Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel in a not so great area

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The pool, staff and general ambience.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Just walking out can be threatening (and we were) but once into the main shopping area it is fine. Loved sealions at pier 39.
Loved this hotel. Great facilities and ambience. A haven in a not so great area of San Francisco. We had an unfortunate experience walking out of the hotel when we were approached by a threatening character. Not great for my 14 year old son who then felt frightened of leaving the hotel. A shame because this hotel is wonderful and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the city. Lovely pool. Lovely muffins and coffee for breakfast and staff really friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Tre' Cool

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: I liked the atmosphere, the relaxed, but professional, attitude of the staff. The other guests were pleasant, it was like being at one big party.
Cons: mini fridge and microwave in rooms would have been an added bonus....especially when traveling with kids.
Location: Well it was located in the tenderloin area...so with kids I did not venture out after dark. Very close to civic center (a must see) Asian Museum .
I was advised to try the Phoenix hotel by my uncle (frequent guest while on business in San Francisco). I was not expecting such a very cool place. I was traveling with kids, one 14 the other 8. The staff were very helpful; going above and beyond to ensure a pleasant stay. I was assisted with our sign ups. The staff followed up by inquiring as to how the tour went (which a lot of hotel do not). On our first night in town they asked what plans we had, I said just to relax in room, one young man appeared with a dvd player and told me it was complimentary, great movie selection. Attached restaurant was fantastic. The pool was awesome!!!!!!....everyone has to come see the frog!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great experience!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Ambiance
The staff at the Phoenix was fantastic! They were very accommodating, particularly because we were traveling with an infant. Be warned, if you walk a certain way to the hotel from the BART, you walk through a rather sketchy part of the city. However, we never felt unsafe. Also, the hotel hosts receptions that are in the courtyard and since all of the rooms face the courtyard, it can be kind of loud. Not sure if this always happens, but the reception the night we were there had music until 9 pm and then it was just talking and drinking. The restaurant on the premise is delicious!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Location is not one for families

Posted Jun 26, 2014
First the positives, the rooms were clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful and there are some really great Thai restaurants within a block or two. The coffee and muffins in the morning were a nice touch. However the biggest negative is the location. Mself, my wife and my two daughters (12 & 10) walked around New York for a week at all times of the day & night and never felt any fear whatsoever, however one step outside the motel was like being in another world. Even at 8am, walking the few blocks to Union square we felt scared and intimidated walking past many homeless and destitute people, and were physically approached several times, being asked for money. Maybe we stood out as visitors, but Because of our experiences I definitely would not recommend this location to other families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Really is a great place..

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: I like how its all inside and well secured. Mart across the street for food, wine and anything else you need for your stay.
Location: Its centrally located in the Marina district. Easy to get in and out of this hotel. Free parking and a pool.. why go anywhere else?
When you first drive up you will think.. hmmm what is this place? Then you enter the lobby and are greeted by the friendly staff and you enter in what I call a Quad.. the pool is right in the middle.. two floors of rooms, there are places to sit outside and enjoy the wonder of the hotel. Lots of life happening in this place so if your looking for a quiet place, probably not the place to be. Full of life... this is my second stay at the Phoenix.. and I will be back again. The rooms are nicely appointed, clean and roomy. In the morning your greeting with the sound of the birds.. its really such a great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Missy from Minneapolis, MN

Great Spot in the heart of the city

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Such a fun place to stay with a great vibe. The neighborhood is dodgy but it didn't bother us one bit (especially with the rental car). The Chambers restaurant and bar a mere 10 feet from our room was the best part. A great place to escape to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by single lady from Colorado

Modern, cool, environmentally friendly place to be

Posted May 29, 2014
Awesome hotel staff. Very warm and helpful. Loved the modern twist to spruce up a gem in the city. The neighborhood was a little sketchy, but the free parking was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eileen from Colorado Springs, CO

What a great place!

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Pool, great for the kids, friendly staff.
Cons: Have the restaurant available each day of the week.. we would never have to leave it that was open.
Location: Its close to the Marina/China Town, Van Ness... great location.
Its in the Tenderloin part of the city and from the outside it makes you wonder.. but the staff greets you with a smile, the pool and center area are really awesome.. lots of places to sit and visit while the kids are in the pool. The rooms are nicely appointed and clean. We really enjoyed our stay here and will go again on our next trip to San Francisco. A Hotel with an outdoor pool, free parking and lots of room with great security.. its a winner in our book!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steven from San Francisco

Cool boutique hotel

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very cool hotel