Ratings based on 1,877 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sydney

Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: No
Location: Located one block from Union Square & restaurants as well as the Tram station. Many upmarket stores close by.
Old hotel however very well maintained. Hotel staff were goodRooms are not big but still a comfortable size. Bathrooms not big, but looked like they were recently renovated. Restaurant very clean with good staff. Had breakfast there a number of times, quite satisfied with quality of food. Location good (although borderline with the less desirable part of town) close to Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Hotel in an Interesting Area!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: As an Expedia VIP member we were given some restaurant discounts, the resort fee was waived and we received free wifi.
Cons: Later food hours in the attached restaurant bar would have been very nice.
Location: The hotel is in the "Tenderloin" which has a reputation for their homeless population. They weren't a problem and there was a lot of security present.
We spent 3 nights in San Francisco and enjoyed this hotel very much! The hotel is very close to the Curran Theatre (3 minute walk) where we saw an amazing production, Buyer & Cellar. We walked the city from here, which we like to
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Union square just 2 blocks away

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The bell hop and door man were my go to people. Helpful, friendly & accommodating.
Cons: Coffee maker in room.
The staff were very pleasant. The rooms clean. Small rooms by comparison to newer hotels but had a lot of old world charm. Bed was comfy, the coffee in the lobby was very good and it's location was 2 blocks from center of union sq. lots of art galleries to look at and plenty of Starbucks nearby. Short walk to cable car or to market street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
the location is amazing, staff are courteous, room is smaller than expected, did not receive my expedia elite upgrade but the staff were accomodating and gave me a late checkout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a few kind words. We couldn’t agree more about our fantastic location, and we love hearing what a great impression our dedicated team made. We are sorry the size of your room didn’t meet your expectations, and we genuinely apologize for any confusion or inconvenience over your elite upgrade. We are happy our team proved accommodating though and were able to meet your request for a late checkout. We really do care about our guests and providing each of them with a wonderful experience. We hope you choose Serrano again. We know we can continue to impress you, in many other areas!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good location. Quiet and good sized room,

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, good breakfast in restaurant.
Cons: Pull out bed in couch was terrible, need more hooks or towel racks for wet towels, and found dust in the corners.
Location: Near financial district, union square, china town.
Great location and overall nice hotel. Parking is unclear and couldn't find any valet when we arrived. We parked in a spot next door and it worked out fine. Hotel is quiet and we had a good size room. The pull out bed for my daughter was terrible. It had giant, uncomfortable springs in it and we had to call for pillows and blankets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your helpful review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our wonderful location and delicious dining, as well as the peace and quiet of our spacious rooms. We do offer convenient, on-site valet services to our guests. We regret our team members not being readily available and greeting you with a smile, as soon as you arrived. That is truly an unusual event, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to it. We also apologize that the corners of your room were not thoroughly cleaned prior to your arrival and we’re deeply sorry you weren’t pleased with the sofa bed in your room. Your comfort and satisfaction are very important to us. We appreciate all your feedback and will take your helpful suggestions, about providing more convenient towel placements options, under careful consideration. We’re delighted to hear that overall your experience was pleasant. The next time you’re heading to San Francisco, we hope you consider us. We’re dedicated to making your next stay even better!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from na

Ok

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Very over priced for what your getting very old hotel rooms are small things are out dated not kept up
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are very sorry you were displeased with the size and condition of your room, as well as other aspects of our hotel that you feel need to be updated. We truly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas we can improve. Your satisfaction is our top priority, as we strive to offer all our guests a wonderful experience. We hope you consider Serrano again. We’d love a chance to prove our worth and leave you feeling more inspired by your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Cons: In addition to the actual hotel rate, quoted on Expedia, the hotel charges a $20 per night facilities fee (urban fee), allegedly for the use of the
In addition to the actual hotel rate, quoted on Expedia, the hotel charges a $20 per night facilities fee (urban fee), allegedly for the use of the gym, business office, etc. I did not notice this fee until after I had booked the room, and I am not sure if the charge was listed before I booked. This fee should be included in the rate listed by expedia, as it must be paid whether the extra facilities are used or not (not in our case). Apart from this the hotel was fine, only complaint is that the elevators were slow, and not able to serve the traffic in the mornings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Jo, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and share your thoughts. We value your feedback and apologize for any confusion over our standard Urban Fee. This fee includes; morning coffee and tea, all day flavored water in reception, morning newspaper, town car service Mon thru Fri mornings to the financial district, unlimited local calls and faxes, boarding pass printing, use of our bicycles, and very fast Wi-Fi. In our experience, guests appreciate one price for all that the fee includes, instead of separate charges for each item. Booking travel can often be a complicated endeavor as you try to compare and price a variety of hotels. It seems in this case you did not see details of the Urban Fee and we will address that. We also apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to heavy elevator traffic during your stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us, as we strive to offer every guest a truly wonderful experience. The next time you’re heading to San Francisco, we hope you consider Serrano. We would love another chance to make you fan!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel-good location

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: reasonable cost, clean and the hotel has a lot of character, not like the big chains.
Cons: The safe didn't work but that is about it.
Location: good location for getting around union square, but a bit far for walking to Fisherman's ward.
Very clean and the staff was very helpful. Walking distance to a lot, but a little far from Fisherman's ward area, but there is plenty of transportation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
We really appreciate your review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our friendly team, clean rooms, terrific value, and unique style and charm. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to a faulty safe in your room. We appreciate the feedback and will look into it. Future guests are sure to appreciate your helpful location tips. Thank you! We hope you enjoyed some of the fantastic things to do near Union Square. The next time you’re in San Francisco, please give us the opportunity to continue to impress you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The hotel was great but the restaurant at the hotel was the worst it took over one hour to get breakfast and I only had one egg and oatmeal the service is very bad I would not eat there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a few kind words about our beautiful hotel. We are very sorry you didn’t enjoy your dining experience at Jasper’s. We appreciate your feedback and will pass it on to their team. Here at Serrano, we would love to see you again. We promise to make your next stay even better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Good location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Convenient, accessible, plenty of shops, easy transport, walking distance to BART station Powell. Numbers of Asian Restaurants at hotel vicinity. I walk to China Town took 20mins
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello James, We love our fantastic, convenient location and are thrilled you do too! Thank you for the great review. The next time you’re heading to town, please think of Serrano. We’d love another opportunity to ensure your comfort, amidst so many of San Francisco’s best attractions!