Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvanina

Welcoming city bed and breakfast

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: We liked being away from the noise and bustle of downtown, but close to public transportation. It has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere.
Location: Residential section with bus stop right outside the door and one block away. Trader Joe's and a cafe close. Short ride to Fillmore St. and bookstore
The Monte Cristo Inn is a warm and welcoming bed and breakfast in a residential section of San Francisco. It is very clean and well kept. The beds are fresh and comfortable. The owners have tried to think of everything. The bathrooms are modern even though it is an historical building filled with antique furniture. Our room had a flat screen TV, Wifi is free and there is a computer and printer available for guest use, also free of charge. Breakfast is delightful with fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt and granola. Eggs are made to order. In the afternoon, there is coffee, tea and refreshments available for guests as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
A beautiful B&B with an inspiring atmosphere, great attention to detail, just a fantastic ambiance all around. I really enjoyed my stay and the free street parking was an added bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Cozy

Posted Jun 20, 2014
This cozy B and B offers old charm in an updated fashion. Although our room was too warm and the tv didn't get reception, we'd stay again. There is a sitting room that has a flat screen tv so we could watch there. Breakfast was great. Quiche and eggs with sourdough toast on request. Comfy bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Brad from Sarasota

Friendly service

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place. It is a typical B&B. An older hotel with updated bathroom, TV, etc. Location was in a good, safe neighborhood. Parking was tough as there is no place to park at the hotel. The guys running the place were great, attentive and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Smietana from So Cal

First B & B Experience

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was reluctant to stay at one as I'm not one to mingle. It was very much like staying in a hotel. The whole place was beautifully done. The food was excellent. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Colorado

Unexpected Find!

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: The wonderfully remodeled bathroom in an historical B&B was great. The staff make this special. Not all B&Bs offer a parlor as comfortable as this.
Cons: It would be nice to have a temporary parking sticker.
Our daughter made the reservations, so we came to the Monte Cristo Inn not knowing much about it. We were delighted. Our room was comfortable, newly remodeled in the historical period of the building. We loved sitting in the parlor in the afternoon enjoying a cup of coffee and a cookie, The breakfast offered quite an array of options, of which all were great. Jack and Terry made us feel very welcome. The only downside is since the Inn is in the center of San Francisco, parking was hard to find. We'll definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from San Francisco, CA

Good value & location

Posted Apr 27, 2014
A very nice b&b in a restored boarding house, with beautiful wood floors and a homey feel. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful and accommodating. The rooms are cozy and well-furnished, and the bathrooms were restored recently with nice modern fixtures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely!

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great! Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rolland from Los Angeles

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have told all of my friends about this place, that is they go to San Francisco, they must stay here.