Ratings based on 3,448 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

ロケーションは最高です。

Posted Dec 21, 2014
停電のため、当ホテルに泊まることができなかったのですがロケーションは最高です。フィッシャーマンズワーフにとても近く、アルカトラズ乗船場まで歩いて行ける距離です。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom México

Hotel cerca de la playa. Estar pendiente del clima

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Es muy buen hotel, salvo que a causa de una tormenta, toda mi estancia se mantuvo sin energía eléctrica. Y todos los demás hoteles estaban llenos. Procuren estar al pendiente del clima.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

god placering men ikke 4 stjerner

Posted Dec 20, 2014
God placering men ikke en 4 steiner hotel. Der gik brandalarm x 2 på vores anden nat pga el-problemer.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Stockholm

Big Disappointment

Posted Dec 19, 2014
The location of the hotel is nice but the staff are not service minded. The hotel was out of electricity for few days - it caused us lots of hassle during our short stay in SF. Cannot recommend at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom livermore ca

Besides the power went out while we were there it

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Communication was a plus
Location: Pier 39 and fisherman wharf in walking distnace
We'll besides the power going out while we were there it was a ok stay they accommodated us Because of the fact they couldn't get the power back up until the last day we were there
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2014 by Michael, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thanks for this kind review. We appreciate the 5 stars and enjoyed meeting you here. It was our pleasure to serve you. We know we'll see you soon. Sincerely, Michael Hirsch, General Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nightmare

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Ability to handle emergencies
Location: Close to Pier 39
Supposed to be a 4 star hotel in a good area. Power outage on Dec. 12 - total darkness. Guests were evacuated 3x on false alarms. Firefighters went and checked and cleared us to go back for false alarm number 1, but the alarm triggered 2 more times... Power outage continued until I checked out Dec. 15. There was no central command - no one would OFFICIALLY talk to the guests. Front desk personnel was full of inaccurate statements saying, "power will be restored in 2 hours..." and its been day 3 and they still saying that... All the flashlights given to guests don't work. They only lit for 10 minutes and went out Front desk people said they need to buy more batteries... then why can't somebody from the hotel buy them? This is so unacceptable for a 4 star hotel especially for the Sheraton brand - so embarrassing! It wasn't easy to move out since hotels around the area are fully booked. A lot of people were still checking in - not knowing the situation ( I wonder if they ever gave an advisory ). Overall, it was a nightmare!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disaster Struck

Posted Dec 19, 2014
The power went out and they were not able to restore it. The original problem was not the hotel's fault but how the staff handled the situation was pathetic. For the most part, the staff seemed to be avoiding the guests. The guests were told to evacuate but there was no staff to guide them or tell them what was going on. It started around 11pm so many guests were in their pajamas and had to stand outside, in the rain, not knowing what was going on. The power was still out the next morning, so no hot water, no computers for check-out and no offers of compensation of any kind.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Virginia

Without Power - Without a Clue

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Not much...would have to be the valet (Jason).
Cons: N/A
Location: Nice location and near all of the activities around Pier 39. Great places to eat (if you like seafood).
Checked in to the hotel on Friday, Dec 12th and that evening around 11:00 the power went out and remained out through the rest of the night. Proceeded to the registration desk the following morning to inquire when electrical services would be restored. We were told between 12:00 and 2:00 that afternoon. After no resolution on the third day of our stay, the hotel offered and we accepted to cancel our reservation and move to another hotel across the street (the Tuscan). The power remained out at the Sheraton over the remainder of our stay in San Francisco (until 17 Dec). The hotel staff fell short of the mark in numerous ways: 1) failure to communicate an accurate status of the facility, 2) insufficient staff to assist guests in getting back to their rooms due to unfamiliarity with the facility layout, 3) handing out faulty flashlights and batteries, and lastly 4) a definitive lack of attentiveness/assistance to hotel guests. Although this was a complex issue placed upon the staff, they appeared to be poorly trained/not prepared to deal with the magnitude.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kein Strom für 3 von 5 Tagen.

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Hotel liegt in einer guten Lage. Parken ist absolut überteuert. Wir hatten 3 von 4 Tagen keinen Strom und einen Tag kein warmes Wasser wegen einem gesamten Stromausfall im Hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

When the lights go out--> get out!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
After traveling all day to get to CA from NY We were in the hotel for a few hours when the fire alarm went out and the power shut off. It was complete chaos which ensue from 10pm-3am, no staff member was comforting or providing information- all we got was to be handed a glow stick and instructed " go back to your rooms". No explanation of what was going on or why as the firemen were called back to the hotel twice. When we woke up next day the power still wasn't on. They did give everyone a free breakfast and refunds but the staff that was on during the night shift was horrible!