Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

OK place to stay, nothing special

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The ease of check in
Cons: the noise. and cleaner rooms
The hotel was quite noisy when trying to sleep even with all windows closed. Room was pretty nice at first sight but had long hair in sink and tub.. Kinda gross. Also I couldnt get the TV to work the whole weekend and no one was at the desk when I walked down to ask. I was expecting worse than I got actually so I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose

Acceptable hotel for a quick overnight stay.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The price.
Cons: The surrounding area was a little sketchy and very noisy but the hotel couldn't have done anything about that.
Location: The hotel is walking distance to the tenderloin.
We needed to get a hotel for the night in San Francisco and it was the cheapest we could find. It did the trick for the quick trip but I wouldn't have wanted to stay there anymore than one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Cheap (by San Francisco standards) place to sleep

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: location and cheap (by San Francisco standards) price
Location: You can walk or take buses to Fisherman's wharf, Union Square, Golden Gate Park, anywhere.
Front office clerk was pleasant and helpful with his demeanor. The residence is old, reminded me of the Bates Motel. Positive points: walking distance to Union Square, easy to jump on buses to get anywhere in the city. I see other reviews c/o homeless people, but the homeless population is everywhere in San Francisco where the tourists reside. Never had a problem with them, ever. Even when walking at night going back to the motel. So would recommend this place if you are going to be out and about all day in a conference and need a clean bed to sleep at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by uhfrom San Francisco

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lots of homeless but they are harmless. Mostly good folks with bad luck. Surprised how nice the hotel was being an inner-city hotel. Way too expensive though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Affordable accommodation close to downtown

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Certainly nothing fancy but clean rooms and friendly staff. Pretty noisy from the surrounding streets, so earplugs required at night.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephanie Lukefrom San Jose, CA

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
After seeing the pictures of the hotel here, I already knew what I was in for. The only reason why I booked this hotel is because it is walking distance from AsiaSF. A couple weeks before my stay, I had upgraded to a 2 bed room. Upon checking in, the concierge told me that they only had the original room I booked available. Although it was only a $23 upgrade, I was still unsatisified that the upgrade didn't go through. Hotels.com was able to provide me with a credit due to the mix up but Roadway Inn itself is a dump. We were woken up at 7am with road construction going on across the street, the AC was extremely loud and the room was incredibly small. Only stay here if you're planning on going to AsiaSF and are wearing uncomfortable heels. Otherwise, stay away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Susannahfrom Oakland

Recommended!

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, easy access to public transit to anywhere in the city. A perfectly acceptable hotel for the price, given it's convenient location. We stayed here for Outsidelands and it was exactly what we needed - just a place to sleep comfortably in a spot that's safe and easy to get to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Renitafrom Trinidad & Tobago

Satisfactory

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Considering that hotels in San Fran are overpriced this was good enough. I had a double room which I found a bit small for two people. I was by myself and found it appropriate for one person. The management was helpful and polite which I appreciated.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Duanefrom San Francisco

Did not stay there

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff rude very accusatory And 200 deposit so I did not stay there very disappointed but did stay
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com