Ratings based on 1,966 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Solvang, CA

Classic and very centrally located

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Room was newly renovated, classic decor and very friendly help
Cons: Need more power plugs in the room. Need a mirror outside the bathroom
Location: Its SF, if anything there is too much
The Pied Piper bar is great. good energy and fun. We have been coming to stay at the Palace for almost 20 years. It has never failed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great staff!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Staff
Every staff in each area was courteous & professional. There was some minor inconvenience due to renovation but my experience with all staff more than made up for it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
It was a luxury hotel with history. What can you ask more? The bed was febuluous although my wife had a different opinion. She prefers foam mattress. I would love to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Absolutely stunning hotel with history. Recommend highly to anyone staying in San Fran.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Great hotel in the middle of the city!!

Posted Feb 3, 2015
This hotel is an amazing experience by its self. Historically fascinating and every room has a beautiful view of San Francisco. A absolute must see is the bar in the hotel, it has a old school feeling and is very charming atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, but costly!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Location: It is right downtown SF, so you are close to everything.
I had to order room service one evening because the restaurant was full. I ordered a bowl of onion soup, one appetizer and an $8 glass of wine.....$52!!!! Other than that shock, the hotel and staff were very nice. Will probably not stay there again, because I feel I get better value for my dollar with my Hilton's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale, AZ

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Nice hotel in an excellent downtown location. The hotel has a great nostalgic vibe of the early days in San Francisco. Quality of the rooms is good, very nice beds. Service was excellent and staff was very attentive. Easy to walk to lots of shopping, restaurants, and emberkadero. Only downside of Market Street is all the homeless people that are literally sleeping everywhere, which gives the area a trashy image. Not much the hotel can do about this, but you deal with it every time to step out in the streets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Redwood City, CA

Historical and luxurious

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Up to date with a wonderful sense of history.
Cons: Better highlighting of the history
Location: The hotel is on Market Street close to transit (Muni) with easy access to all the tourist hot spots: North Beach, Chinatown, Nob Hill, Castro, etc.
When you walk through the doors into the Palace you feel like you've stepped back into the Gilded Age. Although the original Palace burned down after the 1906 earthquake and this one dates to 1909, it still has the feel of a grand hotel from the 1800s. The ambiance is balanced by the fact that the hotel is completely modern. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms are well laid out with accessible tubs. The Garden Court is spectacular. They've managed to balance keeping the hotel up-to-date without compromising the historical feel of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF

Fancy ladies night!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
My sister and I booked the room to celebrate our mom's 60th bday. We had an evening of fun booked in the city... not only was this hotel's location perfect for downtown affairs, but it was sooo beautiful! We drank champagne in the beautiful room and were greeted with lovely hotel staff every step of the way. A definite winner!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Some Disappointments

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: It was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the shower was great.
Cons: An option to make coffee in the room.
I have stayed in this hotel previously and had a great experience. However, on this visit our room was in a different part of the hotel with very small, fairly unadorned rooms. We could hear every noise made by the neighbors, including the screaming kids several rooms away. I'm sorry, but it did not make for a pleasant experience.