Ratings based on 366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Tiny room

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel has a fantastic location but the rooms are extremely small with no room to put a suitcase down and the beds squeek with every move.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

San Remo August 2014

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Overall experience was OK. This hotel is not for anyone that needsĀ a wheel chair. No elevators. Toilets and showers are small. Reception is one flight of stairs up from street level. Rooms are small and cramped. There is a restaurant on the first floor. My room (#30) was right above the kitchen, so it was very noisy until 11:00 PM. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday is trash pickup, so expect to be awakened at 5:30 AM by the garbage truck in the alley outside (crashing bottles and dumping of many trash bins). Now for the good news... Hotel location could not be better. Close to everything. Hotel staff are great. Housekeeping does a great job. Rooms are not air conditioned. Be sure to get a room that has a window to the outside. Interior rooms have windows to the hallways for air circulation. Security is good. No phones, TV's, or refrigerators in rooms. Think of it as a college dorm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NL, Canada

Excellent Stay at the San Remo

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Excellent Hotel in the perfect location. The staff at the San Remo Hotel went above and beyond!!! I felt like I was at home there and I overheard many more quest saying the same thing. The hotel atmosphere is like stepping back in time. I will stay there again!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

We enjoyed the classic San Francisco architecture!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
We had a great time here. The hotel is very well looked after. Like any hotel that is over a century old in a place like San Fran, it's got some interesting idiosyncrasies. The only of these I cared about was that there is a fair bit of street noise outside and if you don't take precautions (the hotel considerately provides ear plugs!), you're likely to be up with this irritating garbage truck that rolls by sometime after 5am. It is NOT one of those cookie-cutter places with corporate decor and highly predictable (monotonous, soulless... choose your adjective) characteristics. It's really different from any hotel we've stayed at before, and that is a GOOD thing. We left home to come to San Francisco to experience something new, after all, and we appreciated that this little place provided it and made it fun. Its location is practically unbeatable. It has shared bathrooms, which are really nicely looked after and accessible, so don't be surprised by such things. We didn't find this a problem at all. We would stay there again. We really liked it, and the staff were uniformly helpful and cheerful with us. I guess it's probably not for anyone who just really needs a hotel that is deadly quiet and really spacious. It's for people with a taste for San Francisco and the novelty that city can bring. We liked it a lot, with only minor reservations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Unique experience

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, decorations as well as the historical background
Very unique experience staying here, didn't mind sharing the showers/washrooms at all. Room was a bit small but manageable, bed itself was comfortable but very noisy. Loved the decorations and the layout of the hotel. Very convenient for walking down to Fisherman's Warf and access to transportation. Will definitely stay at again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

No elevator to help with luggage.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The area and the Fior d' Italia
Cons: What I mentioned above.
It was a quaint place but I can't stay there again. Urine on the water closet floors. No drinking water available after staff left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bronni from Bridgewater, Australia

Quaint, romantic Historical nostalgia.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Charm, old style character, the bath and the friendly staff.
Cons: I can not think of anything I would improve.
Location: The bay is near by and the city bay cars, lovely restaurants, little Italy, Fisherman's wharf, Alcatraz, the Golden Gate bridge and so much more.
Staying at the San Remo is an experience worth trying. With all the charm of old San Francisco this Hotel is like stepping back in time. Reading through the history of its original inhabitants gives you the flavor of a time gone by. It was lovely to eat at the Italian restaurant down stairs, the food and experience was the best I have experienced yet world wide. If only I could dine there every night! Staff were friendly and very helpful with directions and information, going out of their way to make sure you had all that you needed to make your journey away the smoothest it could be. I would love to come back some time soon, the fact that this hotel is situated in a safe and quiet neighborhood was comforting and great for my first time experience in San Francisco. Close to everything you come to experience, I can't wait to return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from Edmonton, Alberta

Great for a short and affordable stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014
We stayed for four nights and the first two were alright. The last two were less so as there is no sound proofing and there were other guests up very late making a considerable amount of noise. I don't blame the hotel for the noise, but the potential for a restless night is something to keep in mind. The building is over 100 years old and is maintained well for it's age. Overall it is kept pretty clean, my only complaint being the shared showers, which though I'm sure are wiped down daily do not seem as though the tile is scrubbed regularly. We didn't hate our time there, but we were happy to be going home after the fourth night. We would stay again if it was just for one night or two, but anything longer and we'll be finding a different venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Nick from Washington DC

Great location and pretty cute

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Location: Steps away from Fisherman's Wharf and about a 15 minute walk to Chinatown (though it's up a heck of big hill).
It's a cosy and cute place in a great location. I didn't miss not having a TV in the room, but the wifi was pretty spotty. That's my only negative thing to say about it, and when I complained, they seemed serious about looking into the issue, so it may not be a valid complaint for much longer. Simple rooms, clean and bright. Comfy pillows. An excellent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cherie from Shawnigan Lake

Unique; A Traditional Gem

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean room; Charming, reasonable rates. If you do not mind sharing a washroom or bathroom facilities this is a great hotel. I would suggest taking earplugs or using the ones they supply as this is an original hotel - ie; you can hear others come using keys to open their bedroom- or go to the washroom at all hours as the walls are thin between bedrooms. ( Like a boarding house back in the day) I would definitely stay here again as it added to the flavor or San Francisco, but be aware rooms are small/ double beds are small and there is no fridge or microwave .