Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Cheap (by San Francisco standards) place to sleep

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: location and cheap (by San Francisco standards) price
Location: You can walk or take buses to Fisherman's wharf, Union Square, Golden Gate Park, anywhere.
Front office clerk was pleasant and helpful with his demeanor. The residence is old, reminded me of the Bates Motel. Positive points: walking distance to Union Square, easy to jump on buses to get anywhere in the city. I see other reviews c/o homeless people, but the homeless population is everywhere in San Francisco where the tourists reside. Never had a problem with them, ever. Even when walking at night going back to the motel. So would recommend this place if you are going to be out and about all day in a conference and need a clean bed to sleep at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Value for money!!!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Run down and cheap looking 3 storey building facade but that's almost all that is negative (and negligible - how much are you paying anyway?) about this place. Decent security with card access up lift and stairs. Cosy and homely feel. Rooms are very much unexpectedly well maintained and newly renovated, everything is working fine including shower, wifi and furnishings are rather new - fridge, hair dryer and the room space is good. Reception staff may appeared unapproachable and unfriendly but actually rather helpful and sincere and knowledgeable. Area may look unsafe with plenty of beggars lurking around in the surrounding streets but they are just homeless and harmless poor folks. Should not be a problem even for single female traveller as they do not harass passerbys for money. Walkable from BART station at civic centre and a short 5min walk to market street - plenty of transport options and buses. Line F street car takes u down to Castro at one end and Fisherman's Wharf at the other. A worthy choice of stay if you are visiting San Francisco!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I think I would stay again. Location wasn't the best but not bad .
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Not happy about them from Baltimore

Do not go there

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lot of noise from other rooms, the guy in the reception room was sleeping all the time. You have to knock the the door several times so that he will open it. The area is not safe, he will tell you that we do not guarantee any thing regarding the safety of your car in the parking lot
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CPS from SF

Decent overall

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bad surrounding neighborhood, homeless all around. Strong smell of urine in parking lot. Can be pretty loud in the evening and at night, especially on the weekends (had to turn room fan out to drown out the noise). Parking situation is good, staff is friendly and accommodating. Wifi is mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by G. Oriente from Brazil

Fantastic service

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quality of service
5 out of 5
Recommended
by weewweewwin1

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Morro Bay, CA

Nice and cheap

Posted Jun 15, 2014
For the price it is a nice stay. Yes, it's in a seedy location, so you wouldn't really want to walk around at night. Unless you get the urge to score some crack, then it's the perfect location! Seriously though, my husband and I and our 3 kids including an infant stayed here with last minute reservations and it was fine; centrally located, cheap, clean, safe and secure (for the most part). We walked around a bit during the day with no problems. I would suggest watching your step though! We tried the Ethiopian food around the corner that had good reviews on yelp, it was as expected; tasty, healthy and a clean facility. Traveling to the city on a budget, I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by Wendy

For travellers on a budget

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Located in a dingy neighbourhood. Abysmal exterior and elevator. The interior of the room was actually better than expected considering the exterior. Amenities were provided. Bed was comfortable. Stayed 3 nights with a friend. On the third night, I flipped over my pillow and found a pillbug on it. I squished it and flushed it down the toilet, praying to god it was the only one. San Francisco is a ridiculous city in terms of real estate prices. Decent hotels cost a fortune and this is probably the best deal for a budget of under $200/night, without having shared washrooms in hotels of similar price range in slightly safer areas. Not recommended to stay alone at this hotel/motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com