Ratings based on 1,451 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cleveland, oh

Great location, great meeting facilities.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Comfortable rooms, great staff, great location. All made for a perfect meeting location for global clients.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

"Big Monster"

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The bed was wonderful, location great.
Cons: This is a beautiful hotel.
Location: In good weather, it's close to shopping, and Bart. The Café next door has a lovely breakfast and staff. They lost power too and continued to serve.
We were there during a storm, power was out along entire street. No power in room, but generator powered the lobby. Hard as the door man tried, couldn't get us a cab, we tipped him anyway. Wish we could have had a better experience, but the hotel staff was as graceful as they could be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Park City, Ut

Orchard San Francisco

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Very professional staff, and comfortable setting.
Cons: Pillows. Down at these prices a must. Also, would have loved a hot tub, but probably no where to put one at this point.
Location: Did that above.
Wonderful hotel, with a terrific San Fran location. About 30 minute walk to the Piers, through Chinatown and parts of Little Italy, which made the walk fascinating. Good restaurants very near hotel, about a 10 minute walk to the BART line, making their no need for a car. We also walked to a bike rental shop and rode over the Golden Gate bridge to Sausalito, riding back on the ferry. That was a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC, Canada

Lovely, quiet hotel in awesome location

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: great location, quiet room, comfortable bed, large bathroom, friendly staff (including doorman)
Location: Union Square - shopping, dining Chinatown Cable car to Fisherman's Wharf area & Pier 39
Hotel is on Bush St, just a few steps from the corner of Powell. The cable cars stop right at that corner (so fun!) or it's a very short walk down to Union Square and all the awesome shopping and restaurants. Couldn't be a better location. Also a short walk to Chinatown. Even though it is close to everything, our room was very quiet. The king bed was wonderful, comfortable pillows and bedding. Very clean. Very friendly staff. Doorman was happy to hail us a cab when needed. We loved staying here and will stay again next time we visit San Francisco!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Princeton, NJ

Class Act

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Great vibe, great service.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Within walking distance of Chinatown, financial district, Market Street, Grace Cathedral, great restaurants, etc. Great spot.
The Orchard appears to have been recently re-done - the room was immaculate, the public spaces are nicely designed - and yet it has maintained an old world charm and amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Vancouver, BC, Canada

Quiet, believe it or not in downtown SF!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff friendliness, room cleanliness
Quiet, clean and well located just 2 blocks from Union Square. Fast check in and we were greeted every time we entered and left the hotel. Will go back again, definitely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and clean rooms but poor staff

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More responsible staff
This is a very nice hotel - rooms are clean and spacious. Location of the hotel is very nice - only a few blocks from the union square. You can also walk to fishermen's wharf in 35 minutes or hop on the cable car which is right outside the hotel. My only problem is with the front desk staff. My luggage was delayed and was to be delivered by AA to the hotel. I informed the front desk about this when I checked in. The next day morning I really needed my luggage and spoke with someone from the front desk again to inquire about it. When my luggage did not arrive I called AA and learned that it was already delivered to the hotel the night before but no one had bothered to bring it up to the room or to let me know. They would put up a smile and greet you every time you come back to the hotel but they are not keen on doing what matters to you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB Canada

Very nice Hotel. Great location.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Location and large room. Very comfortable.
Cons: OK as is.
Location: Cable car right out the door. Great cafe right outside the door as well.
Well worth the stay. I spent a week here for business and have no complaints. The staff are very helpful and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Perfectly located

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Location, just steps away from Cable car Powell station, three blocks away from Union Square, 2 blocks away from China Town.
Cons: Renovation on the common areas and restaurant.
Location: everything you can do in SF is close from this hotel.
Nice staff, well trained, old hotel but the room was clean, bathroom was recently upgraded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
The hotel room was nice and clean. The walk up the hill each night was a bit much. I found it easiest to take BART to the Powell station and it's a straight walk up Powell St to the hotel.