Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom washington state/ seattle

Do not stay here! I wish I could get my money back

Posted Jan 24, 2015
The hotel staff was very nice and helpful, but unfortunately that was the only good thing about the whole hotel. Some rooms didn't have bathrooms. When arriving at the hotel we were told they had no parking.* apon entering my room I became scared of what would be in the bed. I took numerous pictures of the bathroom that had obviously not been cleaned and the sheets/ blankets that were covered in holes and stains! It was disgusting the hotel is probably from the 1920s and I believe the beds are from the same time! I left feeling like I slept on a rock. Next time I will stick with a known hotel chain..! If I would have known how terrible these rooms were I would have slept in the back seat of my own car... That's how disgusting it was.. Take my advice and go else where!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pat.b Mexico, City

Mithila Hotel horrible experience

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I wont return to this Hotel, was a very bad experience
Location: Far away from my activities.
I was expecting in having a clean room, the plastic flowers were dirty, the sheet of the bed were very old and had a discosting smell, I went to S FCO in a bussiness trip, and they did not hve a room to receive clients, nobody could help me in taking y bags from the street to the lobby.(Stairs at the entrance) The boss was not there to explain him my disagrement, and the gentlemen who was there as he was kind, but he could not decide anything, I paid the room even I did not used it. I was very disapointed and I had to find another room, the city was full because a lot of conventions. Finally I found another room two stars was Mithila and the room was clean, with administration people, clean bath and sheets. Thin Hotel is for people who travel for a day, young people who is carryng bags, and want to save money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: make a new hotel
I had to walk out and move to a different Hotel. I had to walk out and move to a different Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jordan

It's good

Posted Jan 9, 2015
The entrance is hard ! The internet not strong ! No place to eat !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Wonderful place for economic travelers

Posted Dec 25, 2014
According to this price, this location?! U must be kidding. It's a wonderful place to stay. U can just walk straight to the coast area or the Golden Gate park. The traffic is incredibly convenient. BTW, the staff here are helpful. I lost my credit card on the first day and could not pay deposit. But they still let me check in. With this price, I think they v done pretty much they could. The room is clean with TV and separate bathroom. I don't expect more.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

人見知りの方にはお勧め

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: 朝のコーヒー 部屋の電子レンジ
Cons: 夜のスチーム暖房の時間は、1時間ぐらいではなくて3時間ぐらいまで長くした方がいいと思う。 部屋が寒いので、お湯の沸かせるポットがあるといいと思う。
Location: 特になし
3泊しました。 ホテルスタッフに会ったのは、チェックインの時のみでした。チェックアプトもカードを返却するようにというメモがあっただけです。会話する必要がないので、人見知りの方にはお勧めです。 暖房はスチーム暖房です。夜の8時ごろに1時間だけ入ります。寒い日は辛いですが、ここは我慢我慢。 アメリカのホテルですのでポットはなくお湯は飲めません。朝、7:30からコーヒーがフロントの前に出ます。それが楽しみです。 冷蔵庫と電子レンジがあります!電子レンジは朝食のときは便利です! なお私の場合、時期が悪かったか、宿泊費は高級ホテル並みでした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Everything I needed and more

Posted Dec 22, 2014
I was visiting San Francisco, looking at grad school and the Mithila Hotel was everything I needed and more. In a quiet neighborhood that was an easy walk to many of the city's popular destinations, while still far enough out to get a local vibe. Sure the room was small, but it was very clean. Plus, it is not like I was hanging out in my hotel room for any extended period of time. The staff was friendly, informative, and accommodating. Would gladly stay at the Mithila again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Low budget

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: Low cost, free wifi, friendly desk clerk when I arrived.
Cons: With a major remodel, shared bathrooms could be eliminated or reconfigured to be more usable. My room had a sink but needed a towel rack.
Location: Not too far (15-25 minute walk?) from Union Square, Nob Hill, Moscone Center.
I have a high tolerance for low-budget hotels, particularly when I expect to spend very little time in the room. The Mithila Hotel met my basic criteria, with a quiet enough room and excellent wifi. In other respects, the Mithila Hotel was disappointing. I wanted to set clothes on top of the armoire, but saw that it was covered with a thick layer of dust (which I cleaned up with a bath mat, though there wasn't really anywhere to leave the damp and dirty bathmat.) Most rooms must have en suite bathrooms, but mine used a shared bathroom. It turned out that the shared bathroom was a floor below and down a long hall, so a bit of a trek. The toilet was small but OK. The shower was challenging, with no vestibule and just a couple protected hooks where I could leave my shoes and change of clothes---the configuration would be OK for camping but difficult for a winter stay in a city, when I actually did want to wear real clothes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Not much
No bathroom in the room.. :( no shower???? Very noisy...
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Very basic, noisy.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: "Character" - 90 years old, probably hasn't had much done to it in that time!
Cons: Everything
Location: Location is quite central
Not what i expected at the price ($200 a night, though suspect this was "gouging" because a conference was in town). Essentially no facilities, the most primitive elevator I have ever seen, very small basic room with pipe noises and lots of street noise.