Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I think I would stay again. Location wasn't the best but not bad .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Morro Bay, CA

Nice and cheap

Posted Jun 15, 2014
For the price it is a nice stay. Yes, it's in a seedy location, so you wouldn't really want to walk around at night. Unless you get the urge to score some crack, then it's the perfect location! Seriously though, my husband and I and our 3 kids including an infant stayed here with last minute reservations and it was fine; centrally located, cheap, clean, safe and secure (for the most part). We walked around a bit during the day with no problems. I would suggest watching your step though! We tried the Ethiopian food around the corner that had good reviews on yelp, it was as expected; tasty, healthy and a clean facility. Traveling to the city on a budget, I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by Wendy

For travellers on a budget

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Located in a dingy neighbourhood. Abysmal exterior and elevator. The interior of the room was actually better than expected considering the exterior. Amenities were provided. Bed was comfortable. Stayed 3 nights with a friend. On the third night, I flipped over my pillow and found a pillbug on it. I squished it and flushed it down the toilet, praying to god it was the only one. San Francisco is a ridiculous city in terms of real estate prices. Decent hotels cost a fortune and this is probably the best deal for a budget of under $200/night, without having shared washrooms in hotels of similar price range in slightly safer areas. Not recommended to stay alone at this hotel/motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Shenzhen, China

Fine hotel in downtown

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Clean room, clean bathroom, easy friendly checkin
Cons: Nothing
Location: Middle of it all. Several dive bars with good west coast microbrews, civic center food trucks, close to all transit.
One of the better hotels I've stayed at in the Civic Center area. In the middle of everything. Very clean, modern rooms. Some reviewers are squeamish about the area (homeless, etc), but that's life in the city and was absolutely no problem for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the Price

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Gated parking area
Location: Close enough to Moscone center where I was working.
The hotel was good for the price. The staff was excellent, very accommodating. The hotel is in an area that some homeless people hang out and sleep. The hotel staff warned about leaving any belongings in vehicles as they may be broken into by less fortunate people. Overall the hotel worked out well for me as I was at work all day and only slept there at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Guy (MacParrot) from DC

Nice room in a not so nice part of town.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Clean room and bathroom. Great WiFi
Cons: Maybe gates to protect vehicles in the parking lot at night
Location: About 5-6 blocks from the Moscone Convention center. Nice little diner and bakery across the street. Nothing too far away with either a cab or Uber
From the outside, the Rodeway Inn doesn't look like much and the neighborhood it sits in can be scary, but it was exactly what I needed. A clean room to crash in after a busy day. The room I had was well appointed with a nice TV, microwave oven, a table to work at, and probably the best WiFi I've experienced at a SOMA hotel in the eight years I've been coming to San Francisco. I downloaded the Hobbit part 2 from iTunes at a decent speed. The homeless in the area did get loud one night enough for the cops to arrive however and it's impossible to keep them out of the hotel's parking lot. TIP: Don't leave anything valuable in your car overnight. For what was charged, this hotel was a bargain and I will certainly consider staying here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheapest hotel in the city but..

Posted Feb 16, 2014
This hotel was great. It was very clean and moderately nice for the price. The only major downfall was the area it was in. We were hearing voices all throughout the night and even witness a car break-in directly downstairs. So great hotel but very unsafe area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trollie from Warchester, Massachusetts

The most exclusive of all 5 star hotels.

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: The dolphin fountains.
Cons: The 5 star breakfast could have less gourmet food, it was overwhelming delicious.
Location: One question: Did I just walk into El Dorado?
Indulgence, Opulence and Decadence. The luxury is incredulous, the atmosphere is nothing but breathtaking, and the room; one word: Palatial. When I wasn't sipping on a glorious glass of the finest wine, I was admiring the amazing view of city life around me. Never once did I think that I was in a hotel, I thought I had to be in some hidden castle in the shires of ancient Europe with only the softest linens and jewels surrounding me. The staff was impeccable and the lush life around me would make me stay there forever. Thank you Rodeway inn, if it wasn't for your wonderful valet service I wouldn't have felt as secure as I did. Never, ever will I forget the beautiful and welcoming city folk that I encountered adjacent to the location. Once again, thank you for the most marvelous experience any person on earth or heavens or space could have asked for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rodeway Inn Downtown

Posted Jan 28, 2014
The place is ok. They are remodeling and painting and trying to spruce the place up. The neighborhood is a little shady. Though within the walking distance to a lot of attractions and public transportation.
3 out of 5
by Ray

Close for Comfort

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
I stayed for 1 night close for comfort but terrifying. Homeless hangouts, lot's of noise since it is situated in the corner of a main street. Lot's of homeless hangging around so it is scary at times especially at night. Parking is terrible not a whole lot of parking and you have to pay $15.00 for a non guarantee spot.