Ratings based on 1,003 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

My Stay on 2/19/15

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Location. Restaurant.
Location: Good Union Square location that is close to San Francisco shopping.
Clean hip hotel with a vibrant restaurant/bar. The room was very very small. Not good for more than one person.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stuttgart

Zentral gelegenes Stadthotel

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Hotel soweit gut, weil zentral gelegen aber sehr laut. Ich hatte 2 Zimmer für uns und ein befreundetes Pärchen gebucht (mit meiner Kreditkarte, die Zimmer aber jeweils auf die korrekten Namen), da wir mit 6 Stunden Unterschied angereist sind. Unsere Freunde waren nach 24 Stunden Anreise zuerst da, wurden aber nicht ins Zimmer gelassen, obwohl alles bezahlt war, weil die Bezahlung durch uns erfolgte. Als Argument wurde nur gesagt, dass dies "policy" sei und man nichts tun könnte... Sehr ärgerlich!!! Hotel sonst gut, Frühstück für amerikanische Vehältnisse sehr gut...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom holland

staff

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: all of the above
Cons: rooms could be a little larger
very friendly staff, great location close to financial and shopping center, nice complimentary morning breakfast offered and cookies in the evening. would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Great hotel in a fantastic location right by Union Square. Overall I would recommend. On the downside the beds are not the best and can be quite unconfortable and you can wait for ever for the elevator because there is only one and it is an antique.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, New Zealand

Handy and pretty much complete

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Essentially it's all you needed however would be nice to have a fridge and tea / coffee making facilities. The lift is pretty archaic but I ended up using the stairs more that wasn't so bad - the exercise was appreciated. There was a hole in on of the towels one day in my room - perhaps a linen audit wouldn't go astray. Breakfast was great
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Indonesia

Worse hotel in my trip

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: It is not dirty
Cons: The staff needs to be trained to inform that the parking right in front of the hotel is WAY cheaper, so that the customer can make an inform decision
I tried to give a balanced review The good: The room is clean enough - not the cleanest that I've seen, but it does meet my expectation The bad: this is an old hotel, which have one elevator, and it is old The bedroom headboard has a big gap that my wife accidentally drop her cellphone between the gap -- to be fair, the staff was able to lend a broom to retrieve her cellphone and with some effort, we were able to retrieve it The hotel is hard to locate since it doesn't have a visible sign and we arrived there at night Worse of all is the parking - probably it is an SF thing, but the hotel doesn't have a parking lot Initially, we had a trouble to find a parking and we have to use the public parking conveniently located just in front of the hotel I asked if the hotel has a parking and the staff said yes - and I moved my car thinking it is free or at least cheaper than the public parking To my surprise, I was billed $30 + tax for parking that was further and parking attendant had to have my key (and I had a lot of things in the car) I'm disputing the charge and I suggest other customers in similar situation to dispute the charge as well This whole thing made my trip to be less pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location and staff

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Very close to united square, and therefore convenient to go anywhere, staffs are all friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SLO, CA

Great Service, Great Bar and location

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location, Service, room was very clean and bathroom recently updated and well done.
Cons: nothing
Location: great bars and restaurants and starbucks one block away
My wife and I stayed there for business, it was walking distance to the Financial District. We had great service with the front desk, the hotel had a really convenient parking garage right across the street. Starbucks was less then a block away. We had great cocktails in the bar and walked across the street and had an amazing dinner, all within one block.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Modern redo of old hotel but the linens are dirty

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Impressed by redo,room and resturant looked fabulous. Unfortunately the linens( sheets & towels) were stained with human ?waste. When I started to tell the front desk they said" yeah we know". Too bad because I really liked the resturant & it's 25% discount for hotel guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County CA

Awesome Experience!

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Arrive at Mystic to friendly house staff. I was upgraded to a marvelous suite and it was just wonderful! The bed was heavenly, the room was clean and pristine, and the free breakfast the next morning was a wonderful way to end my stay! I can't wait to come back! The only downside to the experience was some noise from the construction going on through that area of the city but it wasn't too bad. Overall, it was awesome!