Ratings based on 1,742 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Hotel Under Construction

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to local attractions. Lots of amenities close by.
Cons: Advance warning of major construction for guests would be nice.
Location: Walking distance to Wishermans Wharf, Embarcadero etc. lots of nearby restaurants.
Very disappointed with this stay, arrived hoping for a nice relaxing 2 day break. Instead we arrived to find the hotel under very noisy construction ( had I been made aware of this prior to my arrival I would have stayed elsewhere). The hotel switched the water off for full day so no chance of freshening up before heading out to explore. The construction was happening in the room above us, constant hammering and power tools etc. We called the front desk to ask how long the noise would likely last and they were most unhelpful and unapologetic. The hotel also lost power for about 4 hours. The staff seemed really uninterested about helping improve our stay. After check in we went to our room to find our key cards didn't work and we couldn't get it, had to return to desk to get a new set which also didn't work after 2 trips up and down with luggage the bell man eventually escorted us to our room and had to try multiple cards before we could get in. There was a tray of left over room service food outside our door when we arrived that the bell man said he would have removed immediately, it sat there for 2 days despite housekeeping cleaning each morning. A hotel without water or electricity that's under construction doesn't lead to a great stay. Expected better from a "nice" hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Great location

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The location to fishermans wharf is superb. Within the hotel the staff are all friendly, welcoming and helpful
Cons: Once the refurbishment is complete this will be an exceptional hotel choice for a stay in the fishermans wharf area.
Location: Fishermans wharf is so close you can taste the sea food!
This hotel has a great location, great facilities and great staff. It would have scored much higher on comfort and cleanliness had it not been for the refurbishment going on. We stayed in the middle of the rework so had a lot of noise and mess. We mentioned our desire to move a couple of times to the desk staff who were unable to help, if it were just for a couple of nights it would have Ben fine but we stayed for six!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ipswich

Excellent for short break

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Position
Excellent hotel very close to fishermans wharf , the hotel are having work done at moment which is ok, just a little noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Very good location.

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix the creaky floor
Location: Bus close to Golden Gate Bridge, 5 min walk to Fishermans warf, safeway, little Italy, crooked road, starbucks. Location is very convenient.
The only problem we had was the noise from the floor upstairs. The floor creaked and we could hear every footstep, frustating when they people upstairs were getting up at 6:00 am. We mentioned it at check out all the clerk did was apologize. We stayed in room 128 I would not recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Newly refurbished and perfect location

Posted May 13, 2015
We had the most wonderful time in San Francisco and the stay at this hotel definitely enhanced it. Although the hotel is currently being refurbished this didn't effect our stay in the least. On arrival my boyfriend had organised with the lovely hotel staff for flowers and champagne for my birthday. We had one of the new rooms which are very modern, clean and comfy. I especially loved the choice of lighting in the room. We had to pay for a parking but there were plenty of spaces with in and out privileges. The wifi was complimentary and fast, although on the first night we couldn't seem to connect but it was all sorted by the morning. We were there for 4 nights total and would highly recommend this place to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Fishermans Wharf

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Location, renovated big rooms.
Cons: Could be a bit cheaper.
Location: Boat tours, eating seafood, walking.
This is a block from Fishermans Wharf and if you like seafood is the place to be. We also like walking and every street is different so walking into town was fun for us. It is also easy to walk to the Bridge. We enjoyed the Hotel and the location.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom R

Great hotel

Posted May 6, 2015
Great hotel, it's within walking distance of just about everything. the hotel itself is clean and elegant. However they had construction going during our stay and you could hear drilling pounding and the workers speaking through the walls. Making it hard to relax in the room. I think the staff could have managed this a little better or disclosed this shortly after booking.instead of finding out when we check in. Overall good hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Return to the bay

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location.
The hotel is in a good location ,a couple of blocks from pier 39 ,so easy access. You could have been anywhere in the world, the rooms had no real character, they were clean, comfortable but very generic. 10 minutes walk to pier 39 for all the great fish restaurants, and easy access for the Cable cars and street cars. There was a restaurant and breakfast buffet, we did not use this, we chose to go to the Hollywood cafe for a fantastic start to the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Very Clean Hotel in High Traffic Area

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Very clean, always smelled nice, friendly staff, VERY close to a number of activities and restaurants.
Cons: We had a constant issue with our room key cards not working in the door lock. Very frustrating, but the front desk staff fixed it each time.
Location: Walking distance to Chinatown, North Beach(Italian), Fishermans Wharf, Ghirardelli Square, 2 Cable Car lines, Trolley, Bus, and Restaurants.
First impression was very clean hotel in a safe neighborhood. I've stayed in other area's of San Francisco and this was the nicest. The reception area was always staffed, it smelled nice and everyone was friendly. There are 2 elevators that work with your room key. There was a well equipped fitness room and lovely courtyard outfitted with outdoor lounge furniture and patio heaters. The room/bathroom were impeccably clean and smelled fresh. The windows in the room could open to allow fresh air. The heat and air conditioning worked perfectly. The room had a desk/chair w/USB charging ports, an overstuffed chair w/ottoman, a giant LCD TV, 2 cup coffee machine, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and very nice toiletries. The shower head was a little lower than expected, but powerful with plenty of hot water. My room had 2 very comfortable queen size pillow top beds with fresh linens and small table in between with a lamp. There was a dresser with two sets of drawers and a semi-cool refrigerator. Because this hotel is in a high traffic area of the city you should expect city and tourist noises at ALL hours. Which means people and city utility noises (street sweepers, trash collection). The windows in the room DO NOT block out the city noises and we had to run the air all night as white noise. There was sufficient insulation to block noise from other rooms and the hallway. PROTIP: They will block 100$USD/night for incidentals, not once but for every night of your stay
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Noisy stay, good food

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Food staff were very pleasant, helpful and extremely accommodating. Food was delicious and hot. Lobby and dining areas were pleasant. Great beds.
Cons: Sound proofing. Knowledge and ability of many, though not all front desk. A welcoming concierge.
Location: Very well situated. Easy to walk to many venues, restaurants, shopping, wharf.
Good location. Clean. Lots of traffic noise heard in rooms making it difficult to sleep. Construction going on inside. Very little sound proofing in rooms. Could hear everyone around you and outside. We had 8 people in 3 rooms because one of our booked rooms was given to someone else. Hotel over booked because of construction. couldn't get a receipt at the end of stay to show that we were not charged for the first night. Front desk workers did not let others' know what was going on with bookings and rooms. Lots of confusion about our rooms and information was not passed along. Front desk staff need more training. Concierge was rude because she couldn't get her phone to work and she was not very knowledgeable.