Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gloria from Chicago

3 days in San Francisco

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: D├ęcor - rugs and suite couches. Breakfast offering.
Location: Cable car to Ferry Building walk Embarcadero to Coit Tower. Jump on buses to Presidio, Golden Gate State Park. Walk GG Bridge & Japanese Tea Garden.
The hotel staff is amazing from front desk, to concierge, to doormen, to the breakfast desk. The breakfast needs a lot of improvement as far as fresh fare from the kitchen - the pancakes and sausage leaves a lot to be desired. Location is excellent as you jump on a cable car to the Ferry Building - which has great breakfast places. Many buses are accessible from the hotel and I found getting around this city easy from this location. Walking is also great but the hills are a challenge if you are not in shape - hence jump on the cable car. The room was clean and quiet, however I think the rugs in the hotel need updating. I will come back because the staff is so amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stanford Court Hotel, San Francisco

Posted Sep 2, 2013
This was our third visit to the Stanford Court in 8 years and it is obvious that the property ownership has changed. We were very disappointed to see that the quality of our stay was not as expected from the two previous visits. We had problems with our check-in (though we called one week out and 24 hours out to confirm). The rooms no longer provide a mini-bar. Hall carpeting was filthy. There is only one ice machine in the hotel - on the first floor. No longer a restaurant on premises, so no room service. The lobby ATM machine was down the 4 days we were there- we were directed to the ATM at the Fairmont Hotel nearby. We looked forward to staying at the Stanford Court on this trip but our next vacation in San Francisco will have us at another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Galina from Dubai, UAE

Excellent location & comfortable room, service ok

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: location, comfortable and clean room, Concierge very helpful
Cons: service at the reception
Location: cable car, Powell str., Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Golden Gate Park & the bridge, the Market str.
The location of the hotel is very convenient and if you like walking, the majority of the attraction could be reached in comfy shoes from there. The cable car stops just in front, don't miss a ride, it's a great experience. Arrived after 16 hrs flight and the receptionist couldn't find our reservation (made more than 3 months in advance). Not even an apology, but a statement that it was just entered for the same date a month ago. After 30 min. taken to clarify it and since it was after 4 pm by then, we were checked into a handicapped room. The bathroom there wasn't appealing at all, so I had to contact the reception again and ask to change the room. Being in the hotel business for more than 10 years and knowing that mistakes could occur, made me stay calm, but the explanation with the wrong date entry wasn't welcomed, as I'm aware that my card would have been charged, or at least we would have been contacted, as we didn't arrive on the so reserved date... Not a nice first impression about the service at the front desk... The rooms are comfortable and kept clean. Wifi is free of charge. Overall, it's a nice place to stay for a few nights, whilst exploring the city. If booking online, better give them a call to confirm they are holding the reservation (although it says no need to call to reconfirm).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Washington

Very clean and everyone was very nice

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: friendly and clean
Location: It was a very long walk to the wharf but there is a trolly back to the hotel that drops you off right in front!!!
Got checked in 3 hours early they upgraded us for free. Very friendly staff very clean hotel and bed was comfortable. I left a bracelet accidently and they are mailing it to me. No complaints!!! We will be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good Experience

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Had a great view of the bay from our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful with a last minute dinner reservation. Valet car service was timely and excellent with directions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from California

Gorgeous Room

Posted Jul 6, 2013
My favorite room so far of all my stays in San Francisco. Beautifully decorated, which made up for the fact that our view was the other part of the hotel - all concrete. Yes, the hills are especially steep around the hotel if you are going to do some walking, but it's a workout. Raoul was especially helpful when we arrived, but all personnel were very friendly. The hotel has a good, upbeat "feel" to it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Yorker in NJ

Only OK When Awesome is Attainable

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Cons: they need to update the hallways and lobby and include wifi and coffee/pastry.
Location: the hotel is central to many things.
In SF there are many great downtown choices that can knock your socks off. For the money (if you include everything), there are hotels with newer/nicer facilities and breakfast and/or wifi included. This hotel is fine so I wouldn't stress out if I ended up there again but I would never seek it out. The hallways are dated. There is no mini bar in the room. The hotel is a square a city-block long and wide so if your room is opposite the elevator, you can be walking very far to get to it. The room was comfortable and I had a bit of a view, but not worth the effort. It is across the street from the tonga room and next door to top of the mark (both at other hotels) but that is a nice feature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, ma

Bright, clean hotel, modern bathroom

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Shuttle to airport was convenient and inexpensive, reserve at desk
Cons: On our 2nd to last day, we returned to the room at 10 pm after 9 hrs out, only to find the room had not been cleaned. Other guests complained of same
Location: Very near Powell St trolley stop
Good location, helpful staff for newcomers to SF, wish we had known about free breakfast our first day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by D&D from USA

be aware of add-ons

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel and would recommend staying. Cities hotels are notorious for 'extras' and this one is no exception; valet parking, breakfast and internet made for a more than expected stay. Nob Hill Cafe a couple of blocks away for great Italian food in a relaxing atmosphere. SF Playhouse a few blocks away; a great small 200 seat theater.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great hotel with great staff

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
stayed here for the sf marathon. the room was clean, spacious, and had all the amenities we needed. only downside was the shower didnt drain. I needed safety pins and the concierge quickly had then sent to the room. the concierge also had a fantastic breakfast recommendation. I would stay here again. the hotel is on a super step hill, but good area with fantastic restaurants.