Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So. Cal

Comfortable B & B close to the Presidio.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Overall, we were satisfied with our accommodations. This is an old hotel that has gone through several renovations. Most recently, the bathrooms have been upgraded to a modern clean look. Ours had plenty of counter space and an impressive shower. Our room was not large but that was fine as we did not spend much time there. It was definitely comfortable, especially the bed. The breakfast room is cozy and a good place to make your daily plans while enjoying a made to order meal and informative conversation with the staff. We would recommend this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great area. charming.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
excellent breakfast/service. small detail, no ice in the hotel. street parking somewhat challenging but occasionally easy. would be nice to have a small fridge. otherwise, perfect. will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Perfect Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 9, 2015
My son was taking an exam at the French Lycée on Ortega street; we were looking for a comfortable, quiet place to stay with a wonderful Breakfast in SF and we found it ! Our host contacted us the day before to check our arrival time with us, the rooms were very clean and the beds so comfortable. The bathroom spotless and very nice and we just loved the decor (old French style). The breakfast is one the the best we ever got in a hotel: fresh fruits, nice plate of eggs and toasts, beverages, dry fruits etc.. everything my teenager needed to start the day. Staff was very friendly and helpful to find a place to dine. A great stay in a original place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Discovery bay, ca

B & B atmosphere with hotels comforts!

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay, very accommodating staff. Excellent breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by scot from Denver

Quiet and cozy

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Hosts were kind and very accommodating. Breakfast was fabulous each morning. We loved the fact that there was tea and chocolates in the evening as we were coming back into the room for the night. We definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay away from the craziness of the downtown area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Laura from Encinitas, CA

Wonderful Gem

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
The Monte Cristo was welcoming and comfortable, with no corporate gloss. The bathroom was beautiful with high end amenities like a Japanese toilet and a towel warmer. Bed was well appointed, and there were plenty of outlets. There are very effective soundproofing windows - only downside is that you eliminate airflow when you use them. So if you like to sleep cold, like me, it's tough to do. Host was pleasant, helpful, and available. The Presidio nearby is spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ragnar from Ulm

Super Hotel mit einzigartiger Atmosphäre

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
Wir waren 5 Tage im Monte Christo Inn und in der Zeit gab es nichts zu bemängeln. Tolles Hotel mit tollem Chef und tollen Angestellten. Sehr sauber und in super Zustand. Frühstück mit wechselnder Obstauswahl, Müsli, Gebäck etc. und auf Wunsch frisch zubereitete Eierspeisen und alles was der Kühlschrank so her gibt. Die Atmospäre im Hotel hat uns Klasse gefallen.(Ist aber durch den sehr speziellen Style sicherlich Geschmacksache :-)) Alles in allem können wir das Hotel auf jeden Fall weiterempfehlen und falls wir in den nächsten Jahren noch mal nach SF gehen sollten werden wir sicher auch wieder im Monte Christo einchecken.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by janeen from Newport Beach

A nice boutique hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great location. Lots of nice restaurants to walk to. Room was very quiet. Lovely breakfast every day. Parking across the street in USF lot. Jack was very helpful with directions, restaurants, etc. It felt safe and personal. It felt like the old San Francisco with some character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jinghao

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels