Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Enfield, London

Quaint, old hotel very close to Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Had a great two night stay, very original, very quaint old style hotel. Rooms quite small and shared bathroom but for the originality in San Francisco and so close to Fisherman's Wharf it was great. Preferable to a large inpersonal hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Full of character, great location.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Enjoyed staying at this historic hotel. Be prepared that it's old, so some amenities aren't there such as lifts, and bathrooms are shared, but it's in a great location near fisherman's wharf, Chinatown, downtown and trams. The staff are friendly and the place is well serviced, and overall I'd recommend as a reasonably priced option given other accommodation in such a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama City, FL

Close to Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Location and price were the most positive features.
Cons: Nothing.
For two nights' stay close to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, and Chinatown, the San Remo was a perfect choice for our family of 3. Shuttle service to and from the airport worked flawlessly. The hotel was very close to both a trader Joe's supermarket as well as a Safeway with a great deli. In the hotel, going down the hallway to shower or use the toilet took a little adjustment, but the accommodations were adequate and certainly less expensive than name brand hotels in the area. Would we stay at the San Remo again? Yes, absolutely yes!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Rooms were too small and not sound proof.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: It had character and was clean.
Cons: Door locks working
Location: Great location
Got in late, and tired room was so tiny and near the reception. No room to move and not very private.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherwood Park, AB Canada

Staying in the Past

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Takes you back in time..loved the old world charm, clean, friendly staff, great location. If your light sleeper it may not be the right place for you. We will definitely be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Showing its age.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: near to fishermans warf.
Cons: everything except the service.
Location: all the attractions were nearby, trolly cars, the warf etc.
very small cramped rooms, the pictures on-line are very deceiving, my wife and I found the bed uncomfortable and the heat unbearable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by C Chevaili, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are not a modern Hotel, in fact we take great pride in maintaining the wonderful old world charm of this 1906 Hotel to create an authentic historic experience. We regret to hear you were not comfortable. We have very few days that the heat is unbearable, usually the natural "air conditioning" of the Bay kicks in and the breeze cools down the temperature. There are very few buildings dating from 1906 in San Francisco that have air conditioning. We are fairly close to the Bay and we do get a very refreshing ocean breeze. Some days you may hear the sea lions barking on Fisherman’s Wharf, we are just a short stroll away from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Tiny room

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel has a fantastic location but the rooms are extremely small with no room to put a suitcase down and the beds squeek with every move.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

San Remo August 2014

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Overall experience was OK. This hotel is not for anyone that needs a wheel chair. No elevators. Toilets and showers are small. Reception is one flight of stairs up from street level. Rooms are small and cramped. There is a restaurant on the first floor. My room (#30) was right above the kitchen, so it was very noisy until 11:00 PM. Monday, Wednesday, and Friday is trash pickup, so expect to be awakened at 5:30 AM by the garbage truck in the alley outside (crashing bottles and dumping of many trash bins). Now for the good news... Hotel location could not be better. Close to everything. Hotel staff are great. Housekeeping does a great job. Rooms are not air conditioned. Be sure to get a room that has a window to the outside. Interior rooms have windows to the hallways for air circulation. Security is good. No phones, TV's, or refrigerators in rooms. Think of it as a college dorm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NL, Canada

Excellent Stay at the San Remo

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Excellent Hotel in the perfect location. The staff at the San Remo Hotel went above and beyond!!! I felt like I was at home there and I overheard many more quest saying the same thing. The hotel atmosphere is like stepping back in time. I will stay there again!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

We enjoyed the classic San Francisco architecture!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
We had a great time here. The hotel is very well looked after. Like any hotel that is over a century old in a place like San Fran, it's got some interesting idiosyncrasies. The only of these I cared about was that there is a fair bit of street noise outside and if you don't take precautions (the hotel considerately provides ear plugs!), you're likely to be up with this irritating garbage truck that rolls by sometime after 5am. It is NOT one of those cookie-cutter places with corporate decor and highly predictable (monotonous, soulless... choose your adjective) characteristics. It's really different from any hotel we've stayed at before, and that is a GOOD thing. We left home to come to San Francisco to experience something new, after all, and we appreciated that this little place provided it and made it fun. Its location is practically unbeatable. It has shared bathrooms, which are really nicely looked after and accessible, so don't be surprised by such things. We didn't find this a problem at all. We would stay there again. We really liked it, and the staff were uniformly helpful and cheerful with us. I guess it's probably not for anyone who just really needs a hotel that is deadly quiet and really spacious. It's for people with a taste for San Francisco and the novelty that city can bring. We liked it a lot, with only minor reservations.