Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Diamond in the rough

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms were excellent. The complex was vibrant and lively and the restaurant and bar excellent.
Location: Centre of a failry direputable area. Air smelled of weed and urine and streets filled with homeless, drug dealers, hookers and pimps.
Easy to find and a beautiful hotel; It has had a lot of money spent on it and was a popular hotspot for young trendies. The food in the adjoined restaurant was superb and the drinks on offer were top. The rooms themselves are bright, clean and well presented. The communal pool area is colourful and vibrant with activity. The weekend I was there an organised party was occurring in the pool area with barbecue and entertainment and the atmosphere was buzzing. A breakfast is provide and consists of coffee and a small selection pastries which were of ok standard. The key downside of the hotel is its location which is in a slightly disreputable area of the city. If you are driving in and out of the complex this is not an issue but if you are planning to walk anywhere, especially at night, then it is not particularly pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel im Motel Design.

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Wenn man das Hotel betritt wirkt es wie eine Oase im Großstadtdschungel. Die Anlage ist sauber und gepflegt. Freundliches Personal am Empfang. Kostenfreie Parkplätze stehen zur Verfügung. Einziger Kritikpunkt: Das kontinentale Frühstück ist selbst für amerikanische Verhältnisse dürftig. Filterkaffee, Tee und Gebäck (Muffin). Toast, Marmelade, Butter, Besteck oder Teller sucht man vergebens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted May 8, 2015
I love this hotel - whenever i stay in SF I try to stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

Funky but fun

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The staff were helpful and congenial
Cons: Increase noise proofing in walls.
The hotel is a 1950's era motor lodge. It retains the charm of the '50s but with nice upgrades. I wished I'd had more time to enjoy the pool area and courtyard. The downside was the thin walls led to extra noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

San Francisco : The Phoenix Hotel Apr 2015

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
The Tenderloin district was "interesting" at best. It felt a little dangerous at night. Love the decor & relaxed vibe at The Phoenix. Front desk folks were awesome. Be prepared to tolerate some noise if your immediate neighbours are relatively loud, as the window & door isn't as well insulated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Apr 18, 2015
The rooms are nice and well kept. The courtyard and pool area is a pleasant place to have a drink or a chat. As two females, we didn't feel extremely comfortable walking around the area at night but you could happily eat in the restaurant within the hotel. A convenience store is across the road. One downside , it's very difficult to black out the room as the light is very bright in the courtyard. The staff are helpful. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Very helpful and friendly staff. Great atmosphere. Quirky, arty hotel in downtown San Francisco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Posted Apr 8, 2015
I really did enjoy my stay here, but it can be loud due to the open courtyard layout. Fortunately, I was prepared for that and enjoyed the experience. I love the windows into the courtyard from the room and it was nice to allow a breeze in the room at night while still feeling safe and secure. The pool is lovely, though I didn't get a chance to use it. The courtyard is a fun place to chill. The rooms were clean and the furniture and decor was funky and fun. I loved the vintage wall-hangings in my room and bathroom. My only complaint about the room is the beds were small... barely bigger than a Twin sized bed. The staff was amazing and helpful and I loved that the hotel is within walking distance to so many places! Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely choose Phoenix Hotel again, but next time we'll choose a room with a bigger bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Falls Church, VA

Funky, fun motor lodge in a dicey part of town

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Decor, friendly staff
Cons: Sound proofing rooms.
Location: The Tenderloin is known as one of the grittier areas in SF, but it is also very hip with good bars and restaurants nearby.
From the koi greeting you in the courtyard to the colorful tiles in the pool, we definitely appreciated the ambiance of The Phoenix. The friendly, helpful staff was happy to help me with printing boarding passes. We mostly liked the hotel although I would have preferred not to hear my neighbors loud conversation at 2 AM. My husband and kids decided to walk someplace when we first arrived--we got into a very sketchy area just a block or two away from the hotel.