Ratings based on 1,913 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Gracious staff, wonderful environment - you must go to The View for a cocktail!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Very nice, very accommodating. Staff very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Good overall, very central. "City View" room not worth the extra cost (at least ours was on the 6th floor, out of > 30, and only featured a view of the wall of the building across the street).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially our central location. We appreciate your feedback and your comment regarding the “city view” room upgrade will be passed along to our Front Office for review. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! Warm regards, The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Convenient location.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Our family of four- (2 kids under 5) were very comfortable here for three nights. Beds were excellent. Bath tub was fine, will need redoing at somepoint. Pool was too cold for the kids, but we went at night so maybe day was better. Staff was perfect and very helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your family getaway! We are thrilled to hear you all enjoyed your stay especially our comfy beds, and our “perfect” hosts! Thank you for bringing the pool temperature to our attention. Please know the engineering department will be informed. Please come back soon for another San Francisco adventure! Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

waking to the bells

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Cons: Warn guests about the bells from the church
HUGE hotel. Next door is a church. Bells ring prior to mass times. One at 730am. Woke me up. Staff were competent but not overly friendly, especially in Bin 55
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and sharing your experience with us. We strive every day to make sure each guest has a brilliant experience, and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Please know your valuable comments will be shared with the appropriate management team members, so we can learn and improve our services. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown San Fran

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Price!
Location: A lot of shopping and great places to eat!
Nice hotel with a good location. At $400/night I didn't feel the love. Worth about half that if you can not book it for less than that I would look at other options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the City by the Bay! We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel and fantastic location. We conduct price comparisons on a regular basis to ensure we are relatively comparable to hotels in our market. We regret you did not receive the warm and friendly hospitality our hosts are known for. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great location and my room was upgraded to a suite for free!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and for awarding us 5-stars. We are delighted we were able to make your stay more enjoyable by offering you an upgrade. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit San Francisco. Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great stay!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness, comfortable beds.
Cons: Internet could be free. The downstairs restaurant -- Bin 55 -- is very noisy.
Location: Close to many major attractions -- just a couple of blocks from SFMOMA and the cable car.
The SF Marriott Marquis has great staff. Everyone, from the checkin attendant and the wait staff at the hotels restaurants to the parking valets and the staff at the checkout desk, made us feel welcome and care for. The rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable. The View -- a bar/restaurant on the 39th floor of the hotel -- has a beautiful view, delicious drinks and very tasty bar food, substantial enough to be a meal. The hotel is close to tourist attractions and public transportation. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Thank you so much for your glowing review! Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. It was so exciting to learn you were wowed throughout your stay with us…this is the high standard of guest experience we strive to achieve each and every day. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our amazing city. Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views

Posted Aug 16, 2014
I like the hotel but a few things went wrong. I asked for a wake up call and they never called
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting about your recent stay and glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel! However, we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced, and we appreciate your bringing it to our attention. We'll be sure to review it with our team, so that this does not occur in the future. Please come back and see us soon! Best regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Very clean and comfortable hotel. Super close to Union Square, which was great for tour Hop On/Off pick-up. Right in the heart of the shopping district. It was also a quick walk to one of the cable car turn around stops. The staff was very helpful, friendly and attentive. They accommodated our room requests and brought an empty fridge upon request ( if you don't want to use the fridge with the "for purchase" merchandise in it).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Patti, Hotel Management
Dear HR, 5-Stars…Thank you so much! We appreciate you taking the time to share your fantastic review of your stay with us. It was a pleasure to learn our hosts assisted in making this a memorable visit. We look forward to your return for another San Francisco adventure! Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis