Ratings based on 1,637 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Excellent! on every aspect..from check in until we left. Great location and the staff was top notch! would stay again next time in SF!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful Hotel, terrible front desk

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Costumer service
Location: Lots of great shopping, Can walk to Pier in about 15 min.
We had had a long flight and were excited to stay at a nice hotel. When we arrived the service at the front desk was terrible. He had extreme attitude and was not helpful. He had made an error and refused to fix it. The hotel is beautiful and the other staff we encountered were amazing. Nice clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Value for the Money

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable. I liked that I could open the windows and get fresh air. Lobby bar (Pied Piper)
Cons: My only complaint was the in-room Wi-Fi. Needed to pay for this and then when I did, it barely worked. Ended up sitting in the lobby to do email.
Location: Close to BART when you're coming from SFO. Tons of good bars and restaurants within a few blocks
Stayed at the Palace for 2 nights when in SFO for a business trip. Happened to be the same week as my birthday and the woman at reception noticed this giving me a free room upgrade and a free drink in the bar. Nice touch. Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly throughout my stay. The hotel is older but has been nicely remodeled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Palace "ROCKS"

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly and beautiful
Cons: Free coffee and donuts
Location: Great location - walking distance to most of the things to see
The hotel staff was great. Paul was the AWESOMEST! He really made our trip so much fun. We always had to stop and look for him. Very helpful with a delightful personality. I truly think the Palace is the best place to stay in SF when you're on vacation. Close to everything you want to see - most of it walking distance which saved on the pocket expenses and a way to see more of your beautiful city. Thanks for making our trip so memorable and hope to see guys again. Best Wishes and continued success. Jodi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Central location, easy walk to Union Square, China Town.
Location: Walked to R&G Lounge on Kearny, great chinese food. Walked to Union Square, had tea at Macy's Tout Sweet. Walked to China town for breakfast.
Love every moment of my staying. Enjoyed the garden court, pool, jacuzzi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Weekend away

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Overall we'd a lovely time in the hotel but I've had better value for money elsewhere. Pro's - Location is fantastic. We came in on the BART from the Airport and it was really easy to get to. It's also really easy to make your way to many parts of the city as it's so central. The hotel building itself has a lovely reception/ open area when you arrive. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms likewise. Con's - The walls between the room are quite thin and each morning I woke up with either the noise of people talking when walking by or from the room next door. We got the towncar at (8:30pm and no traffic), our journey was less than a mile and it was $20 which we both thought was expensive, though the door man advised us afterwards this was standard. The room itself was not the largest room I've stayed in but it was fine for what we needed, though the pillows were superhigh and definitely higher and more uncomfortable than anything I've come across in a hotel before. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as other reviews had turned us off, however, the room did look beautiful. Overall, it was fine for the 3 nights we were there, we both agreed we wouldn't be staying there on our next visit though as we felt there are better hotels available for the money we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel & stay, but check-in issue

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Very beautiful hotel in nice location, and overall a nice stay. However, had an issue with front desk clerk not allowing the other adult occupant to check-in until I showed up with my ID, which forced the family to be sitting in the lobby for an hour because I had to drop them off. I specifically put that request in the reservation with the other person's name. The front desk would not allow her to check in until I got there, despite even showing a hard copy of the Expedia confirmation. The clerk told her it must not have come across on the reservation and he could not use the hard copy. When I got there and spoke to a different clerk, I was told it was in the reservation. So I don't know if it is an issue with Expedia reservations, or if it is an incompetent front desk clerk...probably a poor clerk, since when I asked him what kind of view the room had, he told me it was a view of the "courtyard", which turned out to be a roof with some gravel and a vent several stories below, with windows of other rooms across the "courtyard" just a few yards away. I'd consider going again if I got a really good rate (as I did this time), but I'd look elsewhere first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milan , Italy

Birthday stay

Posted Jul 13, 2014
I have not had better service at any hotel stay, anywhere .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Beautiful historic hoteli

Posted Jul 13, 2014
I like very much the old welll preserved hotels. L'atmosphère de luxe et d'abondance, du temps où l'élégance, la beauté et la classe comptaient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Beautiful hotel for a great rate approximately 3 blocks walking distance from Union Square. I didn't realize valet parking was $59/day. I took a cab to Fisherman's Wharf which was $40 round trip. So it really depends on what you would like to do most. I could have stayed at Sheridan Fisherman"s Wharf, parked across the street and walked a couple of blocks to The Wharf for what it spent staying at Palace Hotel.