Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was wonderful stay me and my fiancé had

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Wonderful stay there is a walgreens js around the corner walking distance we went for the 4th if July weekend there's 2 parking garages we parked at the one around the corner don't remember the name but the guys wear red shirts paid 32 for 24hrs of parking in and I out privileges. We took taxi to go to pier 39, and all along side that. Over all it's worth what we paid for, although the bathrooms had a little bit of mold growing, but it was nice. Really old fashioned style hotel but worth the stay only problem we had was our key wasn't working but it got fixed next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted that on the whole you had wonderful experience. Each day we strive to deliver the highest level of service to all our guests. It is good to know that we hit the mark. Regarding your comments about finding some mold in the bathroom and experiencing difficulty in using the key, you can be certain that we will look into them, as we put paramount importance on guest satisfaction. We hope that you will come back soon. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Granada Hills, CA

It got me through

Posted May 26, 2014
I didnt stay much in the hotle. Most of the time i was out. However the hotel is strictly place for walking distance around downtown so there is no need to drive you can just park your car and park and walk wherever you want
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
It is nice to know that you were able to appreciate the convenience our location brings. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon. We would like to be given an opportunity to demonstrate that there is more to us than a great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred

Nice for the price

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevator is old and slow. Rooms do not have air conditioning.
Location: Close to city center, close to shops, museums, etc
The hotel is comfortable and very situated. Close to city center, close to shops, museums, etc
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Let us thank you for choosing the Post Hotel. It is so nice to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for remarking that our property is well-situated and cozy. Reviews such as yours motivate us to reach for even greater heights. We hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in town. It would be a great pleasure to serve you.
3 out of 5
by annie from bakersfield

Downtown but nothing special

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Very sparse room. No room to spread out especially with more than two people. No where to sit except on the bed, front desk has no cart to assist large amounts of luggage. Elevator very old got stuck once. Walls thin- easy to get noise complaints if you have little kids. View out window horrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are truly sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with our accommodation and services. It is most disturbing to hear that you were stuck in our elevator once. Our maintenance team regularly inspects our facilities to ensure that everything is working. Nevertheless, your comment will be shared with the head of the said department for proper action. We regret that our room did not meet all of your needs. We thank you though for giving us the opportunity to grow and improve more. We hope you will choose to stay with us again. Let us demonstrate that we can put our words into action and we are truly capable of providing you a far better hotel experience.
2 out of 5
by Ann from Washington

close to downtown but not clean

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: change lobby look, carpet, seats, and lady at the desk.
Location: is close to everything, about 6 blocks to the mall.
the first impression when we walked into the lobby, was disgusting, dirty couches, a men sitting on one with no shoes, carpet dirty, and smelly. I asked for refund but the lady at the desk was rude, saying go to 5 star hotel if you want something better, this is only a 2 star. The man at the desk tried to solve the problem, calling immediately the maid to vacuum and clean the front and he showed us the room, that was a little better, bathroom clean, room very tight, anyway for one night, tired after walking so much, it was fine. The elevator tiny, for only two people, dirty gross smell. Noise from other rooms, people walking upstairs or closing doors etc. Homeless sitting by the door entrance. No ideal if you go with children. This hotel seems that should be close. Next block were a nice hotel for only 25 dollars more and with breakfast, huge mistake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for staying at the Post Hotel and for your candid feedback. We strive to provide the best possible experience for our customers and constructive criticism helps us to improve. We take great pride in our hotel and I’m so sorry to hear that there were elements of your stay that you felt were unsatisfactory. In particular, cleanliness is one of our highest priorities and as such, the hotel lobby area is cleaned at least three times a day. The carpet, in the lobby, was in fact just installed 2 months ago, and the couches are constantly cleaned and maintained. While our property is a historical building and the elevator is indeed antique, it is absolutely up to modern code, with a maximum occupancy of 5 people, and cleaned constantly throughout the day. As far as the lobby being crowded when you arrived, 11am does indeed tend to be a high traffic time, as this is our standard checkout hour, but we always strive to serve our guests in a timely matter. In fact, while standard check in time is 3pm, we made sure to have your room ready to accommodate your early check in request. While we are a 2 Star property, we are very proud of our hotel and the value we present to our guests. We do feel that the description and images portrayed online are consistent with the experience we offer. Most importantly, providing superior customer service is our #1 goal and I’m so sorry that your experience was not consistent with this objective. We will be sure to discuss among our team how we can better ensure that our service is always perceived as friendly and helpful. We hope you will give us another chance to prove this to you and hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, near all transportations. Old/clean

Posted Apr 8, 2014
The room is well renovated, perfect for the price. Very good location near Union Square (cable-car, bus) and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We are most pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. This is fantastic news for us since our primary goal each day is guest satisfaction. It is good to know that you were able to appreciate the recent renovations made on our hotel, our reasonable rates, and prime location. We take immense pride in our accommodation and services which is why it is heart-warming to read a guest laud them. We hope you will choose to stay with us once more in the future. It would be a pleasure to serve you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivana

Great place to stay, loved it!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed in a deluxe king bedroom for four nights this March and we loved everything about this place! The location is great (two blocks from Union Square). Our room and bathroom were really nice and super clean (the room was cleaned every day). The staff at the front desk were always very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend this place and would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We are most pleased to hear that you loved everything about our hotel. There is no better reward in this line of business than to be lauded by a valued guest for doing a magnificent job. Thank you for appreciating all our efforts to make you feel welcomed and for ensuring that your room is clean and comfortable. Likewise, we are happy to hear that you were able to take full advantage of our ideal location. We eagerly await your next visit. It would a great pleasure to serve you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maranda

Good location and reasonable price.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: I like the location of this hotel. The staff was also very pleasant.
Cons: I didn't have any guests, but they seem to have a strict guest policy. All guests must sign in, and are only allowed between 9:00 am and 9:00 pm.
Stayed at Post Hotel for one night. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful! I did not use the much talked about elevator, though. The decorations and the look of the hallway are a bit outdated and shabby. I had a King Deluxe Room (meaning king-sized bed and private bathroom). The room was VERY small, but clean. The room had a hardwood floor instead of carpeting, which I found a bit surprising. The bathroom appeared recently renovated, and very modern compared to the common areas. The bed was a bit flimsy, but more than adequate for my short stay. Given the price range of other hotels in the area, I would definitely stay at Post Hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are delighted to hear that overall you were pleased with your choice to stay at our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our staff, thank you. Without a doubt they will be glad to know they were part of the reason you enjoyed your time at our hotel. As for your comment on the common areas, we wish to let you know that there are plans in place to renovate these areas to keep up with the times and to make them more appealing to the eye. We eagerly await your next visit. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Reno, NV

Good place to sleep for a night on the town.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Rooms were very clean. Staff was friendly. Location, Location, Location!
Cons: Maybe a celling fan or something to help with how warm the rooms were. We didn't have the heater on and the window was open.
Location: Great location for nightlife, great breakfast in the morning.
We stayed for one night on a Saturday. We arrived and the person at the front desk was really helpful. He also helped me out with a few extra towels later on(just be friendly and they will be in return). Parking was right next to the hotel and makes it very convenient. Their website says valet parking for 22 a night however this doesn't exist. With a printout from the hotel it was 25 for 18 hours, not bad. We stayed in a deluxe double room with 2 double beds. Our room very clean and the bathroom and shower were much larger than expected. The hallways did have a slight smell to them but nothing we couldn't handle. The only downfall was the room was very warm and no ac. We had the window open to cool it down but that didn't seem to help very much. As anywhere in SF by Union Square, it was very loud at night and I recommend ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Overall for the price we paid about 125 after taxes, it was worth it. The central location (clubs and nightlife) was awesome for a group of 4 looking to come into San Fran for a night to party and sleep (within walking distance of Ruby Sky-Infusion and more). Also, when you are hung over in the morning there is a really good breakfast place next door (literally). If you are looking for lots of amenities, this place probably isn't for you. For a place to clean place to sleep with great nightlife location this place is for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are mighty glad to read that we were able to provide you with a superb experience. We are terribly sorry that you encountered an unpleasant smell in the hallway despite our housekeeping team regularly cleaning the area and using special chemicals to neutralize any bad odor. Also, we apologize for failing to notice that your assigned room was very warm during your stay. We would have provided a quick solution to the issue. It is good that you were able to take full advantage of our location to have a great time and indeed, you did not have to pay a ridiculous amount to do so. We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in San Francisco. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel.
2 out of 5
by Adri

Tiny, uncomfortable very close to Union Square

Posted Feb 7, 2014
The only good thing about Post hotel is the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2014 by Post Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. It is disheartening to hear since we put great value on guest satisfaction. We want to assure you that we are constantly looking for ways to further improve our facilities and services. We hope that you will consider staying with us once more in the near future, so we may be given a chance to show you that there is more to us than a great location.