Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Location: A short walk to Union Square, 5-10 minutes to Chinatown and Powell BART station and a brisk 30 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf!
We chose this hotel for its proximity to Union Square and the fact that it came with breakfast. Friendly staff, very good breakfast and wine/appetizers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or.

Good location!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, gathering spot
Cons: New mattresses, good deep cleaning and new paint! Sound machines to drown some of the outside noise. We had to have the windows open for air.
Location: Walk to China Town, Embarcadero, Ferry building. Easy cable car, BART and bus service.
We were disappointed in the cleanliness of the room and the quality of the mattress. The breakfast and wine reception were very nice. Nice to have the living room downstairs to gather. Amazingly noisy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel with character

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at Petite Auberge. They offer a very nice breakfast and cocktail hour, we had an opportunity to meet the other guest, which was very nice. We met some great people. Everything was within walking distance, the hotel has a great location. We would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Keating from GA

Comfy but too loud

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Everyone one I encountered at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. They really went above and beyond.
Cons: I could have used an extra blanket. If there is nothing that can be done about the noise, it would be nice if they provided complientary ear plugs.
Location: Great!
The hotel staff was very helpful and polite. The bed was comfortable and the room was fine but small. My only complaint, and it is a big one, is that I never slept because of the noise. A lot of it was general hotel noise - I was next to the elevator, but most of it was from a nearby late-night, very rowdy bar. Around 2:00 a.m. it sounded like a hundred people were yelling and screaming, and car horns were being held down. It was unreal, and it went on for hours. It sounded like a mob. I noticed it a little on Friday night, but nothing like Saturday night. Guess there is nothing really that the hotel can do about it other than calling the cops. It was awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel close to city center

Posted May 21, 2014
I spent 2 nights in a quaint little room with antique furniture. The room was surprisingly quiet. Loved the breakfast and evening get together. The staff was very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

1 star hotel

Posted May 16, 2014
My experience was terrible. I hit to the hotel at 8 pm. The door was locked and there was a sign telling guests to check into the hotel at the reception desk of another hotel down the street. After carrying my luggage to the other hotel and back I let myself into the hotel. It was 90+ degrees in my room. I called the front desk of the other hotel I checked in at, and was told there was no AC and they did not recommend opening the windows for safety reasons. They asked if I wanted a fan. My stay was miserable from the beginning to the end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christa from Carlsbad

Great hotel in an excellent location

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was very friendly & helpful. Breakfast & afternoon happy hour was very good. Our room was comfortable and quiet. We were in the back of the hotel. The location is fantastic, walking distance to many areas or a short Lyft/Uber ride away. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Victorian charm yes, comfort no

Posted May 2, 2014
we were dissappointed in our stay, being that one the heat was not turned on, and two we counldnt get a good nights sleep as the bed was small and the mattress and box was slanting to one side.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Friendly Service but Bring Earplugs

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The friendly service was the best part of our stay. The room was small but clean, and the bed was comfortable. However, we were given a room toward the front, and, even though our room was not directly on the street, the noise from the bar across the street kept me up till 2:00 a.m. Then the person above us decided to walk around on the creaky floors starting at 5:00 a.m. and took a long shower, which made a high-pitched noise. I wish I'd asked for earplugs. We didn't participate in the wine reception, but the downstairs area was charming, with sofas and a fireplace. I wouldn't say that the breakfast was "gourmet," as advertised; it was basically a continental breakfast. The hotel was in a convenient location, close to Union Square, Chinatown, and North Beach. I really wanted to like this hotel but doubt that I would stay there again.