown, tons of pizza and coffee shops
Planned to visit San Fran during the busy Chinese NY Parade weekend. Was looking for a hotel that was cheap and near Chinatown. We found a room at the Mithlia for an extremely reasonable rate (made reservations prior to our trip). Traveling with two friends, the room we found had a double and a twin. Perfect set up for friends that are happy to shack up in the same room. The vintage elevator and narrow staircases give this hotel personality. It's not the Hyatt, and doesn't pretend to be. The hotel clerk was friendly enough and was happy to direct us to convenient parking (which was only $16 for a whole day -- fantastic deals so far). The reviews said the hotel would be cold, and the sheets thin, so we brought our own blankets. I didn't need them, in fact it was warm, but our room had a window that we opened and slept with a nice breeze all evening. The beds are super hard, but hey, again, it's not the friggin Hilton. The bathrooms were clean and so was the rest of the room. I recommend if you aren't looking for a luxurious hotel room, and are just planning to crash at night, and not spend tons of time indoors. There are a few sketchy characters at night, as it is semi-close to the Tendorloin, but just act like a big boy/girl and you'll be fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice downtown location

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bedding, directions to the bathrooms!
Location: Walking distance to Chinatown and Nob Hill, lots of nice restaurants.
I picked this hotel because it was in a pretty ideal spot for some of the locations I wanted to visit. We were only there for one night, so having a lot of nice locations in walking distance was my goal. It's close to Nob Hill, so there are a lot of restaurants to choose from. We also found a couple of good bars to visit that were only a few blocks away. Our room didn't have a bathroom, but it was clean. The mattress is a little old, but it's not a big deal. Overall a pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom DK

다른건 그럭저럭 괜찮았는데 냄새가 남

Posted Feb 14, 2015
들어설 때 개똥냄새 방에서도 약간 남 4인방은 약간 좁음 위치는 걸어서 시내까지 10분 안쪽인데 언덕이라 버스탐
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2015
No breakfast and there is some smell in the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Good value for the money. Very basic, room much cleaner and nicer than the entry or hallways, which were a bit dingy. Bathroom spotless. Staff courteous and helpful. No issues with surrounding neighborhood, although locals were suspicious every time we mentioned the address. (Even our cab driver was critical of the address!) We just needed a place to stay on short notice, since our daughter's apartment had been recently flooded in a plumbing accident. We got what we wanted and everything worked out fine. Not for kids or honeymooners, fine for basic travelers. A step up from a hostel in that you get your own bathroom and private double bed, otherwise similar.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom washington state/ seattle

Do not stay here! I wish I could get my money back

Posted Jan 24, 2015
The hotel staff was very nice and helpful, but unfortunately that was the only good thing about the whole hotel. Some rooms didn't have bathrooms. When arriving at the hotel we were told they had no parking.* apon entering my room I became scared of what would be in the bed. I took numerous pictures of the bathroom that had obviously not been cleaned and the sheets/ blankets that were covered in holes and stains! It was disgusting the hotel is probably from the 1920s and I believe the beds are from the same time! I left feeling like I slept on a rock. Next time I will stick with a known hotel chain..! If I would have known how terrible these rooms were I would have slept in the back seat of my own car... That's how disgusting it was.. Take my advice and go else where!