Ratings based on 1,226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town, South Africa

Good position.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Position and staff.
Cons: The restaurant should serve light evening meals as there are limited restaurants for supper in the area.
Location: Near Union Square and cable car stops. Quite good shopping in the area.
The hotel is very centrally positioned, easy for transport by cable car and bus. The room was good value and the staff very helpful. We would have liked to be able to have evening meals at the hotel, but the restaurant was not operating whilst we were staying there. Overall, it will be a prime consideration for my next visit to San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and perfect hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Just view from window
Location: Near union square. Close to bus for fisherman's wharf.
Rooms spacious, most comfortable beds, close to amenities, perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice, small hotel with a family feel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: It wasn't too big
Location: Being just a few blocks from union square the transport links were excellent and it was close to good places to eat.
This hotel was in a great location, just up from union square. It had excellent links from the airport and was very close to a cable car stop. It was a great base from which to visit all of the major attractions in and around San Francisco. The staff were all very helpful and keen to assist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quality hotel in the middle of down-town SF.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The staff, the rooms, the location. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate staying there again.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Golden Gate Bridge. Eat at "Wipe Out" (Pier 39), hire a bike and cycle to foot of Golden Gate Bridge, Rocket Boat.
This is a superb hotel right in the middle of down-town San Francisco; approx $50 cab ride from SF international airport. Just fifteen yards from the hotel entrance is a stop for the Powell & Hyde cable car which is a great way to get around SF; especially to get to Fisherman's Wharf area. There are several restaurants and coffee shops within a few minutes walk from the hotel. The room we had was well appointed, well maintained and clean. The staff were lovely; attentive, helpful and friendly. Both of the concierges we dealt with went out of their way to be helpful. We breakfasted in the hotel restaurant on the two nights we stayed and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. If you get the opportunity, definitely go to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Golden Gate Bridge, eat at "Wipe Out" (Pier 39), hire a bike and cycle to foot of Golden Gate Bridge, go on the Rocket Boat but get the last trip of the day, the boat is quieter, they want to burn fuel and the failing light makes it more atmospheric.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Comfort in Union Square

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Nice, comfortable, clean rooms. Staff was nice and attentive. definitely will stay there again, and i recommend you do too...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rossendale

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Very knowledgable staff. Valet parking cheaper than most hotels in the vicinity. Free wifi in all rooms.
Location: Well worth seeing the Giants play!
Great hotel situated a short walk from union square on a quieter Bush St. Good breakfast venue on the corner called Roxane cafe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel, CA

Orchard Hotel Union Square

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, location & property condition
Cons: Nothing
Location: Union square - central SF location, close to extensive shopping & good restaurants.
The hotel is a very clean oleder proprty, located adjacent to Union Square. The staff is friendly and well trained. The best choice for a Union Square located hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SF

Nice hotel in SF

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: See remarks
Cons: Was pleased
Location: Great location and lots to do. Great place for out of towners to stay.
We stayed there on a Saturday night and would go there again. It's centrally located near Union Square, the staff is extremely polite and helpful and the room was nicely appointed and very clean. Room was small but it's the City - reminded me of older New York City hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Fantastic stay!!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Great location which is walking distance to public transportation options and good restaurants. Staff were very helpful and took the time to help us out with any questions we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Fabulous hotel. Have stayed here many times and have found it more than comfortable each times. Rooms are a fabulous size and really clean.