Ratings based on 1,921 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Good place to stay, close to everything

Posted Sep 21, 2014
A good hotel with very professional staff. Great location. Close to many restaurants and shopping area. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Deerfield Beach, Fl.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
The room was pleasant. The only negative we experienced was walking on Taylor St.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our first trip to San Fran and I was disappointed

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Close to Union square. Jasper's Pub, located in the facility, was awesome.
Cons: all previous comments.
Location: Union square was very close.
Understanding that prices are higher in San Fran, I still expected clean, friendly and all amenities...we never did get hand soap the 4 days we were there. We used up the shampoo for hand soap and they would not replenish that either. We didnt get face clothes until the second day. The room was super small!!!! Upon checkout the front desk clerk did not say ONE WORD to me...just charged me the resort fees and slide my paper across the counter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Hotel that used to be beautiful

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Almost everything, outdated, needs complete makeover
Location: Union square, easy transport to anywhere in the city
This hotel used to be part of a famous chain of hotels that possesses various other hotels in San Francisco. If the chain decided to sell it, it is probably that they were not interested in refurbishing it. So the hotel looks like an old hotel, old furniture, scratched walls, outdated decoration. The worst is that they are charging you additional fees for the internet, coffee and gym...fees that you can not refuse. The internet connection is bad. At least the staff is really nice, that saved the trip. However, considering the price and the stars classification, this hotel could be way better. If the company that owns it want to be considered within the best hotels of the city, they will need to close it a while and do the appropriate renovations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Worst hotel I have ever been to.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
First impression was bad seeing the fake reception hall, with all ornaments belonging reply to no specific country or culture, but certainly of a depressive mood. Room is very small with paint peeled off all's and doors. Door of the bathroom hardly closes. The bathroom is too small for being able to move in. CleNliness is not maintained for either the room or the bathroom. Not worth a penny of the room rate paid. A motel room should rate much higher. Truly amazing the number of stars beside the name of this hotel, I wonder on which basis those stars are awarded. Also amazing, how is this structure is able to stand beside other respectful decent hotels we moved to, in the same neighborhood costing the same or even less. Staying there for only one night was a real disaster that ruined our enjoyment of San Fransisco. Would never recommend staying their to any body. I don't really understand why should anyone would ever want to stay there???
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston,SC

Hotel Serrano is great!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Fantastic location and old world charm! Hotel staff warm, helpful and accommodating! Union Square location perfect for walking and proximity to shops, restaurants, theater excellent!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Old and overpriced hotel...but dog friendly.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Stayed here for one night in a "luxury" suite. Reminded me of 1985 Reno casino looking. Very small and old for the price. Nice staff and they allow dogs which I like. For $100/night it would be ok...otherwise be aware of how they define luxury and value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not nice area of town

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Had to pay for wifi. Poor front desk staff but great doormen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Kimpton Hotel Anymore

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We thought it was a Kimpton, but since 1/14 it is'nt anymore, so don't expect the excellence of Kimpton service. And for all that money you should not deserve less.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The hotel is nice and the service was terrific. Room was small but clean and comfortable. However, the number of homeless people on the streets around the hotel was disturbing. The Hilton and other name brand hotels are in the same area and I would not recommend staying in this area to any of my friends.