Ratings based on 1,272 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Princeton, NJ

Class Act

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Great vibe, great service.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Within walking distance of Chinatown, financial district, Market Street, Grace Cathedral, great restaurants, etc. Great spot.
The Orchard appears to have been recently re-done - the room was immaculate, the public spaces are nicely designed - and yet it has maintained an old world charm and amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Vancouver, BC, Canada

Quiet, believe it or not in downtown SF!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff friendliness, room cleanliness
Quiet, clean and well located just 2 blocks from Union Square. Fast check in and we were greeted every time we entered and left the hotel. Will go back again, definitely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and clean rooms but poor staff

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More responsible staff
This is a very nice hotel - rooms are clean and spacious. Location of the hotel is very nice - only a few blocks from the union square. You can also walk to fishermen's wharf in 35 minutes or hop on the cable car which is right outside the hotel. My only problem is with the front desk staff. My luggage was delayed and was to be delivered by AA to the hotel. I informed the front desk about this when I checked in. The next day morning I really needed my luggage and spoke with someone from the front desk again to inquire about it. When my luggage did not arrive I called AA and learned that it was already delivered to the hotel the night before but no one had bothered to bring it up to the room or to let me know. They would put up a smile and greet you every time you come back to the hotel but they are not keen on doing what matters to you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB Canada

Very nice Hotel. Great location.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Location and large room. Very comfortable.
Cons: OK as is.
Location: Cable car right out the door. Great cafe right outside the door as well.
Well worth the stay. I spent a week here for business and have no complaints. The staff are very helpful and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Perfectly located

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Location, just steps away from Cable car Powell station, three blocks away from Union Square, 2 blocks away from China Town.
Cons: Renovation on the common areas and restaurant.
Location: everything you can do in SF is close from this hotel.
Nice staff, well trained, old hotel but the room was clean, bathroom was recently upgraded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
The hotel room was nice and clean. The walk up the hill each night was a bit much. I found it easiest to take BART to the Powell station and it's a straight walk up Powell St to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bellingham, WA

Great location near Union Square

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: Coffee in your room.
Location: Trolley right outside. Union Square 2 blocks away. Market and financial districts only blocks away.
Nice small hotel. Staff was excellent, and rooms were very pleasant and comfortable. Dining options not great, but you're in San Francisco....hundreds of great places to eat within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cable car stop right there

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Great location. Transportation and good restaurants close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Good value for money

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, position.
This small hotel is close to Union Square and the main bus transit points in Market Street so we found it extremely easy to use our three day visitor bus pass to go in all directions. The room was clean and while not huge, it was a comfortable size. The staff is extremely helpful. The only negative was that as it is a small hotel, there are not many other facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton Alberta

Nice hotel close to amenities

Posted Nov 6, 2014
We had a great stay over the Halloween weekend. Staff was courteous and very helpful. The hotel os very close to shopping and great restaurants We will definitely stay here again.