Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Had a wonderful experience at the pickwick hotel. I received a free upgrade when I booked in early because my room was not ready. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Prior to checking in the women at the front desk was rude. After pulling up our reservation her attitude changed. Not sure if related to booking the reservation thru Expedia(mix reviews about staff prior to booking)? The rest of the staff was nice and helpful. Rooms were small, but clean. Breakfast was good and location was close to a lot of restaurants. Safe to walk at night. No A/C or fridge in the room. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

No A/C and fly infestation in the shower

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The beds were really nice. The restaurant and bar has great food and nice atmosphere, but the service was terrible.
Cons: Fumigate bathroom. Install A/C like every other 1st world hotel has.
Should have read the reviews. When I asked the front desk clerk about air conditioning, she gave me the snarky response of "oh yea, we need A/C, it was a whole 64 degrees today". When I got in the room it was warm, and the only way I could cool it was to open the windows, which overlooked a dark and dirty alley. The fans were loud, the one over the bed squeaked. The showed was nasty. When I turned it on, flies began appearing out of no where. I'm talking about dozens of flies - crawling up the wall out of the drain, making their way up the shower wall, some flying around. I've never seen anything like it. I'm always in a hurry on business trips so I didn't have time to complain and demand a new room, so I dealt with it. When I told the front desk clerk at checkout, he just stared at me, then said I could wait to talk to the manager. I was late for an event, so I couldn't. I told him that it was "bad review bad". Didn't seem to phase him.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The Bar and restaurant was great and the overall look and feel of the hotel was really nice. Everything was designed with a modern boutique look.
Location: Great location right downtown and blocks away from Chinatown and Union Square shopping! Also pretty convenient to the underground train station.
I did love the look and feel of this boutique hotel! Definitely stop by for a drink at the bar at the hotel (Burritt-Room-Tavern) Had great drinks made by an impressive mixologist. The breakfast spread was also really good. They served it every morning in the restaurant. The room was really nice, my only complaints were that our room was pretty small, but wasn’t uncomfortable. We also had a great view of the parking garage wall and ally, which wasn’t ideal. I would suggest asking for a better view if they have one available. The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful when we needed directions to various places.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hotel Position is so important

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: Most staff were excellent but one was overbearing,breakfast could easily be improved , don't know about the lift
Location: China town around the corner, near trams
Rooms were comfortable but the breakfast left us unconvinced to use the restarunt one lift gave some difficulty in moving around the hotel the best advantage is the hotels position
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

In town for OracleWorld. The Mystic was great.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The old school charm, and the bed.
Cons: Nothing...it was great for the price
Location: Close to everything.
The room was small, but as it was only me, it was fine. Very clean and the bed was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

A bit noisy

Posted Sep 28, 2014
This hotel was really good. The room was small but you expect that in a city centre hotel, and it was really well presented. The whole place was immaculate and had a great style. The staff were good throughout our stay, and the breakfast was a continental buffet, which was plenty for us. Our only complaint was that there was a lot of street noise early every morning - normally from bin lorries. We were on the 6th floor so it must've been worse lower down. I suppose this us to be expected in such a built up area but it disturbed our sleep every night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Classic Hotel downtown San Francisco.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Old world charm with all the modern facilities. Free Wifi, accommodating staff.
Cons: The toasters at the breakfast buffet did not all work, otherwise nothing else.
Location: Walk to Chinatown, shops of Union Square, Market Street, don't miss Little Italy - Tony's Pizza was awesome.
After long overseas flight, welcoming staff and nicely appointed room, compact but classy. All facilities in order and hot shower a real treat. The Burritt Bar lived up to its name of great cocktails. Breakfast was convenient and a good selection. Stairs up to the room or elevator choice. So close to transport and shops. Loved the 3 nights we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Very nice hotel with helpful staff

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The staff made everything very easy - with directions to places to go, help with continuing travel arrangements, etc.
Cons: No coffee before 7:000am was a huge drawback for me. Their response to that was that there was a Starbucks just down the street that opened a 5:00
Location: Just down the street from Union Square. Hop on hop off trolley tours can be picked up right there - a great way to get all over the city
The first room we were put in was on the top floor - a nice room with a terrible view! It was actually looking across an alley into the bathroom of the apartment next door. We could see the toilet seat up all the time we were there and on one occasion the back side of someone peeing! At this price that was unacceptable. So after our first night there we spoke with the concierge who immediately said he could move us down a flight to a room with a city view. The second room was lovely with a bay window (and windows that opened... so nice since it was 80 during the day and cool at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2014
The hotel is in a great location. Easy 10 min walk from the Bart Powell Street station which goes straight to the airport. Also located a short walk to union square and various buses and trams that take you to Haight and Golden Gate. The rooms are quite small and facilities feel ill thought out. Ie the mirror in the bathroom is above the toilet and sink. This makes it difficult to use as mirror. Spirits and wine are provided but no mixers or glasses. The bar doesn't open until 17:00 which means a drink in the bar after a day out isn't an option. The one time we tried to use room service we were told it was not available even though it was within the hours it should be available. In short the hotel seemed quite pricey for what it was and style over substance.