Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

It was an older hotel, but it was cozy

Posted Jun 16, 2015
I enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay there again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2015
I liked the hotel because it was an older building and was walking distance to downtown and Chinarown.y only complaint was that the bed was uncomfortable. The staff was nice and the maid service was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from potsdam

Posted May 25, 2015
War insgesamt eine gute Zeit in SF. Hotel einfach aber personal hilfsbereit und freundlich. Kaffee zum frühstück war schlecht
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
It was a nice experience staying at Mithila hotel. The location is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Clean, tidy, older hotel

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: The cage elevator. The "old" feeling of the narrow, steep stairs and marble entryway. Very quiet.
Cons: Without taking everything down to the wall studs, you couldn't improve things too much. I'd like to see the cage elevator be more kid safe. Fingers!
Location: GREAT little restaurants next door and along that side of the block. A nice walk to Union Square and theatre. Many good little pubs along the way.
The place is clearly an older building that has been refurbished on a budget. Everything worked beautifully: the mini-fridge, TV, windows, shower, water (could be warmer, but eventually warmed up enough), even the cage elevator, which was a real relic. It is not fancy, but it is immaculately clean, and for a reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa Valley

Pleasant Stay

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Location, Staffs, Reasonable Price
Cons: Furniture, Coffee
Location: Great Location, Good Neighborhood
I have stayed here 2 times already. Love this place. Old hotel but I love the way it is. I live in Napa Valley, visiting SF a lot and stayed at many hotels before. The room is not really big but decent, clean and cozy. The location is great, just go down the Sutter street, you will see Union Square and Chinatown. The neighborhood is good too. Many coffee shops and restaurant around. I definitely recommend this hotel to those don't really want a fancy place and like the classical/nostalgic feeling in the city. The staffs are friendly too. I just wish they had better coffee but not really necessary. I prefer going to some nice coffee shop near by anyway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Staff
Arriving at midnight after traveling all day it was a disappointing arrival. Counter staff pleasant an accommodating. The room bore no resemblance to the website. Fan did not work, no coat hangers, curtains black with dust and the carpet very dusty. A small older type hotel. Wi-Fi available but no internet access (I/Café two blocks away) Coffee in the foyer from 0730-1000 only. Supermarket next door. Walk one block behind for direct UMNI access to Union Sq etc. Spend $10 more at Vertigo Hotel - not visited internally, but impressive and not available on our visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty , not clean , strange smell like curry ,

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Location: near union square , take bus to fisherman;s wharf ,
dirty , not clean ,strange smell like curry staff is not nice and not helpful location is good , but you have many options in this area , many other better hotel to choose
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

SF Hotel few blocks from Powell & Union Square

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location was great with plenty of bars & restaurants in area plus handly for Union Square, cable car and BART.
Cons: Radiator came on during last night making room unbearably warm. Decor and furniture basic but functional.
Location: Few minutes from BART so handy for airport train. Walk to Union Square, Powell & Market Streets is safe and not too hilly.
Good reasonably priced hotel. Very friendly staff and helpful with advice & coffee. Good location at few blocks from Powell Street and Union Square. Walkable from BART stop. Basic room which was value for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for the price

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: price
Cons: cleaniness
the price is cheap, others just soso, hotel staff are nice to talk with and like to help you. But the cleaniess should be improved. There are some store's around, convenient to buy food, water or others. I think it is OK on this price.