Ratings based on 1,943 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Centrally located hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: This is a luxury hotel which provides all the facilities and services expected of such an establishment.
Location: See above.
Although a full service hotel which means higher cost, the Marriott Marquis is well located in the CBD offering easy access to all that one would want on either a business trip or for pleasure. The hotel can be busy in the lobby area due to the number of conferences hosted at the hotel or nearby but this is not a problem as the staff of the hotel are well versed in looking after its guests. For the traveller, the concierge should be the first stop to gain local insight into what is happening in the city, recommendations on what to see and do and for making bookings. Of course, a visit to the 39th floor is a must to take in magnificent views of the city during both the day and night. The food, drink and service at this venue is first class. The rooms are very comfortable and well serviced by very pleasant staff. The hotel has an indoor pool and spa which is quite rare for a hotel in San Francisco. Adjacent to these facilities is a well equipped gymnasium.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Graeme, Thank you for your detailed review and recommendation! We are so thrilled to hear that you loved our hotel and that you had such a fantastic time! We look forward to welcoming you again the next time your travels bring you back to San Francisco. Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Way overpriced, very dated building and room.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
We paid about $400+US per night and we could have got a better room at half the price. The room was very dated. Customer service staff however were very friendly and the room was clean. Parking was ridiculous at $64 per night also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear DG Australia, We appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions of your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to hear you enjoyed your interaction with your friendly hosts and your guestroom was spotless. On the other hand, we are very sorry to hear you are disappointed with our décor as we just completed a rooms “rejuvenation” last year. All full service hotels in San Francisco charge for valet parking and we are continuously monitoring our pricing to make sure we are in line with comparable hotels in our market. We do hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to our City by the Bay! Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Sep 14, 2014
The staff at this hotel are amazing! Very friendly and always there to help! By far the best hotel I've ever stayed at!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Wow…What a fabulous review! We appreciate the 5-star review and your glowing comments regarding our hosts. We look forward to your next stay! Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey

Confusing Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: It was clean, and the staff was great.
Cons: The layout.
Location: We walked to AT&T park to see the Giants play. This was a reason for choosing this hotel. If you like to walk, there are many areas you can visit.
The lobby felt huge and impersonal, much like an old fashion train station with everyone running around. It was very uninviting. There are three different kinds of elevators, low rise, mid rise, and hi rise. If you want to go to the bar/restaurant on top, you have to look around for the correct elevator, and they were hard to find. They are in different places, not together. It's like a maze, or a mystery hunt. I would not stay there again. The staff was very, very, nice, and this is no reflection on them. I'd stay somewhere else with them, anytime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Wren, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear your arrival and the hotel décor did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback; as we are always looking for ways to further improve our facilities and services. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a memorable experience. We hope the next time you’re in the area you will consider staying with us once again. Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

Great hotel in perfect downtown location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: I loved the location.
Location: Chinatown, union square, easy access to public transportation to embarcadero and fisherman's wharf
Very helpful staff, however, the hotel is huge and has a lot of guests. There was a line to everything, from checking in to dropping off our bags for storage and to get into the elevator. It was a bit impersonal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear SallyL., We appreciate your 5-star review and selecting our hotel for your San Francisco experience! It was so pleasing to hear our location was the perfect starting point with sights just steps from our door and public transportation nearby for those attractions just beyond. We understand that no one likes to wait in lines and we try our very best to ensure proper staffing based on our occupancy. We are sorry to say that we missed the mark during your stay and apologize for your inconvenience. We strive every day to make sure each guest has a brilliant experience. We look forward to your return for another San Francisco adventure! Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis CA

Great Hotel near shopping and convention center

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Clean well designed room, nice view from the room and a really nice view from the top floor lounge. The pool and fitness center were nice.
Cons: Parking is really expensive at $62 a night, I think hotel guests should get a break.
Location: Moscone convention center and lots of shopping.
Clean well appointed room was ready earlier than expected. Staff was very helpful and friendly and check in was quick and easy. Nice indoor pool and fitness center were great hotel amenities. Perfect location was a short walk to Moscone convention center and shopping from high end to budget stores. This is important with parking being what it is in San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location and nice stay

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Cons: The View bar and Valet Parking were both exorbitantly expensive. We paid it because the service was good but it was deffinately overpriced.
The staff were all extremely helpful and kind. Check-in and out were seamless and although the hotel is huge we felt very well looked after. Great location near the Powell BART/MUNI/Street Car sation for public transport. Walking distance to AT&T Park. Target and Starbucks across the street for anything you might have forgotten. Rooms were standard without anything notable pro or con to say. Satisfied with all aspects of our room and stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Quite, clean, efficiency services as for checking in/out, providing tourist and transportation guides.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, cable car, etc.
Center of the city. Close to Union Square. Convenient for going to any interesting sites for visitors such as Fisheman's Wharf, China Town, for instance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Cons: I wish Hotels these days would not charge for Wi-Fi it is free in the common areas so why not make it free throughout the entire hotel.
A very nice hotel which is close to a lot of the amenities San Francisco has to offer, perfect location for the BART and downtown shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Super nice hotel with many stores and restaurants

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Nice shops nearby, good restaurants for different tastes, very friendly employees and confortable rooms.