Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Silicon Valley

Funky but fun

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The staff were helpful and congenial
Cons: Increase noise proofing in walls.
The hotel is a 1950's era motor lodge. It retains the charm of the '50s but with nice upgrades. I wished I'd had more time to enjoy the pool area and courtyard. The downside was the thin walls led to extra noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Posted Apr 18, 2015
The rooms are nice and well kept. The courtyard and pool area is a pleasant place to have a drink or a chat. As two females, we didn't feel extremely comfortable walking around the area at night but you could happily eat in the restaurant within the hotel. A convenience store is across the road. One downside , it's very difficult to black out the room as the light is very bright in the courtyard. The staff are helpful. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Very helpful and friendly staff. Great atmosphere. Quirky, arty hotel in downtown San Francisco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Posted Apr 8, 2015
I really did enjoy my stay here, but it can be loud due to the open courtyard layout. Fortunately, I was prepared for that and enjoyed the experience. I love the windows into the courtyard from the room and it was nice to allow a breeze in the room at night while still feeling safe and secure. The pool is lovely, though I didn't get a chance to use it. The courtyard is a fun place to chill. The rooms were clean and the furniture and decor was funky and fun. I loved the vintage wall-hangings in my room and bathroom. My only complaint about the room is the beds were small... barely bigger than a Twin sized bed. The staff was amazing and helpful and I loved that the hotel is within walking distance to so many places! Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely choose Phoenix Hotel again, but next time we'll choose a room with a bigger bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Falls Church, VA

Funky, fun motor lodge in a dicey part of town

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Decor, friendly staff
Cons: Sound proofing rooms.
Location: The Tenderloin is known as one of the grittier areas in SF, but it is also very hip with good bars and restaurants nearby.
From the koi greeting you in the courtyard to the colorful tiles in the pool, we definitely appreciated the ambiance of The Phoenix. The friendly, helpful staff was happy to help me with printing boarding passes. We mostly liked the hotel although I would have preferred not to hear my neighbors loud conversation at 2 AM. My husband and kids decided to walk someplace when we first arrived--we got into a very sketchy area just a block or two away from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lafayette, CA

Too noisy

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room, comfortable beds, hot shower. Free parking, a great plus!
Cons: Better soundproofing to prevent noise from the restaurant/bar, pool and courtyard, street, and nearby hotel rooms from interfering with sleep.
Location: Very close to Civic Center Plaza.
The location was perfect for our purpose: to be near the shuttle stop to get to the start of the Rock&Roll Half Marathon, and to be near the finish. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were very comfortable, the room was fine, but it was just too noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Great place to stay right in the heart of the Tenderloin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Great hotel, we loved it here!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Location: We LOVED Tommy's Joynt!
We were very pleasantly surprised by The Pheonix. Our stay was superb: amazing staff, very clean and comfortable room, coffee and muffins by the lovely pool every morning, and a super fun restaurant and bar. The location is very central in the city so very conveniently located. The area isn't the most preferable in all of SF but we were out very late every night and never once felt unsafe or threatened. There are definitely homeless people in the area but they keep to themselves and never once bothered us. We would definitely stay there again and look forward to returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock, NY

Funky. You'll feel like a rock star.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The staff, the beds, the decor, the art, the pool!
Cons: After much thought, I wouldn't really change a thing...
Love this place. The STAFF are amazing. Every single one of them. You feel welcome and special. This is NOT a fancy hotel. It's funky chic. You will not have room service, although there is an awesome restaurant attached to the property. You can park your car on the property (no valet), a huge plus. The area surrounding the Phoenix is sketchy... beware. But the staff insulates you from the seediness. The heated pool is amazing. I'll always stay here when in San Francisco. Feels like my home away from home. Hi Joe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock NY

Funky in the good way :)

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Love this place. In an odd neighborhood, but the staff is so awesome. Rooms large and comfortable. Heated pool!