Ratings based on 950 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mercedes from London

Nice hotel, good location.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location, price.
Cons: Building looks a bit tired but clean and has everything that one might need.
Location: Central to all the cable cars, can walk everywhere, very good typical dinner round in the corner with Van Ness.
Nice hotel, very central, staff friendly and helpful. Building a bit tired but very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Good place for someone not trying to break the bank. Nice older hotel with everything you need for comfortable nights rest. Close to market and Chinatown. Park at next door auto garage for 25 dollars a night.
3 out of 5
by Go Giants from Santa Cruz

Monarch Hotel review

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Close to a lot of good bars, relatively close to AT&T Park.
Cons: Update the rooms, excess charges for parking.
Location: Close to a lot of good bars, relatively close to AT&T Park.
For what you're charged, not worth it. I realize staying anywhere in the city will be pricey, but the price tag that comes along with this hotel is roughly $60 too high. Watch out for being charged extra for the room/parking. My friend and I were charged $98 for parking two cars, okay, but then I saw my credit card was charged $198. I had to call the hotel, they told me to contact my bank. Not something I want to take care of on a Monday work day...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay in an old hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2014
This hotel is nice and has history but it's very old and they don't do much to make you comfortable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusted

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Cons: cleanliness.
I ordered this hotel for $120 on expedia. They charged me a $100 cleaning fee in order for me to check in which totaled $220 for this dirty hotel. The room appeared decent, but we found a crack-pipe and cigarettes in the room. They must've barely cleaned the room before we checked in. We are disgusted by this hotel. We attempted to speak to the manager twice and no one has called back even though they said they would. Even though it's advertised at a low price, look somewhere else without hidden fees, and that actually cleans the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014
1 out of 5
by frequent travel from SoCal

Old and smelly

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Hotel was old and smell weird, need major makeover. Would pay a little more $ for a better hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
2 out of 5
by A from clt

No heat the first night. Blech. Cold!

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: clean
Cons: improve facilities, fix broken heater
Location: geary street, near market st
Cigarette smoke seeped in my room at night (room 315). COLD first night. Cleaning service good tho, front desk was nice.
2 out of 5
by Matt from Nashville TN

Just say NO

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: ...leaving it.
Cons: Ban neighborhood
Location: Bad, just plain bad.
Bad neighborhood, old hotel. Would not recommend.