Ratings based on 1,503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great place, but needs coffee in room!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness/ambience
Cons: Coffee in room
Location: SHOPPING and EATING!
Everything about the hotel was great. They do clean the room everyday and very well. Room was extremely clean with nice amenities. Only problem....no coffee maker in the room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel in central location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, room and most of the staff.
Cons: The attitude of the woman staff member mentioned above on our second day.
Location: Location perfect for all our needs - Union Square, shopping, Ferry Terminal (we went to Saulcilito)
Location was excellent. One disappointment however: > I had contacted the hotel before leaving NZ to request an extended stay (as our international flight was not leaving until the evening). The hotel (or expedia...not sure) - did not respond. > I requested again on our sign in to be told that this could "only be arranged on the day in question - but as there was a light loading we should be ok". The staff on this occasion were very pleasant. > So on the next day, we made our request only to be told that the hotel was "fully booked and that we would need to leave by 12pm". The manner in which this was delivered was very unpleasant so we insisted and finally this staff member relented. This event did spoil our otherwise pleasant stay at the Prescott.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cherry Hill, NJ

Great location in the city.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The staff was pleasant and very helpful.
Cons: I guess having breakfast included would be nice but we made out okay with the Walgreens down a few blocks.
Location: Union Square and tours are close by. There is a mall 3 blocks away which we visited almost every day.
It was a perfect location in the city. Next time we might skip the rental car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Hi Sherri, Thank you for your review and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to San Francisco. Kindly, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Comfortable well located hotel near Union Square.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See Above
Location: Right near Union Square so theaters, and much shopping are within easy walking distance, as well as Market St
This hotel used to have an excellent restaurant attached. Now it has no restaurant and no room service. If you don't want room service ever it is a nice hotel with restaurants nearby, but I sometimes like room service. The Club level serves coffee so I brought that back to the room but of course had to get dressed to do it. The in room safe was so high in the closet I could not reach it, so could not use it. So if you are short don't take room 424. I asked the steward not to stock the snacks that weren't locked by key, so I would not be tempted and he told me if he did that I would be charged each day. That was annoying. I normally really like Kimpton hotels. This is the first time I did not like one. But the hotel itself was lovely, clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful( except about the unlocked snacks)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Union Square but.......

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Close to Union Square.
The toilet in the room did not flush properly; informed the staff but it didn't get fixed. The carpet in the room should have been cleaner. The public rest rooms were poorly maintained. Would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good price Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I stayed at this hotel 3 times. Its location is fantastic, near Union Square and I think in terms of price, it's most value for money compared to the rest of the near by hotels. Room are reasonably comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Great stay! The staff was friendly and we had a good time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother staying there.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A room bigger than a closet
Nice enough hotel, but there was supposed to be a continental breakfast and that did not exist. The rooms are small and the bathroom is pretty much at the foot of the bed. Too much money for very little value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the hub of San Francisco

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Loved that we could walk everywhere (to shopping, train, bus, cable cars). It was in a safe area and had lots of character. Was a bit pricey though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
It is a small hotel and very comfortable. Friendly staff who are very attentive. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Hi Traveler, Thank you for your review and the mention that you felt our staff was very attentive. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, General Manager