Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from British Columbia, Canada

Great budget hotel in San Francisco

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The beds and the staff!
Cons: The free wi-fi - it was brutal. I couldn't even connect to pay for an upgrade service!
Location: Edgy area - I didn't explore the area very well. I did come across a GREAT coffee shop - Jane on Larkin, serving Stumptown coffee. It was fantastic!
The Phoenix was a great hotel. I had stayed the first three days at Fairmont for a conference then moved to The Phoenix for two nights on a vacation. For the price of the hotel I feel it was well worth it in a city that is pretty pricey. The staff is fantastic, helpful and go above and beyond to ensure you are comfortable. The free wi-fi desperately needs an upgrade. My two pieces of advice: if you have heavy luggage, there is no elevator on the property so you have to huff it up a flight of stairs. The other is - this hotel is on the edge of an area that is going through change. There is homeless people and others with various afflictions around the area. We didn't walk around in the evening but in the day, the hotel staff advised us the best routes to get to where we needed to go and we didn't have a problem. Great coffee shop just up the street - "Jane on Larkin".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MJ from Portland, OR

Great remodel

Posted Mar 29, 2014
The hotel staff was great. Free parking and delicious breakfast muffins. The courtyard and pool are beautiful. The neighborhood is a bit rough so it can be noisy at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Queensland, Australia

An oasis in the Tenderloin

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: It's a colourful hipster's paradise .. quirky, unusual and interesting.
Cons: Sometimes the noise from the bar gets a little intense. I wouldn't bring my young family here but it didn't bother me travelling alone.
Location: The area is troubled, for sure. But there's some great food: Burmese Kitchen, Farm Table and Thai Idea Vegetarian were great!
I didn't realise how tough the neighbourhood was when I booked, but the Phoenix is a sweet and friendly diamond in the rough. I arrived late and night and the staff were super-helpful and welcoming, as they were for the rest of my stay. I was in SF for a conference, but when I had free time the hotel staff were friendly and informative about places to visit and transport options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Covina, CA

CLEAN & ROOMY

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: I like that the rooms were a good size, clean, and modern/retro look! I dont like old vintage scarey looking hotles. this one was cool and updated.
Cons: the location but not anything the hotel can do.
Location: location is scarey to many homless people.
this hotel was very decent, it was VERY clean and extra roomy most hotels in SF are small but this was perfect! The hotel from the outside is not appealing but the inside of the rooms are great! it is in a very sketchy area the tenderloin so to walk around it is VERY scarey as a female! I wouldnt walk alone in this area. We took a cabs at night during the day we walked. Other then then the outside area I would recommend this hotel. I would stay here again!
2 out of 5
by Michael from Northern California

Expectations Not Met

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Easier to find.
Cons: Patrons to the restaurant and bar, that are not staying on the property should either park on street or perhaps employ valet parking staff.
Several factors contributed to the average score giving for the Phoenix Hotel. Let me start by saying that the staff were friendly and all policies and procedures were explained explicitly when checking in at the front desk. However, the neighborhood folks roaming the streets around the hotel at all hours of the night was rather disconcerting. Not knowing whether we would have a parking spot or whether we would need to double park behind someone else seems odd given the known number of guests each evening (with a +- of a couple last minute check ins) the night manager seems concerned that any greyhound buses arriving in the night should have adequate space to park? Why not off load passengers and park bus down the street freeing up patron parking? The ice machine was not working and so we were instructed to get ice from the bar inside the registration building, then track down someone with a key to let you back out otherwise exit the bar onto the street (don't bring your wallet, oh wait, I'll need my room e-key to open the courtyard gate to walk back around to my room). The heated pool is only for use during the day and walking across the compound, there are pools of standing rain water that cannot run off because of the condition of the cement. Room decor pieces look acquired here and there and more like college dorm furnishings. We hoped from the online information that the Phoenix would be a comfortable nights rest, but we found it lacking at not on par.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christopher from L.A.

A Wonderful and Unexpected Surprise

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: the Hotel was quite , which the staff insisted on, which was refreshing. what my wife and sister in law loved was that it was very clean.
Cons: they could have some of my Art hanging on their walls. . .
Location: it was near Taiwan town and China town. i felt comfortable there. some might feel different.
I was at a loss in San Francisco in finding a room for me and my family on a friday night. great thanks to Expedia, they recommended the Phoenix Hotel at 601 Eddy at Larkin cross street. I had stayed at the Sheraton near the fishermans warf the night before . . . to corporate for my taste reminded me of Disneyland living. . . . The Phoenix was more about comfort and the creative spirit. colorful, playful, very clean and well run. any need we had the staff was right there and willing to help. they have an in house bar and restaurant with a small menu but wonderfully prepared and tasty food. the staff again was very attentive and the drinks were comforting. I am a musician and Artist for a living. i will stay here on my next trip to the Bay. I give it a wonderful 10 rating, on a scale of 1 to 10
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew from VA

Great hotel, rough neighborhood

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in great condition and has a great retro rock n roll vibe with updated amenities and furniture. The staff was helpful and friendly. I just wish the location was in a better neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A fun, unique hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2013
We spent one night at the Phoenix while visiting an art exhibit at the deYoung. We loved the retro visual style of the hotel and the modern, comfortable rooms. The onsite restaurant, Chambers, is fabulous. Our only complaint was the inadequate room heating. It was too cold in the bathroom to take a shower. It happened to be an exceptionally cold night when we stayed there - normally the heat would probably be sufficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CA Family Travelers from Chico, CA

Love the Phoenix

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We've been staying at the Phoenix for 20 years and it is better than ever. Each and every staff member is outstanding. This neighborhood may not be for all, but our family is comfortable here. We like this location a lot. And the whole feel of the Phoenix is just right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sorora from Downingtown, PA

Great hotel / Bad neighborhood

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself is great; rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is really friendly (free coffee/muffins). The only problem I found was the neighborhood it is located at. I felt unsafe walking in and out the hotel. There are many aggressive homeless folks in the surrounding areas.