Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Petaluma

An oasis in the city

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Great location, nice courtyard, friendly staff. I love it...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

Hipster Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Great location however costs an extra $20 per person per night over two guests just for some extra towels and toiletries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarahfrom Sweden

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service from the reception! Nice place in a bad area, sweet rooms but need thicker windows. Overall funky and happy...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Campbellfrom London

Fantastic retro hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great vibe in the hotel, staff friendly and helpful. It probably could do with a little updating mainly in the bathrooms. This is situated in the edge of the Tenderloin an area re known for addicts and drunks, homeless. I have to admit being on a family vacation it was a little bit of an eye opener but great location for getting into the city, union sq and buses easily accessed to Fishermans wharf. The area rand has amazing restaurants - amazing!!! Red crawfish a definite must only door up on Larkin. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else if we were to visit again. Good parking and once parked didn't use the car again for the three days in San Fran.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great hotel in a not so great area

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The pool, staff and general ambience.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Just walking out can be threatening (and we were) but once into the main shopping area it is fine. Loved sealions at pier 39.
Loved this hotel. Great facilities and ambience. A haven in a not so great area of San Francisco. We had an unfortunate experience walking out of the hotel when we were approached by a threatening character. Not great for my 14 year old son who then felt frightened of leaving the hotel. A shame because this hotel is wonderful and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the city. Lovely pool. Lovely muffins and coffee for breakfast and staff really friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cathrine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Erikfrom Ikke bra

Dette var dårlig...

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Svært mye støy, et forferdelig nabolag. Ikke valutta for pengene!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Oeivindfrom Norge

Bedre enn forventet

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Et annerledes, og hyggelig Hotel midt i byen. Hotellet minner om et motel langs veien, men midt i sentrum. Hotellet er gammelt, men rommene var store, og pent oppusset og artig dekorert. Hyggelig betjening og god service. Strøket hotellet ligger i er ikke hyggelig og man må nærmest skritte over junkies og tiggere. Taxi hjem om kvelden anbefales. Hotellet er relativt rimelig i en ellers dyr hotellby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Tre' Cool

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: I liked the atmosphere, the relaxed, but professional, attitude of the staff. The other guests were pleasant, it was like being at one big party.
Cons: mini fridge and microwave in rooms would have been an added bonus....especially when traveling with kids.
Location: Well it was located in the tenderloin area...so with kids I did not venture out after dark. Very close to civic center (a must see) Asian Museum .
I was advised to try the Phoenix hotel by my uncle (frequent guest while on business in San Francisco). I was not expecting such a very cool place. I was traveling with kids, one 14 the other 8. The staff were very helpful; going above and beyond to ensure a pleasant stay. I was assisted with our sign ups. The staff followed up by inquiring as to how the tour went (which a lot of hotel do not). On our first night in town they asked what plans we had, I said just to relax in room, one young man appeared with a dvd player and told me it was complimentary, great movie selection. Attached restaurant was fantastic. The pool was awesome!!!!!!....everyone has to come see the frog!