Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Ann from Washington

close to downtown but not clean

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: change lobby look, carpet, seats, and lady at the desk.
Location: is close to everything, about 6 blocks to the mall.
the first impression when we walked into the lobby, was disgusting, dirty couches, a men sitting on one with no shoes, carpet dirty, and smelly. I asked for refund but the lady at the desk was rude, saying go to 5 star hotel if you want something better, this is only a 2 star. The man at the desk tried to solve the problem, calling immediately the maid to vacuum and clean the front and he showed us the room, that was a little better, bathroom clean, room very tight, anyway for one night, tired after walking so much, it was fine. The elevator tiny, for only two people, dirty gross smell. Noise from other rooms, people walking upstairs or closing doors etc. Homeless sitting by the door entrance. No ideal if you go with children. This hotel seems that should be close. Next block were a nice hotel for only 25 dollars more and with breakfast, huge mistake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, near all transportations. Old/clean

Posted Apr 8, 2014
The room is well renovated, perfect for the price. Very good location near Union Square (cable-car, bus) and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivana

Great place to stay, loved it!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed in a deluxe king bedroom for four nights this March and we loved everything about this place! The location is great (two blocks from Union Square). Our room and bathroom were really nice and super clean (the room was cleaned every day). The staff at the front desk were always very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend this place and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maranda

Good location and reasonable price.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: I like the location of this hotel. The staff was also very pleasant.
Cons: I didn't have any guests, but they seem to have a strict guest policy. All guests must sign in, and are only allowed between 9:00 am and 9:00 pm.
Stayed at Post Hotel for one night. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful! I did not use the much talked about elevator, though. The decorations and the look of the hallway are a bit outdated and shabby. I had a King Deluxe Room (meaning king-sized bed and private bathroom). The room was VERY small, but clean. The room had a hardwood floor instead of carpeting, which I found a bit surprising. The bathroom appeared recently renovated, and very modern compared to the common areas. The bed was a bit flimsy, but more than adequate for my short stay. Given the price range of other hotels in the area, I would definitely stay at Post Hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Reno, NV

Good place to sleep for a night on the town.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Rooms were very clean. Staff was friendly. Location, Location, Location!
Cons: Maybe a celling fan or something to help with how warm the rooms were. We didn't have the heater on and the window was open.
Location: Great location for nightlife, great breakfast in the morning.
We stayed for one night on a Saturday. We arrived and the person at the front desk was really helpful. He also helped me out with a few extra towels later on(just be friendly and they will be in return). Parking was right next to the hotel and makes it very convenient. Their website says valet parking for 22 a night however this doesn't exist. With a printout from the hotel it was 25 for 18 hours, not bad. We stayed in a deluxe double room with 2 double beds. Our room very clean and the bathroom and shower were much larger than expected. The hallways did have a slight smell to them but nothing we couldn't handle. The only downfall was the room was very warm and no ac. We had the window open to cool it down but that didn't seem to help very much. As anywhere in SF by Union Square, it was very loud at night and I recommend ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Overall for the price we paid about 125 after taxes, it was worth it. The central location (clubs and nightlife) was awesome for a group of 4 looking to come into San Fran for a night to party and sleep (within walking distance of Ruby Sky-Infusion and more). Also, when you are hung over in the morning there is a really good breakfast place next door (literally). If you are looking for lots of amenities, this place probably isn't for you. For a place to clean place to sleep with great nightlife location this place is for you.
2 out of 5
by Adri

Tiny, uncomfortable very close to Union Square

Posted Feb 7, 2014
The only good thing about Post hotel is the location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Jellie from SF

Pleasantly surprised! Large rooms for SF

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Location & Room size
Location: few blocks from Union Square and the Bart.
At first I was worried that the room/hotel would be completely run down, especially considering it's also a hostel, but surprisingly the room was nice! It was clean, large and the bathroom (always the part I critique the most) was in great shape. We stayed in the king room w/ private bath. Yes this isn't the Ritz, but for the price and location it's definitely worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gary from b

The room that we had was very nice and the hotel s

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Very helpful and friendly staff the rules is very clean and the location is close to everything
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by josh from san diego

post hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms are ok and its good if you our trying to be near union square, but everything else was disappointing. They tried to say we had to pay again even though we our receipt in hand. Other negatives our the old school elevator and heard other rooms had to share restrooms.