Ratings based on 809 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Quant European style hotel in excellent location

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Price, location, atmosphere, down stairs amazing Italian resturant and long bar.
Cons: Love that the wifi is free but connections could be a bit hit and miss. Perfect for keeping touch with those at home but I wouldn't plan on streaming
Location: We walked everywhere. SF is so easy to get around but plan your routes with hills in mind.
17 years since my last stay and pleased that it just as I remembered it. This quant hotel is European style with tiny rooms, shared bathrooms and a walk up so keep that in mind and don't expect it to be the sterile corporate environment of chain hotels. It's history is everywhere from the decor to the art work. It's Victorian in nature. Staff is friendly and helpful. With friendly traveller as its guests rather then uptight tourists. I highly recommend it. I'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Great hotel, close to Wharf

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The hotel was very clean, beds were comfy, the location is perfect, and there is a Trader Joe's right around the corner!
Cons: Nothing. No complaints whatsoever.
Location: The location can't be beat. Close to good restaurants, Pier 39, Fishermans Wharf, cable cars and Alcatraz cruise boarding.
Staff was excellent. Sharing bathrooms is a non-issue...so don't let that deter you from booking at the San Remo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Cozy, comfortable, unique, close to bay

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Enjoyed staying in a hotel that was a little out of the ordinary. Room was beautiful, comfortable, and relaxing. Close to many attractions; North Beach area, Lombard St., the wharves, beaches. I would definitely stay again if I was in San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great location, charming historic hotel!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
So close to Fisherman's Wharf and the Powell-Mason cable car this hotel was perfect for my 4 day stop in SF! My double bedroom with sink was clean and tidy, as were the shared bathrooms. The staff were friendly and I loved the historic charm of the hotel. It was on a quiet street, fairly safe by SF standards, had good security (I was a young, single female travelling alone) and was just half a block from food/pharmacies/entertainment etc. For the price i paid I was happy happy happy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in sanfrancisco!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Stayed in San Francisco for 4 nights at San Remo with my girlfriend whilst we travel! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Bathrooms were a worry as they're shared but they were very clean and there are plenty to go round! Really nice atmosphere in the hotel! Fantastic location! The touristy part is a three block walk down the street the civic centre and everywhere else is also in walking distance if you want to make a day of it! There is a tram stop that goes to the civic centre one block away if you don't fancy the walk anyway! Really enjoyed the stay and would recommend to all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2015
This is a very nice hotel. It feels like you have gone back in time. Great walking distance from Fisherman's Warf
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great little hotel, close to Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: The location is great. The atmosphere is really nice for more mature travellers who like a clean, quiet, quirky place to stay.
Cons: More storage facilities in the room for big luggage.
My sister and I stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed it! The location is great, only two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 and in walking distance to Lombard Street. The staff are really friendly and accommodating. It's clean, quiet and safe. As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are a bit on the small side so it's a bit difficult with big luggage. The toilets and shower rooms are cleaned regularly and there wasn't a lot of waiting time. We didn't have a sink in the room which I think we'd ask for next time. They are now providing teas, coffees and water throughout the day which was great! We'd definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2015
We loved staying at San Remo! I would suggest it to anyone looking for a cozy hotel, with great staff, close to the wharf!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sao paulo, SP

Hotel agradável perto dos principais pontos turist

Posted May 29, 2015
Foi mto bom perto do pier 39 e Firshman e Lombard Street conseguimos fazer vários Passeios somente andando, e pode pegar Ônibus perto do hotel para ir no Golden Gate Park e na famosa ponte Golden Gate Bridge....uma coisa boa é que no último dia fizemos o check in cedo antes de sair do hotel e deixamos as malas na sala do gerente para poder passear mais antes de sairmos de San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Värmland

Missa inte detta hotell

Posted May 26, 2015
Vill ni bo på ett hotell utöver det vanliga så ska ni bo på San Remo :-D