Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Great Hotel Great Staff

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing .Just right the way it is
Location: Perfect if like us your heading for The Strictly Hardly Bluegrass Festival in Golden Gate Park and just a short taxi to the City Centre
Second year staying here in this little Gem of a hotel, very Pleasant Stay and the staff couldnt do enough for us, I'd love to go back every year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Great B&B

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Cons: Our room was often stuffy. Opening the widows helped, but then the road noise...
Location: The location provided easy access to all parts of the city. Nearby neighborhood restaurants and shops were a plus.
Manager, hostess and house-keeping staff were great--friendly, accommodating and professional. The facility is storied to be an old brothel, and bears the charm of the original hardwood floors and woodwork. Our room was small and sometimes stuffy, but it was otherwise very comfortable with a king size bed, adequate closet and dresser, and a well-appointed modern bathroom. The room was surprisingly quiet, both with respect to road noise and other guests. And we always returned at the end of the day to a clean, neat room. Then there was the excellent breakfast (quiche, eggs made to order, fresh fruit, pastries, etc.) and snacks available at all hours. The Monte Cristo has my recommendation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, UK

California Dreaming

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Its ambience, friendliness of the staff and its Victorian d├ęcor. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was all you could want.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Its location was just what we wanted, in a quiet residential area but within easy travel of all SF attractions.
We were on a whistle stop vacation tour of California, starting in Las Vegas, taking in San Diego, Las Vegas, San Francisco, Yosemite.Park and Lone Pine. Our stop over in San Francisco was our longest, 3 days, as we wanted to experience as much of this great city as we could. This we did, visiting Pier 39, Alcatraz, Sausalito as well as travelling on Cable Cars and riding Segways through the city at night. We had an absolute blast and given the opportunity would come back to San Francisco again. The B&B is a former Bordello that over time has been remodelled many times. Jack, the owner, has owned it 6 years and has transformed it into a top rate B&B whilst still maintaining its Victorian charm. The B&B operates under a very relaxed atmosphere allowing residents to come and go as they please. Within the dinning room there is always fresh coffee available and locally produced petite fores. Adjoining the dinning room is the library/ sitting room that allows residents to unwind after a hectic day in the city. The staff are attentive and friendly and go the extra mile to ensure residents have memorable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvanina

Welcoming city bed and breakfast

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: We liked being away from the noise and bustle of downtown, but close to public transportation. It has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere.
Location: Residential section with bus stop right outside the door and one block away. Trader Joe's and a cafe close. Short ride to Fillmore St. and bookstore
The Monte Cristo Inn is a warm and welcoming bed and breakfast in a residential section of San Francisco. It is very clean and well kept. The beds are fresh and comfortable. The owners have tried to think of everything. The bathrooms are modern even though it is an historical building filled with antique furniture. Our room had a flat screen TV, Wifi is free and there is a computer and printer available for guest use, also free of charge. Breakfast is delightful with fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt and granola. Eggs are made to order. In the afternoon, there is coffee, tea and refreshments available for guests as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by R.Mooney from Calif.

Not too far from the Medical Centerq

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our first time at a B and B and thanks to Teri we were very happy! She is so friendly and makes you feel at home plus she's an excellent cook and if she can, she'll make you whatever you'd like for breakfast. The only draw back was the parking, or lack of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jeremy from Scottsdale, AZ

Home away from home

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was looking for a place to stay close to my family in Laurel Heights. What a fantastic property. Easy to park, warm lovely staff, beautiful historic 1800's brothel turned into a B&B. VERY CLEAN, full of charm, and breakfast was lovely, with even made to order eggs if you ask nicely. I will look for reasons to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
A beautiful B&B with an inspiring atmosphere, great attention to detail, just a fantastic ambiance all around. I really enjoyed my stay and the free street parking was an added bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Cozy

Posted Jun 20, 2014
This cozy B and B offers old charm in an updated fashion. Although our room was too warm and the tv didn't get reception, we'd stay again. There is a sitting room that has a flat screen tv so we could watch there. Breakfast was great. Quiche and eggs with sourdough toast on request. Comfy bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
GREAT PLACE TO STAY