Ratings based on 1,970 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Germany

Posted May 3, 2015
Had enjoyed staying at this hotel a number of times some years ago, however did not enjoy this time. Hotel has become tired, and staff did not impress. Was unable to find out any information on hotel services [internet connection, breakfast time, etc] until going back down to front desk. Staff advised that no information folders were now supplied in room because the hotel had gone "green", whatever that was supposed to mean! The receptionist told us someone would come to our room to provide the wifi log on codes. He did, two hours later. Were informed that the coffee making facilities were provided in one's room only on request. These arrived four hours later. There are many other hotels in San Francisco who would provide far better service, so we will go elsewhere next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Location is great. Rooms are small but adequate. Wine and tea receptions are a nice touch. Staff is friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2015 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review! We are glad you like the little touches we give here at the hotel and hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Great Kimpton experience as always. Perfect location, convenient to Union Square and financial district.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you for the amazing review. I too love our location. we can't wait to welcome you back to our hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Loved my stay here. The jacuzzi bath was extremely relaxing, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the service was amazing. They brought ice directly to me, had free wine hour, and the Italian restaurant was fabulous. Valet was friendly and fast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Joseph, Hotel Management
We love that you love us! Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great location

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Perfect proximity to Union Square.
Cons: Air conditioner in the room made a lot of noise.
Hotel is in a great location and staff are very friendly and helpful. Room is clean and the bed is comfortable. If you are a member of the Kimpton club, Wi-Fi access is free. Only issue I had was the noises coming from the air conditioner in the room, as some noise coming in from the outside (perhaps being in a room on a higher floor would address this).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Joe, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so proud of our great hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Apr 18, 2015
It was average to good. Good location, helpful staff, nice touches like free breakfast and free drinks at certain times of the day. The décor in the public areas seemed a bit faded and it all needed reinvigoration, but the bedroom and bathroom were pleasant. I was very put off by the $9 fee to connect to the internet at the computer station and the $0.50 fee to print a single sheet of paper - extortionate and frustrating! I wouldn't particularly recommend this hotel over any other in San Francisco, but it wasn't awful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by Joseph Cisneros, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to fill out your review. We are going to be going through a multi-million dollar makeover here this year. Come back and see all the amazing changes. All of our special touches will continue and we would love to see what you think.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful boutique hotel in San Francisco

Posted Apr 11, 2015
I loved everything about this hotel and would stay there again anytime
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Joseph, Hotel Management
We love 5 star reviews! Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Very nice hotel one block from Union Square.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Extremely friendly, courteous staff who are all so willing to be of help or any service. Very comfortable and lovely.
Cons: Nothing that we noticed can be improved.
Location: One block from Union Square..... Perfect!!!
Every member of the hotel staff was extemely friendly, willing to be of any help.... thoroughly delightful!! Our room was very comfortable, clean and the hotel is lovely. We only stayed one night, but I'm sure we'll return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Joseph, Hotel Management
Thank you for the amazing review! Nothing makes me happier than when a guest acknowledges our amazing staff. They love their jobs and it shows in the service they provide. Thanks again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Great location.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Hotel did not have anything special or unique except for the location. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. Hotel did upgrade us due to the television not working. Overall, it is a good hotel if you want to be near Union Square. If you want a hotel that goes above and beyond then this is not the hotel for you. I would not stay here again since I feel I could get a nicer hotel for the money I spent to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Joe, Hotel Management
I was stoked to hear that our Front Desk team was able to upgrade you to one of our suites, it really bummed me out that we didn't invite you join us for all of unique touches like our free Wine Hour or our Nightcap program for after dinner drinks. I would love to see you com back and enjoy all the hotel has to offer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 東京都

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: スタッフが感じ良い。物を入れる引き出しが多い。ユニオンスクエアに近い。
Cons: 部屋の臭い。洗面所の水栓はお湯が出るようにしてください。
Location: 近くに24時間オープンのダイナーやパンケーキで有名なSears Fine Food、ステーキのMORTON'Sなどがあり食事には困らないと思います。スーパーやコンビニもあるのでとても便利です。
スタッフはとても感じ良かったです。ただ、部屋全体に何とも言えない悪臭が漂い、堪らずファブリーズを買って振りまきましたがあまり改善しませんでした。洗面所の蛇口もお湯が全く出ませんでした。トイレの流れも悪かったと思います。一泊の滞在で既に荷物をほどいた後だったのでそのままその部屋に留まりましたが、他の部屋がどうなのかは分かりません。クローゼットは狭かったですが、衣類などを入れる引き出しは多くて便利でした。ユニオンスクエアに近く、買い物や食事などにはとても便利です。
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Joseph Cisneros, Hotel Management
I was happy to read that you found us in one of the best locations in the city. I was sad to read that you had several issues in your room. I am going to share this with review with the entire housekeeping and maintenance staff to try and find where we went wrong. We hope to see you again soon.