Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock NY

Funky in the good way :)

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Love this place. In an odd neighborhood, but the staff is so awesome. Rooms large and comfortable. Heated pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Phoenix Hotel SF

Posted Jan 31, 2015
My favorite SF hotel - always a pleasure to stay there
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Everything but the location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Had to find a place close to Union Square for a big annual conference. Overall, the hotel was very satisfactory (and in many ways charming -- think old 50's motel that's been renovated, and made trendy), but the major downside was the neighborhood, as the Tenderloin is still a bit rough around the edges (too many homeless people). And at $400+ per night, I found it a bit overpriced (but I suspect mainly due to surge pricing because of the conference).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not your standard hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Fun, kitschy hotel. Think re-vamped 60's motel. Fun decor. Comfortable room. Questionable neighborhood though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Wonderful wonderful wonderful

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Everything about this hotel is wonderful. For those who are worried about the location, do not be scared! There are bus stops that stop right in front of the hotel,and if you use common sense as don't go out after midnight, you will be fine! The staff was so so wonderful. They made sure my family was comfortable and they made us feel so safe! The free parking was also the highlight because everywhere else in San Francisco charges at least 35 a night for parking! Honestly, there is no better choice than here when vacationing in sf.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Monterey, CA

Cool place

Posted Dec 28, 2014
This was a cool hotel with a rock n roll feel to it. The pool area and bar were filled with ppl passing though and relaxing. The rooms are ok and a little loud but all in all I'd stay again for the right price. Big plus was free parking. SF is known for it's expensive parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Petaluma

An oasis in the city

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Great location, nice courtyard, friendly staff. I love it...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nisreen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nickfrom San diego

Fun at the Phoenix

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved cocktails and brunch Staff very helpful Only downside is neighbourhood
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com