Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton,Alberta, Canada

Great hotel, close to shopping and restaurants

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and great service.
Location: Close to stores like Macy's for shopping and good choice of all kinds of restaurants and cafes. Also close to buses and trolleys for getting around.
We stayed at this hotel for a total of five days. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. Since this hotel is smaller than some of the larger hotels, you get one on one service. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and we would definitely choose this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC/NY

Nice hotel in downtown SF

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This is a nice, clean hotel in a safe neighborhood conveniently located close to Chinatown, Union Sq, buses, trains, and trolleys. Great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton,Canada

Excellent Time in SF

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We had a room in more to the back of the building and noise was not an issue at all. The room was a bit on the small side but that was fine for us.
Cons: Perhaps main floor restaurant could be open a little longer
Location: Great Location if you don't mind walking a little bit. You can easily walk to Fishermans Wharf area or to the Ballpark. Transit system if very good
Lots if things to see in SF if you are there to see the sites. Did the usual things (Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bridge, Sausilito, Golden Gate Park, Ball Game) and was not disappointed with anything. Things are set up quite well to cater to the tourists. Don't need to rent a car if you are staying in the Downtown area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire, UK

Good hotel close to Union Square and Chinatown

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location and staff service
Cons: Consistent restaurant opening hours
Location: Union Square Chinatown
We had a good 3 night stay here at the start of a long trip in the US. It's a great base for pretty much anything in SF, we walked quite a lot, or took short cab rides to the Piers. The concierge and reception staff were friendly and knowledgable. Breakfast was well made and presented, with a friendly server. The room was a little small and dark, and was overlooked by the office building next door so we would book the next type of room up if we visited again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great spot in s great city

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Good staff. Great location. Clean big and comfortable room. Only negative is gym is very average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Location was ideal (walk to BART, cable car and bus lines) with lots of good restaurants and shopping near by. Room was very quiet and good temperature control. Bed was comfortable, blinds were dark and shower worked well. No complaints! Staff were very helpful. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caroline from Montreal

Great hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, service was nice, big rooms with big bathrooms, very clean place, well located, a lot of things at walking distance. If you go there, you can grab a bit at Café Claude or get a drink at the bar at Gitane, next right to it. Walked from the hotel to Fisherman's Wharf, it's about 30 minutes but that way you can enjoy the city and the life of the Chinese and Italian district you have o go through to get there. Would go back anytime and recommend to a friend without hesitation. The staff is nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Staff was very helpful and friendly, location is excellent, room was very clean and comfortable over all a great hotel for a stay in S.F..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Melbourne, Australia

Nice Hotel, Great Location.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. We are 28-30 yr old couple who enjoy walking to take in the city (even the hills - It's part of the experience) Hotel: - Friendly and accommodating staff. - Nice spacious room with large bathroom. - Quiet (no street noise and didn't hear anyone in the rooms next door) Location: - Short walk Union Square and shopping - Right on the border of Chinatown - Easy walk to Ferry Building - Nice walk to Fishermans Wharf through Chinatown and Italian Disctrict - ~$15 Taxi to Mission District (16th & Valencia), where you'll find plenty of bars and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Roy from Phoenix AZ

The best small hotel I have stayed at.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Their attention to detail, room comfort, and its location.
Cons: The dinner menu.
Location: Ideally located in the center of downtown, close to shopping and business centers. Easy freeway access.
Excellent staff. In 30 years of business travel this is one of the three best small hotels I have ever stayed at.