Ratings based on 2,029 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Very stately old building, nice room, decent amenities. It took hours for a delivery to arrive that I had told them had arrived hours earlier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

great for business or vacation

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Location and general feel of the place.
Location: It's central for everything. An ideal location, unless you want to stay down at fisherman's wharf. You can walk or trolly there easily.
Excellent location, very close to shops, Trolly terminal, embarcadero area, and walking distance to china town/Italian district. Hotel staff are great (good tips on food from concierge) and the hotel is very nice. When I stayed there was refurbishment going on (lots of drilling in reception), but that's nearly done. No hint of it from my room. I've stayed here may times and this is the first time there's been work going on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Opulent setting and excellent friendly, service

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Excellent service, rich history and beautiful furnishings and ambience
Cons: Website photos do not do the hotel justice
Location: French Quarter, Union Square, Shopping, Cable Car, excellent restaurants, Chinatown, Farmers Market, access to transportation to all parts of the city
We knew the San Francisco Palace Hotel was beautiful from its website and from the reviewers' comments online. But even the photos on its website don't do the hotel justice. In reality, the Palace was much more grand, enchanting and old world than we had expected. We were thrilled with the ambience, the location, and the service! The staff were particularly friendly, professional, and helpful. They were always courteous and went out of their way to offer assistance. This we noticed as soon as we got out of the shuttle … greeted by the doormen, then the bellhops, the front desk staff, the concierge on evening duty … and even the chamber maids who spoke to us despite being busy with their rooms. The servers in the Pied Piper and the Garden Court were also excellent and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los anglese ca

Perfect hotel In the heart of financial district.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
I was happy with the accommodations. However as a Expedia perks member I didn't get any upgrades or ability to add the room stay on my SPG profile. They are undergoing renovations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Solvang, CA

Classic and very centrally located

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Room was newly renovated, classic decor and very friendly help
Cons: Need more power plugs in the room. Need a mirror outside the bathroom
Location: Its SF, if anything there is too much
The Pied Piper bar is great. good energy and fun. We have been coming to stay at the Palace for almost 20 years. It has never failed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

레노베이션 기간에는 피하고 싶은 호텔

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
레노베이션이 진행중이라 오전 8시 50분부터 공사 소음이 들려왔음. 오후2-3시까 소음이 계속되는 편이었음. 세면대와 샤워부스에서 노란 녹물이 나왔으나 10분 정도 틀어두자 정상적인 물이 나오기 시작함. 호텔이 오래된 것을 감안해야 할 거 같았음. 총 4박 5일 묵는 동안 침대시트가 더러워져도 갈아주지 않고 그냥 정리만 해줌. 전반적으로 객실이나 호텔 시설은 청결하긴 함. 위치 면에서는 지하철 역에서 매우 가깝고 시내와 바로 앞이라 훌륭함. 개인적으로 레노베이션 기간에는 다시 가고 싶지 않은 호텔임
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great staff!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Staff
Every staff in each area was courteous & professional. There was some minor inconvenience due to renovation but my experience with all staff more than made up for it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
It was a luxury hotel with history. What can you ask more? The bed was febuluous although my wife had a different opinion. She prefers foam mattress. I would love to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Absolutely stunning hotel with history. Recommend highly to anyone staying in San Fran.