Ratings based on 1,794 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
It was great. Would stay here again if visiting SF in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location and the general feel
Cons: There are only two lifts/elevators and while I was there it was rare that both lifts actually worked. Could be just bad luck though
The hotel is just of Union Square and the road it is on leads straight through to Nob Hill and Fishermen's Wharf while Chinatown and the Theatre District are also close by. Therefore everything is in walking distance so long as you can cope with hills, but this is true wherever you are in downtown San Francisco. While not as grand as some hotels I actually prefer these smaller hotels and although the décor is a bit run down it adds to the charm. There is a good bar built into the hotel which has a range of micro brews and also some good food. There is a gym but after hill walking all day there seemed little need to check it out. The room is spacious enough for a city centre hotel with all the facilities you need - with the exception of coffee making facilities in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UTAH

Good downtown SF place to stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Good location, clean comfortable room, quiet
Cons: restaurant
Location: SF theater district and Union square, easy access to freeway and other bay area attractions.
Very nice,comfortable, quick and good service (restaurant one room service was bait lacking).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Nice hotel in the heart of the city. Close to market, union square, soma. Not s luxurious hotel but nice enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Disappointing, tatty & tired hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Location: Hotel is located on the edge of the homeless area (Tenderloin) of San Francisco, and blighted by swarms of homeless people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Ridiculous charges

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The flower displays were nice.
Cons: Better service, please.
After booking our trip on Expedia, we thought our room would be the spacious 2 bed suite we had booked. Instead, it was so tiny, we were tripping over one another. Also, there was this weird Urban Fee of 20 dollars, plus a 50 buck per day fee charged in advance in case you raided the mini-bar. What? Who's going to eat a $6 dollar package of chips when you can walk 500 feet to a deli and buy the same bag for 99 cents? No free Wi-Fi, no extra bottles of shampoo or soap, and they kept putting you on hold when you called downstairs to inquire about anything. The hotel rooms were tiny and less than sanitary. Once, I walked into our hotel and the maid was playing loud music and looking through our items in the bathroom. Nice lobby, though. And for those that say you should have read the fine print on the Expedia form, there was nothing about an urban fee or precharging you for the mini bar items. It was weird.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

not overly impressed, pictures misleading

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location to Westfield mall
Cons: really nothing - the rooms are rather small but cannot fix that
Location: shopping, eateries, entertainment all great
Upon arrival, I was a bit disappointed. The pictures looked a lot better! The rooms were very small, but clean. Guest service at check-in was ok. Best comment I could add - good location to shopping/entertainment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
We’re happy our location was a big hit. We can’t agree more; we love it here too! We are very sorry to hear you weren’t impressed by the size of our rooms and felt our advertised photos were in any way misleading. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. We’re glad you were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of your rooms though, and we hope you’ll consider us the next time you’re in San Francisco. We’d love a chance to win you over!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great Downtown Location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Great downtown location , within walking distance to many attractions and shopping . The free morning coffee / tea and all day flavored water was nice
Cons: No onsite parking , across street parkade expensive .
Location: Hotel is close to shopping and downtown attractions .
Great and fast , friendly , check - in . We had arrived more than 3 hours early prior to check in , but we were pleasantly surprised and pleased that we were able to check in early due to a room being available .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re glad our friendly team was able to accommodate your early check-in. We love pleasing our guests. We’re happy you enjoyed our fantastic location and charming little amenities, like refreshing flavored water and delicious, organic coffee and tea. We’re sorry the local parking rates weren’t to your liking. We hope you still choose Serrano the next time you’re in San Francisco. We’d love another chance to impress!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Perfect Location!!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Old world charm. Beautiful waiting areas.
Location: Walk up the street to the Grand Cafe, the main room needs reservation, but the bar area has plenty of tables and seating arrangements.
The room was comfortable and had a great view of O'farrel Street, great restaurants near by, a great spot to walk about. I will definitely be coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
It sounds like you had a wonderful time in our beautiful city. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay and some helpful tips for future guests. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location and Serrano’s beautiful, historic appeal. We can’t wait until your next visit! We promise to make it even more memorable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with great proximity to Union Square

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Clean room with great view from the corner of the building. Quick check-in and valet was pleasant (albeit expensive, more so than many other parking garage's in the area). Only issue was at 9am the cleaning staff cleaned the room next to us and we could clearly hear the vacuum from our room...not a big issue but certainly woke us up after a long night on the town despite our "Shhhh" door hanger.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review and share your experience. It sounds like you had a fabulous, fun-filled visit to San Francisco. We sincerely apologize for any disturbance you experienced due to our housekeeping team cleaning next door. We wish to be considerate to all our valued guests and provide a wonderful, memorable visit. We’re sorry you found the rate of our valet service not to your liking, but we’re thrilled you were pleased with our friendly faces, ease of check-in, cleanliness, and great view from your corner room. We hope you think of Serrano next time you’re in the area. We would love to see you again!