Ratings based on 699 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom califirnia

Excessive credit charges

Posted Nov 20, 2014
The exit statement had several charges then credits It showed a credit of $68.40 and a 0 balance when I checked my bank account they had double charged me for one day of parking. So I checked the statement again and they had charged my card twice for room key then credited it and charged twice for parking and credited but actually charged my card for two days of parking even though the exit statement said it was credited. E were only there one night and not a full 24 hrs of parking :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Lots of charm

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Aside from the wonderful hotel staff, I'd have to say the location, which is shouting distance from Union Square.
Cons: The room service options.
Location: It's a few blocks from Union Square and all the great shopping in the area. There are also plenty of great dining options near by.
I'm from the NY area, so I'm accustomed to small hotel rooms. While that may be a deal-breaker for some, I find them charming and personable. The Mystic delivered in both respects. And to boot, there's a wonderful restaurant on the second floor. I would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slow check-in, partially used items in bathroom

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Nice interior design.
Cons: Desk clerk was not empowered with authority to "do something" to fix the booking error.
Customer ahead of me booked two rooms online, but only one room was available to him and his colleague. Desk staff was unable to resolve the problem. I waited 25 minutes, and finally that very nice customer ahead of me instructed the desk clerk to check me in and then deal with his problem. When I got to my room, I found a used towel, an open, used soap bar on the sink counter and trash in the bathroom waste basket. I was too tired to complain, but won't be going back to this hotel,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Would have been nice to have the parking included in your stay. I know it's located downtown but I was under the impression that they had free parking. Room was a little too small. Not too much of a biggie since we only stayed a night. Other than that the location was good and the so way the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Had a wonderful experience at the pickwick hotel. I received a free upgrade when I booked in early because my room was not ready. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Prior to checking in the women at the front desk was rude. After pulling up our reservation her attitude changed. Not sure if related to booking the reservation thru Expedia(mix reviews about staff prior to booking)? The rest of the staff was nice and helpful. Rooms were small, but clean. Breakfast was good and location was close to a lot of restaurants. Safe to walk at night. No A/C or fridge in the room. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

No A/C and fly infestation in the shower

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The beds were really nice. The restaurant and bar has great food and nice atmosphere, but the service was terrible.
Cons: Fumigate bathroom. Install A/C like every other 1st world hotel has.
Should have read the reviews. When I asked the front desk clerk about air conditioning, she gave me the snarky response of "oh yea, we need A/C, it was a whole 64 degrees today". When I got in the room it was warm, and the only way I could cool it was to open the windows, which overlooked a dark and dirty alley. The fans were loud, the one over the bed squeaked. The showed was nasty. When I turned it on, flies began appearing out of no where. I'm talking about dozens of flies - crawling up the wall out of the drain, making their way up the shower wall, some flying around. I've never seen anything like it. I'm always in a hurry on business trips so I didn't have time to complain and demand a new room, so I dealt with it. When I told the front desk clerk at checkout, he just stared at me, then said I could wait to talk to the manager. I was late for an event, so I couldn't. I told him that it was "bad review bad". Didn't seem to phase him.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The Bar and restaurant was great and the overall look and feel of the hotel was really nice. Everything was designed with a modern boutique look.
Location: Great location right downtown and blocks away from Chinatown and Union Square shopping! Also pretty convenient to the underground train station.
I did love the look and feel of this boutique hotel! Definitely stop by for a drink at the bar at the hotel (Burritt-Room-Tavern) Had great drinks made by an impressive mixologist. The breakfast spread was also really good. They served it every morning in the restaurant. The room was really nice, my only complaints were that our room was pretty small, but wasn’t uncomfortable. We also had a great view of the parking garage wall and ally, which wasn’t ideal. I would suggest asking for a better view if they have one available. The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful when we needed directions to various places.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Hotel Position is so important

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: Most staff were excellent but one was overbearing,breakfast could easily be improved , don't know about the lift
Location: China town around the corner, near trams
Rooms were comfortable but the breakfast left us unconvinced to use the restarunt one lift gave some difficulty in moving around the hotel the best advantage is the hotels position
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach, CA

In town for OracleWorld. The Mystic was great.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The old school charm, and the bed.
Cons: Nothing...it was great for the price
Location: Close to everything.
The room was small, but as it was only me, it was fine. Very clean and the bed was great.