Ratings based on 1,185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved our stay in San Francisco at the Orchard!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location and friendliness of staff!
Location: Close to the cable car line, shopping and great restaurants near by the hotel!
The staff was just outstanding, they went above and beyond to make our stay a great one! The location was so convenient!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great place, smaller than I thought.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
My only negative is the size, a bit too small. Everything else was great. Very clean. Helpful staff. Great location. Near the trolly and Big Bus Tours route. Great restaurants near by. My wife and I walked to and from Fishermans Warf, not too far. Felt safe, even late at night. I'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor ON

excellent hotel to stay in

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Rooms were quite large considering that we had a king size bed. I t was right on the Powell Market trolley line. Staff were extremely accommodating.
Cons: The hours that the restaurant were open seemed alittle irregular for breakfast. The food in the restaurant was very tasty if you chose to eat there.
Location: 2 blocks from Chinatown and Union Square. Some excellent restaurants close by. Uncle Vito's pizza and Lori's Diner were two lower cost good food .
I choose hotels when vacationing based upon other customers rating/comments. Thank-you previous guests!!! The Orchard Hotel did not disappoint. The staff gave us accurate directions to places of interest, booked tours for us, booked transportation to the airport, recommended restaurants and on and on. The hotel itself was nicely decorated, room was large, there was a mini frig that was stocked with drinks, alcohol, snacks. bathroom was huge [shower only or tub and shower were available], furnishings were updated, bed comfortable. I knew that San Framcisco was built on many hills however I didn't realize how steep that the hills are. For a person with mobility issues, cabs may be required to get from place to place. San Francisco is a great vacation destination and the Orchard Hotel and staff certainly will maximize your enjoyment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The size of the room and the bed.
Cons: I do not like carpet, so I will change the floor.
Location: Location is great, close to the cable car stop, shopping, restaurants, convenient stores, pubs etc.
Lovely hotel close to Union square and the cable car stop. Big room, clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and great hotel !!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location , cleanliness, and comfort
The staff were very courteous and professional: answered all questions and were very helpful !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from victoria bc

Close to cable cars

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Cons: some cleaning needs to be done;bathroom fans need to be installed
Location: everything-close to cable cars bus lines and restaurants
quiet friendly hotel.easy to get to bus lines bart etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joey from Dallas

Well located and a very nice little hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Was quite pleased with the room and staff. Found it was in a convenient location when deciding which touristy sights we wanted to take in. Room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosemary from Phoenix, AZ

Great central location in downtown San Francisco

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Hotel and staff were great, staff very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wpgwinner from Manitoba

Great place to stay!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The beds are very comfortable. The staff are always pleasant and helpful.
Cons: We had issues with our toilet.Mentioned it to the front desk -it was looked at but never did work well. Dirty glasses were not picked up until day 3
Location: Location is convenient. Cable car at the corner, Walgreens and Starbucks a block away. City transit Close by. Restaurant at the corner.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a big smile by the bellman. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good downtown location

Posted Jun 6, 2014
View from my 9th floor window was not great (looking at another building's rooftop and air conditioner) and there was dumpster noise in the alley below at 2:45am which woke me up. Otherwise the room was pretty clean and my stay was good.