Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leah from New Orleans

fabulous artsy boutique hotel!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Cons: would love to have air conditioning for the warmer days/nights.
I booked this hotel last minute for just one night. The staff were fantastic, very professional, accommodating & helpful! I had to check out of my previous hotel at noon & check-in here wasn't until 3pm, I called ahead & they said I could stow my luggage. When I arrived, they let me check-in 2 hours early & upgraded my room!! I love the aesthetic of the space & the cool old elevator (which was not at all old in a sketchy sort of way). There's always lemon water waiting for guests in the lobby. Everything I needed in my room, including easy to access power outlets (as well as USB charging ports), small fridge, nice spacious bathroom with soft towels, & a very enticing selection of local snacks & drinks. I was there in early April & the night I stayed was unseasonably warm, I'm from New Orleans & used to AC when it gets hot. There's a good ceiling fan & I was able to open the windows, but I was still a bit uncomfortable. That's the only complaint that I have. I'll definitely stay there again when I'm in San Francisco! It's in a great central location (for a tourist). Such a better alternative to the big unfriendly hotels just a few blocks away! Oh, & I hear that their restaurant & bar are fantastic. I was just bummed that I wasn't there longer to check out the restaurant & bar...and enjoy a few more days in that lovely space!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GV from Chicago

Hidden gem

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Older charm, great Union square location, great bar
Cons: Elevator was iffy morning of check out. LOUD alley
Location: Walking distance from Union Square, shopping galore and Chinatown.
Perfect for business or personal travel. Bar was a happening surprise on the 2nd floor. Better than average free breakfast. However - even though I was on the 4th floor - it was like being on street level. This was especially problematic at 6am when the garbage trucks' fracas jolted me awake. VERY LOUD.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool Hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Cons: room was a little stuffy and warm at night
cool hotel with lots to do near by and many many places to eat. clean and very cool design. the bar. was amazing and cozy, quiet and elegant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jeremy from sacramento

Cool spot

Posted Mar 31, 2014
nice hotel I'd stay here again killer cocktails in the bar. Close to lots of good places to go out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mystic Hotel SFO

Posted Mar 25, 2014
The hotel was ok, but a little tired. the breakfast was great however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB Canada

Great location!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Loved the ambiance of the hotel. Exactly what we were looking for in a botique hotel in the busy city. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hospitality

Posted Mar 16, 2014
I stayed at Mystic for five days to attend a conference for work. Every night when I returned from work, I was personally greeted by the front desk receptionist who asked how my day went. When I needed my boarding pass, the front desk took care of it. When I needed a shuttle, the front desk took care of it. All the employees with whom I interacted - from the servers at the bar/restaurant to the house keepers - were very polite, attentive, and helpful, bar none. I never fill out these surveys, but decided to take the time to do this one because I had a nice stay due to the personalized service and want to compliment all the staff. I will return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just right

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Mostly everything
Cons: Add A/C to the rooms. We had to open windows for air and tell your bartenders to greet people as they enter the room or sit at the bar
Location: Shop til you drop
The Mystic is located in the heart of SF. I would highly recommend this hotel for people who like beautiful, boutique hotels with the same amenities of big name hotels. The morning breakfast was healthy and delicious. One drawback: We burnt up at night due to no A/C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Farrah from Spokane, WA

The hotel staff was so wonderful and helpful.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The staff treated us like we were well known customers. Everyone was friendly and helped us through a crisis with grace and professionalism.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Auky from Seattle

Centrally located, boutique hotel, European feel

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Location: Asian Art Museum has a Yoga: the art of transformation exhibit till mid May-- great! Walk Chinatown.
Fun, friendly staff, room had fun lighting and a bay window. centrally located at the edge of Chinatown, International District Union Square and Civic Center, all a 15-30 minute walk. Breakfast was very good and the same every day: grapefruit/apple +/- banana, hardboiled eggs, granola/cereal/yoghurt, hot cereal, yummy mini pastries especially the mini chocolate croissants, sometimes still warm from the oven, and bread and jams/nutella. The crowd was friendly and from all over: Israel, Germany. .. I was on the top floor and it was quiet. It is walking distance to Powell street station (.3 mile) so easy to take the BART from the airport.