Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Value for money!!!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Run down and cheap looking 3 storey building facade but that's almost all that is negative (and negligible - how much are you paying anyway?) about this place. Decent security with card access up lift and stairs. Cosy and homely feel. Rooms are very much unexpectedly well maintained and newly renovated, everything is working fine including shower, wifi and furnishings are rather new - fridge, hair dryer and the room space is good. Reception staff may appeared unapproachable and unfriendly but actually rather helpful and sincere and knowledgeable. Area may look unsafe with plenty of beggars lurking around in the surrounding streets but they are just homeless and harmless poor folks. Should not be a problem even for single female traveller as they do not harass passerbys for money. Walkable from BART station at civic centre and a short 5min walk to market street - plenty of transport options and buses. Line F street car takes u down to Castro at one end and Fisherman's Wharf at the other. A worthy choice of stay if you are visiting San Francisco!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I think I would stay again. Location wasn't the best but not bad .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by weewweewwin1

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Morro Bay, CA

Nice and cheap

Posted Jun 15, 2014
For the price it is a nice stay. Yes, it's in a seedy location, so you wouldn't really want to walk around at night. Unless you get the urge to score some crack, then it's the perfect location! Seriously though, my husband and I and our 3 kids including an infant stayed here with last minute reservations and it was fine; centrally located, cheap, clean, safe and secure (for the most part). We walked around a bit during the day with no problems. I would suggest watching your step though! We tried the Ethiopian food around the corner that had good reviews on yelp, it was as expected; tasty, healthy and a clean facility. Traveling to the city on a budget, I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by Wendy

For travellers on a budget

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Located in a dingy neighbourhood. Abysmal exterior and elevator. The interior of the room was actually better than expected considering the exterior. Amenities were provided. Bed was comfortable. Stayed 3 nights with a friend. On the third night, I flipped over my pillow and found a pillbug on it. I squished it and flushed it down the toilet, praying to god it was the only one. San Francisco is a ridiculous city in terms of real estate prices. Decent hotels cost a fortune and this is probably the best deal for a budget of under $200/night, without having shared washrooms in hotels of similar price range in slightly safer areas. Not recommended to stay alone at this hotel/motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Shenzhen, China

Fine hotel in downtown

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Clean room, clean bathroom, easy friendly checkin
Cons: Nothing
Location: Middle of it all. Several dive bars with good west coast microbrews, civic center food trucks, close to all transit.
One of the better hotels I've stayed at in the Civic Center area. In the middle of everything. Very clean, modern rooms. Some reviewers are squeamish about the area (homeless, etc), but that's life in the city and was absolutely no problem for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the Price

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Gated parking area
Location: Close enough to Moscone center where I was working.
The hotel was good for the price. The staff was excellent, very accommodating. The hotel is in an area that some homeless people hang out and sleep. The hotel staff warned about leaving any belongings in vehicles as they may be broken into by less fortunate people. Overall the hotel worked out well for me as I was at work all day and only slept there at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chris from PA

Great value

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great no frills hotel. It was clean and had all the required essentials. They let me check in early and check out late. Hd TV with a ton of channels. Are there homeless people around? Sure, but it's SF, they're everywhere. They didn't bother me at all. Would definitely stay here again, great value in a centrally located part of town close to BART
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Silvana P. from Dallas

Great location but super noisy

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small room, clean, updated, great location, parking (you pay extra) but too much noise. We couldnt sleep.