Ratings based on 1,494 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Excellent staff

Posted Mar 3, 2015
The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. Our particular room did not have a view of anything besides a nearby building. Perhaps other rooms have more of a view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Overall, we had a fine experience. The hotel staff for the most part were friendly and helpful. The room had a nice clean bed and clean bathroom. However, there was a musty smell evident as soon as I entered the room. Not sure if it's the carpet, but it was a bit overpowering. The location is excellent for Union Square, Chinatown, etc... And like I said, for the most part the staff was helpful with one exception. We were given the wrong directions to meet a tour group. And because of that we missed the first part which was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marysville, CA

Valentine Trip

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location, comfort, friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Cons: Put coffee makers in the rooms or at least the lobby.
Location: Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, views.
Outstanding staff, especially the door man. Very polite, respectful and great at directions. Check in and out was very easy. Great location, cable cars stop right on the corner. Easy walk to Union Square shopping, Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf. Excellent cafe right out the door serving fresh local fare. Will stay here next time were in SF.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel but no coffee!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
I would have given Orchard a 5 star rating if it wasn't for the fact that there was no coffee in the rooms or available in the lobby. That is a very important amenity to me that I had taken for a given in all hotels and it was a rough way to greet the business day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Independence, KY

Business Stay needed something in Union Square

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: Location, clean room.
Cons: Coffee maker in room would have been nice. But I did manage to get coffee in the lobby but had to pay $3 for it. If a guest, should be complimentary.
Good location, friendly staff, surprised at spacious bath and room, clean and not too dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected Excellence

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Modest appearance, small lobby. Rooms lovely, spacioys, and well kept. Staff very helpful. Would definitely stay again. Make sure taxi drops you off at the correct Orchard@Bush&Powell. The other one (Orchard Garden) is on same street down the hill. Looks perfectly fine, but taxi dropped me off there, and I had to walk UP the hill with luggage to get to the right one.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom São Paulo / SP

EXPERIÊNCIA POSITIVA

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Localização
Cons: O hotel é antigo e precisa de uma repaginação geral para poder ser classificado como um "hotel boutique"
O Orchard Hotel está muito bem localizado, a três quadras do Bairro de Chinatown, e a outras três da Union Square, principal ponto comercial do centro de São Francisco, onde se encontram as melhores lojas e magazines da cidade (e algumas das melhores grifes do mundo), além de contar com bons restaurantes na região. O local é de fácil acesso, próximo a todos os meios de transportes disponíveis, inclusive o famoso bondinho (BART), cuja estação principal (Powell Street) fica a umas seis quadras do hotel.O único inconveniente é que o hotel está longe de poder ser classificado como "boutique", segundo se comenta e se propaga dele. É um hotel apenas agradável com um bom quarto e um bom banheiro, espaçosos e confortáveis, e uma equipe muito atenciosa e disponível. Mas, além de um restaurante no térreo e wifi (que nem sempre funciona bem...), o Orchard não possui outras comodidades. Na minha primeira vez em São Francisco, fiquei no Nikko Hotel, melhor localizado ainda que o Orchard, por uma diária de apenas U$50,00 mais cara. Mas é, indiscutivelmente, um hotel muito superior, em todos os aspectos. Na relação custo benefício, ainda prefiro o Nikko.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Stay

Posted Feb 8, 2015
It was our first time at San Francisco, we booked our accommodation through Expedia...we had a wonderful experience at the orchard hotel, rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful. If we visited SFO again we will definitely come back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Well located and comfortable SF Hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Good central location, well featured rooms, clean and tidy.
Cons: No laundry on site however there is a coin laundry just a block away.
Location: Being right in the heart of SF there is so much to do! The Cable car runs right past, Union Square and Market St transport and shopping minutes away.
We arrived very early due to a change in flights and our room was not ready yet, so we checked our bags and had brunch at a local diner recommended by the concierge (which was great). They had a room ready for us not long after and we checked in ahead of time. The room itself was comfortable with everything you need and didn't feel at all cramped despite the smaller size typical of San Francisco hotels. The walk up the hill from Union Square was a little steep but nothing to be put off by, being only minutes away from the heart of SF was great and a perfect location for our trip. The staff were pleasent and helpful which made for a great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice Boutique Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, and staff friendliness.
Cons: Room chairs could be more plush.
Location: Location is right near or along major public transportation routes and is within walking distance of great restaurants, shopping and breakfast cafe's.
Nice cozy hotel in a great location within walking distance to many restaurants and cafe's. Room was comfortable but could have used a more plush chair for reading. Having a car is expensive due to the cost of parking and we'd probably forego having one next time and instead rely on Google Maps and public transportation, which is readily available all around the hotel. We would definitely stay there again.