Ratings based on 2,037 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakton, VA

A dream come true in San Francisco

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Great service, convenience, comfortable rooms, free parking, beautiful pool.
Cons: I honestly can't think of a thing.
Location: Nearby Moscone Center, short walk to cable car stop, short walk to Ferry Building with farmer's market, shops, etc. Buena Vista Gardens.
The Palace Hotel was an extravagant and luxurious experience. It exceeded all my expectations in convenience (2 blocks from Moscone Center), comfort, great service, beautiful pool and elegant rooms. The lobby and garden room are breath taking. My girls loved swimming in the pool in the early morning, as it took a few days to adjust to the time difference on the West Coast. We all loved a late night hot fudge sundae at the Ghiradelli Chocolate shop located on site. Parking was included in our room rate, so it made keeping our car very convenient. Everyone at the Palace Hotel took customer service seriously, from the doorman, valet and concierge. Coffee and high quality hot tea in the lobby was also a nice treat each morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The Staff, the rooms and the architecture of the hotel.
Cons: Only one gripe that was there was noise from running water sometimes coming through the vent.
Great stay. Staff was extremely helpful and the Palace is a wonderful property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The room was a little smaller than I anticipated and the "courtyard" view room looked down on a roof covered with gravel. Bathroom sink & tub weren't cleaned thoroughly as there were hairs in both. Otherwise, the hotel was fine. Beautiful indoor courtyard, very friendly staff and great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding, Ca.

Great staff

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Pool and jucuzzi area
Cons: I would get an interior room next time. It was a little noisy.
Location: We walked to the ferry building for a picnic and to the game at AT&T Park. Close to shopping, the financial district, and pretty close to the water.
We were allowed to check-in very early. We were also allowed to use the pool and locker room after we checked out to go to a Giants game. The Concierge arranged for reservations at three very good restaurants. The bell guys took good care of our bags while we were at the game and dinner before we had to catch our flight home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old world hotel. Good location.

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Edgardo from Buenos Aires Argentina

Palace Hotel San Francisco

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
Una experiencia en familia excelente
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Very stately old building, nice room, decent amenities. It took hours for a delivery to arrive that I had told them had arrived hours earlier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

great for business or vacation

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Location and general feel of the place.
Location: It's central for everything. An ideal location, unless you want to stay down at fisherman's wharf. You can walk or trolly there easily.
Excellent location, very close to shops, Trolly terminal, embarcadero area, and walking distance to china town/Italian district. Hotel staff are great (good tips on food from concierge) and the hotel is very nice. When I stayed there was refurbishment going on (lots of drilling in reception), but that's nearly done. No hint of it from my room. I've stayed here may times and this is the first time there's been work going on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Opulent setting and excellent friendly, service

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Excellent service, rich history and beautiful furnishings and ambience
Cons: Website photos do not do the hotel justice
Location: French Quarter, Union Square, Shopping, Cable Car, excellent restaurants, Chinatown, Farmers Market, access to transportation to all parts of the city
We knew the San Francisco Palace Hotel was beautiful from its website and from the reviewers' comments online. But even the photos on its website don't do the hotel justice. In reality, the Palace was much more grand, enchanting and old world than we had expected. We were thrilled with the ambience, the location, and the service! The staff were particularly friendly, professional, and helpful. They were always courteous and went out of their way to offer assistance. This we noticed as soon as we got out of the shuttle … greeted by the doormen, then the bellhops, the front desk staff, the concierge on evening duty … and even the chamber maids who spoke to us despite being busy with their rooms. The servers in the Pied Piper and the Garden Court were also excellent and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los anglese ca

Perfect hotel In the heart of financial district.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
I was happy with the accommodations. However as a Expedia perks member I didn't get any upgrades or ability to add the room stay on my SPG profile. They are undergoing renovations.