Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Great place to stay right in the heart of the Tenderloin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Great hotel, we loved it here!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Location: We LOVED Tommy's Joynt!
We were very pleasantly surprised by The Pheonix. Our stay was superb: amazing staff, very clean and comfortable room, coffee and muffins by the lovely pool every morning, and a super fun restaurant and bar. The location is very central in the city so very conveniently located. The area isn't the most preferable in all of SF but we were out very late every night and never once felt unsafe or threatened. There are definitely homeless people in the area but they keep to themselves and never once bothered us. We would definitely stay there again and look forward to returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock, NY

Funky. You'll feel like a rock star.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The staff, the beds, the decor, the art, the pool!
Cons: After much thought, I wouldn't really change a thing...
Love this place. The STAFF are amazing. Every single one of them. You feel welcome and special. This is NOT a fancy hotel. It's funky chic. You will not have room service, although there is an awesome restaurant attached to the property. You can park your car on the property (no valet), a huge plus. The area surrounding the Phoenix is sketchy... beware. But the staff insulates you from the seediness. The heated pool is amazing. I'll always stay here when in San Francisco. Feels like my home away from home. Hi Joe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock NY

Funky in the good way :)

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Love this place. In an odd neighborhood, but the staff is so awesome. Rooms large and comfortable. Heated pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Phoenix Hotel SF

Posted Jan 31, 2015
My favorite SF hotel - always a pleasure to stay there
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Everything but the location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Had to find a place close to Union Square for a big annual conference. Overall, the hotel was very satisfactory (and in many ways charming -- think old 50's motel that's been renovated, and made trendy), but the major downside was the neighborhood, as the Tenderloin is still a bit rough around the edges (too many homeless people). And at $400+ per night, I found it a bit overpriced (but I suspect mainly due to surge pricing because of the conference).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not your standard hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Fun, kitschy hotel. Think re-vamped 60's motel. Fun decor. Comfortable room. Questionable neighborhood though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Wonderful wonderful wonderful

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Everything about this hotel is wonderful. For those who are worried about the location, do not be scared! There are bus stops that stop right in front of the hotel,and if you use common sense as don't go out after midnight, you will be fine! The staff was so so wonderful. They made sure my family was comfortable and they made us feel so safe! The free parking was also the highlight because everywhere else in San Francisco charges at least 35 a night for parking! Honestly, there is no better choice than here when vacationing in sf.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Early Morning Construction.

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had always wanted to stay at this hotel. My stay was perfect until the morning. I was woke to drilling, hammering and continuous noise that was right outside my door, which made sleeping past 8:00 AM impossible! I was very disappointed that this was told to me when I called the hotel the evening before and spoke to the front desk or at least when I checked in that night. They could have at least put me in a room on the other side of the property!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Diana, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and I am so sorry to hear that the construction on our pools drain pipe affected your stay. It was notated on the contract with the construction company that they were not allowed to make any noise until after 11 am so that our guests were able to get a full night of rest, and it is upsetting to find out that they did not adhere to the time frames. We placed the rooms directly in front of the construction in hopes of minimizing the impact on our guests, and I am sorry to hear that your room was still affected. I will be sure to follow up with the construction team in regards to their failure to follow the contracted work times, and again I am so sorry that this affected your stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Markfrom Ontario, Ca.

Would stay again

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay here..... just right at the edge of where it gets a bit iffy in S.F., but room was nice, and staff was excellent... bonus points for FREE Parking!