Ratings based on 2,528 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom la,ca

Right near Union square

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Good location, kind of small, accessible with friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Solid hotel in downtown SF

Posted Mar 21, 2015
I spent six nights at the Serrano. The staff are terrific--courteous, friendly, helpful, and efficient. The place is very clean and located close to all of downtown. The area around the hotel has lots of excellent Indian and Pakistani restaurants, Union Square is a very short walk, and for downtown, the hotel is located close to the Bay Bridge and with easy access to the highway to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Just like you, one of our favorite parts of Serrano is our location-- and the other is having great guests like you come in for a stay! We hope that your 6-day trip gave you plenty of time to enjoy Union Square, visit the Bay Bridge and much more. It’s hard to choose when San Francisco’s has so many great sights. Our favorite sight would be having you check in again, and we hope our dedicated team gave you reason to do just that! We’ll have another 5 star stay waiting for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and quiet

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Great central hotel. Restaurant attached us Also very good
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, When 5 is as high as a review can count, your 5 stars count for a lot! We loved knowing you had a great place to stay with us, and a delicious meal at Jasper’s. It’s what we like to do! You were a 5 star guest in our book and we’d love nothing more than to have you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Comfortable with great food

Posted Mar 21, 2015
This is a great little hotel. Not posh but well done and comfortable. The food is great at Jasper's Corner Tap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Nice hotel, room was good size for SF and it was very clean, although bathroom could use an upgrade. Friendly and helpful staff. Wish there was coffee maker in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Close to transport, shops, Chinatown.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Just overnight stay. On 12 floor corner room. Quiet, very clean, great water pressure in shower, comfortable bed. Lots of space for San Francisco.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Room and bathroom were a bit small but enough for a business traveler. Decent location and food at the restaurant on the first floor was good and not too over-priced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had better

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Inform visitors of the Hotel Charge
Location: Fairly close to BART station.
Ok, for an old hotel. Didn't spend much time in the room as I was there for business, but they gave me a lower level corner room which was noisy at night. The $22.00 "Hotel Charge" was a big shock when checking in. I didn't even have a chance to use the internet, have coffee or read a paper. I will look for other hotels before booking here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Old hotel in a really bad neiborhood, the best feauture the bed and the restaurant downstairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Cons: Bar was loud and had few seats.
Location: A few blocks off Union Square.
Facility was old, maintained ok, needed some renovation. Bathrooms were small and cramped.