Ratings based on 1,856 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Boutique hotel in a convenient location

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Location, size of hotel, ease of check-in.
Cons: The concierge was very cold and unfriendly. Very strange, considering how all the other staff members were the opposite.
Location: Union Square shopping, small restaurants.
The staff was mostly friendly and seemed genuinely interested in providing all their guests with a great experience. The rooms were a little on the older side, but very clean. The odd thing was that the room doors did not have an internal deadbolt or lock. It made me feel uncomfortable, knowing that any staff member with a master key could enter my room. I found most of the staff to be very helpful with one exception the morning of my checkout date, there was a citywide blackout due to a huge rainstorm. While the front desk staff and valet were very friendly, the woman behind the concierge desk had a very annoyed and cold attitude when I asked her a few questions about the blackout. She acted as if I were bothering her. Very terrible attitude to have in a customer service position.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Nice hotel, good location, great staff

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location was very good and the staff was very friendly, helpful and attentive.
Cons: The hotel could probably use a little freshening up. Nothing egregious, just scuffs and dings here and there.
Location: It's SF Market Square, there's no shortage of things to do.
I stayed at the Prescott Hotel for three nights in fall 2014. I was looking for a central SF hotel and this fit the bill nicely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson, AZ

Nice boutique hotel close to Union Square

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Complimentary wine from 5 to 6 p.m. in the warm and comfortable lounge. Love the location--right off of Union Square
Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was large and comfortable and quiet. Great location right off of Union Square and walking distance to everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Location: just two blocks from Union Square. Bed and blanket is very comfortable. Shampoo, conditioner and body location with high quality.
I've never expected a 4 star hotel to be like this: very small room in a very old building. No view from room at all (facing a wall). You can hear your neighbor using toilet and taking a bath. You will find NO coffee machine/coffee/tea in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel that was close to Union Square.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The complimentary wine in the evening and the complimentary breakfast in the morning for the people staying on The Club Level.
Cons: New carpet in the common areas.
Location: Lots to do! Walk to Union Square and Market Street. A $10 cab ride to the Embarcadero and Fisherman's Wharf.
The hotel was close to lots of San Francisco attractions. Loved the bedding, very comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Bay Area

Friendly staff, beautiful boutique hotel.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Unique boutique feel, cleanliness, friendly staff, gorgeous staircase, proximity to many activities, no hassle parking.
Cons: We should have stayed longer. :-)
Location: Union Square shopping, ice skating, Biscuits and Blues, The View at the Marriott was amazing, quick taxi ride to Beach Blanket Babylon and other shows
Pulled up out front to friendly valet, with a much appreciated promise to take special care of the car. :-) Check in staff made sure to ask if we had any special needs and were very accomodating for 2 queen beds request. Room was beautiful with the extra bed in a separate area...almost a room to itself. Beds were comfortable, and very clean. Jonathan was especially helpful on check in, showing all the amenities provided in the room, including luxurious leopard print robes for lounging. How fun! So appreciated that the cost of parking was until 3:00, so on check out day we could do some shopping and wandering around nearby Union Square before leaving the city. Great proximity to Biscuits and Blues around the corner. I hear we missed a wine tasting in the evening due to our other plans...Will have to stay again to check that out! What a wonderful time. Enjoyed lounging with complimentary iced tea or lemonade while we waited for the valet to bring the car. Definitely would stay again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Fantastic staff, amazing location

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff, the beds, the club level facilities, the location.
Location: Union square is about 2 mins away, cable car stop, Chinatown, 5 mins or so to Market St, Belden Pl about 10 mins away.
We were in San Fran for a 5 day break following a conference in another city. We had found and booked the Prescott through Expedia. The location of this hotel is amazing, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We upgraded to a suite on the Club Level for our final 2 nights which allowed us access to the club level cocktail reception and continental breakfast. The suite itself was beautiful, spacious and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Overall, this hotel is great value for money for central San Fran, We love this hotel and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very sweet hotel with lovely staff.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Everything was wonderful. Bed was squeeky but all was clean and staff very friendly...they even checked us is early.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Manassas VA

Not your standard kimpton

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful
Cons: Hotel isn't up to Kimpton standards needs renovation
The hotel staff was fabulous, but the hotel lacked the standards I'm use to seeing at Kimpton facilities. We booked king ended up with queen because of room shortages.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

Definitely not a 4 Star Hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The staff are very friendly,helpful, professional and know their information.
Cons: Please see notes around the overall experience.
Location: Great location with a walk to lots of restaurants and shops.
Overall the experience was disappointing. I stayed at the Francis Drake around the corner just twelve months ago and the Prescoot is so far behind in standards its hard to understand why they both share a 4 Star Rating. The Prescott is by no means a 4 Star Hotel. The hotel is old and run down, scuffed walls, dirty looking carpet in the room. It is in need of a major make over. Our room was very small, the bathroom is ridiculously small. The room was not cleaned properly, bathroom floor was not mopped or carpet vacumed properly, beds not made well. There are no facilties for In Room Dining. Water pressure in the shower was initially totally inadequate so we asked to have it looked at and it was fixed promptly. Toiletries do not include a shower cap. We also had to ask for the toiletries to be replenished once we used them. There is no Hotel Directory. We were charged $1 for a local call where most hotels do not charge for local cals.