Ratings based on 1,790 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UTAH

Good downtown SF place to stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Good location, clean comfortable room, quiet
Cons: restaurant
Location: SF theater district and Union square, easy access to freeway and other bay area attractions.
Very nice,comfortable, quick and good service (restaurant one room service was bait lacking).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Disappointing, tatty & tired hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Location: Hotel is located on the edge of the homeless area (Tenderloin) of San Francisco, and blighted by swarms of homeless people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

not overly impressed, pictures misleading

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location to Westfield mall
Cons: really nothing - the rooms are rather small but cannot fix that
Location: shopping, eateries, entertainment all great
Upon arrival, I was a bit disappointed. The pictures looked a lot better! The rooms were very small, but clean. Guest service at check-in was ok. Best comment I could add - good location to shopping/entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great Downtown Location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Great downtown location , within walking distance to many attractions and shopping . The free morning coffee / tea and all day flavored water was nice
Cons: No onsite parking , across street parkade expensive .
Location: Hotel is close to shopping and downtown attractions .
Great and fast , friendly , check - in . We had arrived more than 3 hours early prior to check in , but we were pleasantly surprised and pleased that we were able to check in early due to a room being available .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Perfect Location!!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Old world charm. Beautiful waiting areas.
Location: Walk up the street to the Grand Cafe, the main room needs reservation, but the bar area has plenty of tables and seating arrangements.
The room was comfortable and had a great view of O'farrel Street, great restaurants near by, a great spot to walk about. I will definitely be coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
It sounds like you had a wonderful time in our beautiful city. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay and some helpful tips for future guests. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location and Serrano’s beautiful, historic appeal. We can’t wait until your next visit! We promise to make it even more memorable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with great proximity to Union Square

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Clean room with great view from the corner of the building. Quick check-in and valet was pleasant (albeit expensive, more so than many other parking garage's in the area). Only issue was at 9am the cleaning staff cleaned the room next to us and we could clearly hear the vacuum from our room...not a big issue but certainly woke us up after a long night on the town despite our "Shhhh" door hanger.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

This is NOT a 4 or 5 star hotel. It is a 3.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Mold in bathroom, tiny, not in union square, on outskirts. Staff was fantastic but did not make up for the facility itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Mom and Daughter Weekend

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Convenience to Union Square, personal attention by staff, super comfortable beds.
Arrived early due to flight schedules and staff cheerfully took our bags into storage. Staff was exceptionally pleasant and accommodating. Lobby very comfortable and nice seating areas. Electronic board in lobby to check in with airlines, check local restaurants, etc. Room itself was better than expected; beds very comfortable, lots of pillow selection, minimal outside noise, bathroom small but immaculate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
We are thrilled to hear our accommodations and fantastic team exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your great review and allowing us to help make your mother-daughter weekend extra special. We’re happy you felt so comfortable in our lobby and rooms. It’s nice to have a quiet, clean space (with lots of pillows) to retire to after a fun day out on the town. We’re glad you enjoyed our fantastic, convenient location and our wide range of helpful amenities. We can’t wait for your next getaway weekend. We would love another opportunity to make it memorable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga

Nice hotel in a very good location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The staff was helpful and friendly. I enjoyed the proximity to Union Square. Lots of good restaurants around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We’re thrilled to hear our dedicated team took such good care of you during your stay. We’re glad you appreciated our location and its convenient distance to Union Square. There are so many amazing things to do and see in the area, and of course, delicious places to eat! We hope you come back to San Francisco and stay with us for another wonderful experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff. uk

Good location for sight seeing

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Local hotel tax seemed heavy $20 per night.Free newspaper and coffee in lobby each dsy. 5min walk to tourist info office. Pick up a multi transport pass. 3days cost $23.hop on and off all day long.. Take a shared shuttle bus. This hote isnt listed so wasted alot of time. It should cost $15-17 per person each way from airpiort.