Ratings based on 1,690 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle upon tyne

Brilliant hotel. Great staff. Great location.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Fantastic stay in San Francisco at the Palace. Lovely staff, the most comfortable beds in the world, fantastic location. Thoroughly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel from 1875

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Right in the heart of the financial district, within walking distance to Fisherman's wharf and right next to a BART station. Had the highest ceilings I have ever seen in a hotel! We were very happy with this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Nice gym. Excellent location. Okay price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

City Luxury

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The staff and service were excellent. The ambience in the dining room is just lovely.
Cons: Tea making facilities in the room. Complimentary coffee is available downstairs at breakfast time for guests.
This was a one night stay that I thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is a good walking distance to city sights and activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central California

Big and beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgraceful service to call it luxury collection

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Has history to the building, but starwood is making a mess of it obviously
Cons: Service
Location: Great location
Queue to check in at reception - inspite of empty counters at reception Housekeeping had not cleaned the room which was allocated to us Had to wait to get an alternate room Terrible Front office staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Excellent! on every aspect..from check in until we left. Great location and the staff was top notch! would stay again next time in SF!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful Hotel, terrible front desk

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Costumer service
Location: Lots of great shopping, Can walk to Pier in about 15 min.
We had had a long flight and were excited to stay at a nice hotel. When we arrived the service at the front desk was terrible. He had extreme attitude and was not helpful. He had made an error and refused to fix it. The hotel is beautiful and the other staff we encountered were amazing. Nice clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Value for the Money

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable. I liked that I could open the windows and get fresh air. Lobby bar (Pied Piper)
Cons: My only complaint was the in-room Wi-Fi. Needed to pay for this and then when I did, it barely worked. Ended up sitting in the lobby to do email.
Location: Close to BART when you're coming from SFO. Tons of good bars and restaurants within a few blocks
Stayed at the Palace for 2 nights when in SFO for a business trip. Happened to be the same week as my birthday and the woman at reception noticed this giving me a free room upgrade and a free drink in the bar. Nice touch. Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly throughout my stay. The hotel is older but has been nicely remodeled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Palace "ROCKS"

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly and beautiful
Cons: Free coffee and donuts
Location: Great location - walking distance to most of the things to see
The hotel staff was great. Paul was the AWESOMEST! He really made our trip so much fun. We always had to stop and look for him. Very helpful with a delightful personality. I truly think the Palace is the best place to stay in SF when you're on vacation. Close to everything you want to see - most of it walking distance which saved on the pocket expenses and a way to see more of your beautiful city. Thanks for making our trip so memorable and hope to see guys again. Best Wishes and continued success. Jodi