Ratings based on 2,367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alajuela, Costa Rica

Excellent location

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Location-
Cons: the heat.
Location: you get really fast to most of the good atractions in SFO. With $8.65 you get from the airpoirt to the hotel and in 30 minutes, using BART train.
Everything was very good. Specially location. Nice staff, Kenny and Theresa nice people, BUT THE HEAT was terrible, because they turned it off at 11 pm at at night and turned it on at about 8 a.m.. Freezing iin winter time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange CA

Good for one night...

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Hotel is fine, nothing too exciting. Located in a great area if your a tourist and want to be in the middle of everything. The staff are helpful in person but it's very difficult to get anyone on the phone if you need to make a change or correct an issue. My example: while paying for parking as we checked out I was accidentally charged for our room. I reminded the woman checking us out that I had already paid through Expedia. She apologized and assured me the charge would be removed from my credit card. Has yet to be removed and I can't reach anyone by phone, it just rings and rings until the line drops the call. I've had to submit a transaction dispute with my credit card company because I can't reach anyone to assist me, very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Fred from Seattle

Funky Old Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
This is a funky old hotel. There was a transom over over the door to my room and a relight to the hallway next to the door. I suspect the hotel originally had gas lights and a relight would have made the room brighter. Now both the transom and relight are painted over, which now that the room has electricity makes sense. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable. The room was small but adequate for my needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from Ventura CA

New Year's Eve in San Francisco

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
We were in S.F. for New Year's Eve. We stayed at the Powell Hotel 46 years ago on our honeymoon. It still shows interior plumbing lines; room (504) was small but not too small, though bathroom was small and old. We here the hotel is about to be renovated. There is a lot that can be done to improve the hotel and bring it up to current standards. Also there was too limited a selection on the television channels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Collin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nothing but location

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
Dirty bed sheets and unpleasent smokey smell in the room. Extrmely noisy neighbor but the hotel staffs are smile and kind
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Staff was very helpful and curtious, rooms are outdated but clean. Location is great if you want to be in the middle of the action. Overall a decent hotel for a good price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az

Just OK

Posted Jan 2, 2015
The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was ok, but noticed a couple of places where the wallpaper was coming off the walls. The room was cold to me and there is no way to adjust the heat.. They did send up a portable heater which warmed up the room to my satisfaction. Also, could not use the hair dryer because the switch was missing, and the remote control on the TV did not work properly,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Nice location terrible rooms

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Nice location ,terrible rooms .bad breakfast but really nice location ,close to cable car and subway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Excelente ubicación y amabilidad del personal

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: La amabilidad y ubicación.
Location: Excelente ubicación!
Las habitaciones son muy pequeñas pero la ubicación, precio y amabilidad fueron excelentes.