Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

Hipster Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Great location however costs an extra $20 per person per night over two guests just for some extra towels and toiletries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Campbellfrom London

Fantastic retro hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great vibe in the hotel, staff friendly and helpful. It probably could do with a little updating mainly in the bathrooms. This is situated in the edge of the Tenderloin an area re known for addicts and drunks, homeless. I have to admit being on a family vacation it was a little bit of an eye opener but great location for getting into the city, union sq and buses easily accessed to Fishermans wharf. The area rand has amazing restaurants - amazing!!! Red crawfish a definite must only door up on Larkin. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else if we were to visit again. Good parking and once parked didn't use the car again for the three days in San Fran.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great hotel in a not so great area

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The pool, staff and general ambience.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Just walking out can be threatening (and we were) but once into the main shopping area it is fine. Loved sealions at pier 39.
Loved this hotel. Great facilities and ambience. A haven in a not so great area of San Francisco. We had an unfortunate experience walking out of the hotel when we were approached by a threatening character. Not great for my 14 year old son who then felt frightened of leaving the hotel. A shame because this hotel is wonderful and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the city. Lovely pool. Lovely muffins and coffee for breakfast and staff really friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Tre' Cool

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: I liked the atmosphere, the relaxed, but professional, attitude of the staff. The other guests were pleasant, it was like being at one big party.
Cons: mini fridge and microwave in rooms would have been an added bonus....especially when traveling with kids.
Location: Well it was located in the tenderloin area...so with kids I did not venture out after dark. Very close to civic center (a must see) Asian Museum .
I was advised to try the Phoenix hotel by my uncle (frequent guest while on business in San Francisco). I was not expecting such a very cool place. I was traveling with kids, one 14 the other 8. The staff were very helpful; going above and beyond to ensure a pleasant stay. I was assisted with our sign ups. The staff followed up by inquiring as to how the tour went (which a lot of hotel do not). On our first night in town they asked what plans we had, I said just to relax in room, one young man appeared with a dvd player and told me it was complimentary, great movie selection. Attached restaurant was fantastic. The pool was awesome!!!!!!....everyone has to come see the frog!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ecossaisfrom Edinburgh

A little diamond in the rough

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself is quite nice - indeed the onsite pool and lounge are very nice indeed. As others have noted though, the surrounding Tenderloin area is a foul neighbourhood and is repugnant to all standards of human decency. That said, I would quite happily recommend this hotel as it was a pleasant little beacon in an otherwise forlorn part of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gabriela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Great experience!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Ambiance
The staff at the Phoenix was fantastic! They were very accommodating, particularly because we were traveling with an infant. Be warned, if you walk a certain way to the hotel from the BART, you walk through a rather sketchy part of the city. However, we never felt unsafe. Also, the hotel hosts receptions that are in the courtyard and since all of the rooms face the courtyard, it can be kind of loud. Not sure if this always happens, but the reception the night we were there had music until 9 pm and then it was just talking and drinking. The restaurant on the premise is delicious!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by r.vojackfrom phoenix hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
very nice hotel, great service and location.