Ratings based on 1,985 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Anniversary getaway

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Accommodating staff
Cons: Location is near a lot of homeless people and bums. Not fault of hotel, but be aware
Location: Close to shopping and homeless people
Great facilities and close to shopping. Also hotel has complementary bikes that no guests seem to know about. Great way to see city. Be prepared to climb some steep hills!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Location is on the cusp between the Tenderloin and Union Square and as such is close to sketchy. The hotel is a beautiful old boutique hotel with a great staff and nice rooms. All in all a great bargain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterford, Ontario

A real gem

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We loved the charm of this boutique hotel. Great staff and convenient location. The rooms are small but it is what you should expect at a hotel of this vintage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Taylor’s, You’re review has made our day at the Serrano! Our service team will be thrilled with your review. We’re happy you enjoyed our charm and convenient location to many of the area’s attractions! We look forward to your next visit when you are in our part of the country.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location and you can walk around

Posted Oct 13, 2014
It's a European style classic hotel with great people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Hotel is good, clean and everyone very courteous. Will recommend to others
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re delighted you enjoyed our courteous service team and clean rooms! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Francisco!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Serrano Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Renovate rooms. Install coffee-makers in rooms.
Location: Near Union Square and Chinatown
The Serrano Hotel is very well-located in the city. Several major attractions can be reached by walking or by a short ride on municipal transportation (bus, trolley, cable car) or taxi. The staff is accommodating and professional. The hotel is old and showing its age, but is well maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello David, Thank you for the wonderful review; it has made our day! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our exceptional location, close to area attractions and our professional, accommodating service team! We are always improving and considerate thoughts such as in your review are how we continue to make our hotel even better! We look forward to seeing you again when you are in San Francisco!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014
This was a nice hotel! Right in the downtown area; very close to BART which was convenient. A decent price for the great location and what more can you ask for than a clean and comfortable place to stay?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Down Town San Fran

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Very clean and freindly staff. Loved the decor
Location: Location was great. In the middle of down town so lots of shopping and restaurants to venture to.
Our expereince was wonderful. I try to stay at boutique hotels when ever possible. Hotel Serrano was definetly a good choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool architecture and great staff

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Walls in rooms need to be cleaned and touched up with paint. Carpets could use cleaning.
Location: I didn't know the city so was not sure where the hotel was. The street itself was less than desirable but we had no problems.
The walls in the room were dingy. They needed to be cleaned and touched up with paint. When I complained to the front desk staff, they listened to my concerns and kindly gave me breakfast vouchers at the hotel restaurant. The issue was not one that could have been handled while we were there so I appreciated the service recovery, i.e., the vouchers. The bed was very clean and comfortable. We slept great. The restaurant was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our very cool architecture and great service team during your recent stay with us! We do apologize that some of our appearance didn’t meet your expectations; we’ll pass your comments to the appropriate management department for action to be taken. We’re happy that our comfy and clean bed enhanced your visit! We look forward to your next stay with us; we are confident we can win you over!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
AWESOME CUSTOMER SERVECE!!! Rooms all clean and well dressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Your review has made us just smile; thank you! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit with us, our clean comfy rooms and that our team was able to enhance your visit! We can’t wait to see you when you are in the area again!