Ratings based on 1,982 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Inverness, IL

Conference stay at great location.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Great location, near Union Square, Theater, Restaurants and Shopping.
Cons: More dining options during lunch.
Location: Good walking distance from many sites: Cable Cars, Chinatown, Union Square.
Large conference facility so many groups choose the Marriott Marquis. The rooms are OK. The lounge/restaurant option in the lobby is OK but service slow. In a city like San Fransisco, you could do better. I would stay here again if I get a room for less than $200 a night. Otherwise, better values exist in San Fransisco.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Business Conference Center Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Room and bed were comfortable.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi access should be provided just like the nearby Courtyard Marriott.
Location: Location is central and convenient.
Hotel did not provide sufficient value or amenities given the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Gregory, Thank you for review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our ideal location and comfy guestrooms. We try to put as much information about our hotel on our website so that our guests will be able to anticipate their stay. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our lobby area for our guests. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you back to San Francisco. Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location in the city.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The View Grill. Room, Staff.
Location: Location Location. Street Cars, Cable Cars right nearby. Good eats, etc.
Great service and location. One block from turn around of Cable Car and 1/2 block from Street Cars. Front desk manager was very welcoming. Hotel itself is NOTHING to write home about. Cookie Cutter lobby, etc. The View up top is beautiful and everyone is very cordial. Rooms are very comfortable especially in the high rise tower. Other hotels like Fairmont and Palace are VERY GRAND and worth visiting amongst others, however the rate we received on this hotel was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Vincent, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value and location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff. Lovely view of the city and Bay Bridge. Great location.
Location: Great location. Close to Union Square. Across the street from Target, Starbucks and a movie theater.
Extremely helpful, courteous and pleasant staff. Needed a late checkout after an athletic event. Staff was extremely accommodating. Always felt comfortable and safe. Room was very clean. Mixture of travelers - business, families and athletes in town for a sporting event.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Great location!
Great Location for shopping and dinning. The room size is pretty good. The staff is very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Happy Traveler, Thank you very much for staying at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and sharing your wonderful review. Our location is definitely perfect for enjoying the sights, shopping and fine dining of San Francisco. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco. Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Great location and decent prices will definitely recommend and come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation! We can't wait to welcome you back. Kind regards, The San Francisco Marriott Marquis Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Dark depressing rooms

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The staff and buffet breakfast
Cons: Room lighting. Warn guests when they are booking that they will not have a room with a window facing outside the building.
Location: Excellent location. Walk to best shops & malls. 15 minute walk to the bay.
Make sure you book a room above the 11th floor in the tower, otherwise you will get a dark room with depressing view of the services side of the building, or even worse, look into the interior of the building. The lighting in the rooms is abysmal. The staff are very good, and the breakfast buffet is good. The shower roses are terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis during your recent visit to the Bay Area. We realize you have many lodging options available to you when traveling and we appreciate you choosing Marriott. We want to provide a flawless experience for all our guests and we truly appreciate your feedback, so we may continue to improve our services and facilities. Once again, we appreciate your honest and valuable feedback. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Marquis on your next visit to San Francisco. Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Whisky Fest Fun

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Granted early check-in which was really nice after an early morning and long flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us during Whisky Fest 2014! We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We truly appreciate of your perfect 5-star review, and look forward to welcoming back on your next trip to San Francisco. Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, CA

Great view from the window!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Cleanliness of the bathroom.
Location: Golden gate bridge!!
I came here for my office manager's wedding. I enjoyed my stay at their concierge room. I think the only problem I had was with the outlets not working and the condition of the bathroom. However, it was made up very quickly by the housekeeping staff. They are awesome and always willing to help. Thank you for the VIP treatment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Angel, What a joyful reason to visit San Francisco…a wedding celebration! Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We are so delighted your overall stay was enjoyable, especially your interaction with our friendly hosts. As cleanliness is a key priority for us, we are terribly sorry the condition of your guest bathroom did not meet your expectations and happy it was rectified quickly by our housekeeping team. We do hope you choose to stay with us whenever your travels bring you back to San Francisco. Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
I thought the staff was friendly and helpful and the beds were ultra comfortable. Great choice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your interaction with our friendly and helpful hosts and our famous Marriott bedding. Thank you for taking time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis Team