Ratings based on 1,952 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF

Fancy ladies night!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
My sister and I booked the room to celebrate our mom's 60th bday. We had an evening of fun booked in the city... not only was this hotel's location perfect for downtown affairs, but it was sooo beautiful! We drank champagne in the beautiful room and were greeted with lovely hotel staff every step of the way. A definite winner!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Some Disappointments

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: It was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the shower was great.
Cons: An option to make coffee in the room.
I have stayed in this hotel previously and had a great experience. However, on this visit our room was in a different part of the hotel with very small, fairly unadorned rooms. We could hear every noise made by the neighbors, including the screaming kids several rooms away. I'm sorry, but it did not make for a pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Sacramento, CA

Amazing....

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Carpet in the rooms and hallways.
I loved staying at this hotel. The ceilings are beautiful!!!! I was amazed at the grandness of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san mateo, ca.

great christmas getaway

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The gingerbread house was a culinary marvel. It was just amazing. I've never quite seen any so elaborate. Thanks to the pastry chef who created it.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Great location. Within walking distance to all of downtown. Just a few minutes walk to Union Square, the Embarcadero, Westfield Mall, and more.
From the moment the bellman met us to the moment we checked out the staff fulfilled our every request. They were courteous and very accommodating. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and put us in a very festive mood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The amazing Palace Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was fabulous!
Cons: See above. And more eating options
This hotel (particularly at Christmas ) is just stunning. My few complaints are 1) if Best Western, Travelodge can offer free WiFi, and their room rates are half what the Palace Hotel is, why do they charge $29 PER DAY for in-room internet WiFi?? 2) again with the aforementioned places, why does the Palace Hotel not offer coffee in morning to its guests???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Family Christmas Vacation.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Location and the lobby and the main restaurant are very beautiful.
Cons: Room updating.
Location: Conveniently located on Market Street adjacent to Union Square and a short trolley ride to Fisherman's Wharf.
Beautiful hotel but the rooms do need some updating. Their was paint peeling from the ceiling in the entrance to the room. The front desk did acknowledge that they did plan to do renovation in the near future. However, I would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA.

Christmas in San Francisco!

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Amazing hotel, great location with easy access to the vintage trollies and BART. Beautiful dinning room, great food. Met my 3 beautiful daughters there for our Christmas celebration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Hotel Elegance

Posted Dec 26, 2014
The hotel is lovely and unique due to its history. Would not change anything. We do not need anymore modern hotels. Convenient taking the Bart to the hotel. Close to Union Square and 101 Embarcadero. Staff was very curteous and helpful as where and what to do. Recommended very good restaurants. Would definitely come back Do not change its personality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Beautiful hotel in downtown SF

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Everything was perfect and the hotel is really beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect.