Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gena from fresno

Hidden Gem on Edge of Chinatown

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Convenient underground parking at a reasonable rate, free wifi, free breakfast (and more than just coffee, tea, juice & toast), clean, quiet rooms.
Cons: Signage in hallways pointing the way to rooms is overly confusing.
Location: Edge of Chinatown, within easy walking distance to Financial District and North Beach. Great eats close by. City Lights Books is around the corner!
I needed to find a hotel nearby the financial district where I was attending a conference (but the conference hotel was sold out). The SW Hotel fit the bill -- only a 5 minute walk from the Hilton Fin. District -- and very affordable. I have stayed here before, so knew what to expect, but other first-time visitors might be pleased to know the SW Hotel provides a welcome, peaceful respite in the midst of the hubbub of some of San Francisco's must-see attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Melbourne, Australia

Absolutely pleasant and comfortable

Posted Jan 31, 2014
I was very pleased with this hotel. It's in a great spot, walking distance from most locations if you pack the right pair of shoes (I walked to the Embarcadero, Coit Tower, Union Square and Market St). Travelling alone, I quite liked the China Town location, which was always well-populated and non-threatening. It's also very authentic and interesting marketplace, a tourist destination in its own right. As well as the endless Asian food on offer, there are also some nice Western restaurants and bars nearby on Columbus St, as well as typical pub fare and takeaway food. I was here midweek in winter, and it was very quiet. I hardly saw another guest, but the staff were always available. The complementary breakfast was simple and good: various breads and spreads and cereals, with fruit and boiled eggs, tea and coffee. If you want a big fry-up, though, you might have to go all the way across the road! My room wasn't huge but big enough. I slept very well in the bed. The bathroom had a vintage look but was immaculately clean: not so much as a speck of dirt anywhere in the fittings or grout. It was small but pleasant to use. Overall, I was very comfortable staying here and couldn't ask for more at this price. My only gripe was that the hair-dryer didn't work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just Ok!

Posted Jan 7, 2014
The hotel was ok. Located in a busy location in San Francisco, you may even pass by it a couple of times and not even notice it. The first room I was given had a broken window which was left open, causing the room to smell like Chinese food since a couple of Chinese food locations were directly under the window in an adjacent building. When calling down to the front desk, they were quick to send someone up with a new room key for a different room which I thought was nice. The rooms are somewhat decent, however no good views!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, Ca

Perfect location

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Location, price and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Next to China Town and North Beach, great Chinese and Italian restaurants near by. Close to Beach Blanket at Club Fugazi and City Lights Book stor
We wanted to attend Beach Blanket and eat our way through North Beach without the drive home late at night. This hotel was the perfect location on the edges of China Town and North Beach and within walking distance of restaurants and the show. It was clean, upgraded and the rooms were very good size for San Francisco hotels. We got a King room with granite counters and were pleased with the room decor. Parking is available for $30 a day. Breakfast was included, but was very minimal. No view from our room it overlooked a small central opening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by j sack from Raleigh nc

great location, clean rooms, friendly staff!

Posted Nov 16, 2013
can't beat it for the price! would definitely go back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Brisbane

Very clean hotel in handy position

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: Very clean and a basic breakfast is included.
Location: located in chinatown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great Location

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Location, cleanliness
We found this Hotel to be in a great area between China Town and the Italian sector. The staff is friendly and helpful! We can only highly recommend this Hotel and would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Katie from Atlanta, GA

Hope you aren't looking for a good night's sleep.

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Can't beat the location (during the day). Very clean hotel, despite it being very old.
Cons: Soundproofing, new windows from this century or SOMETHING. I couldn't believe how loud it was in our room at night. New beds and/or mattresses.
Location: This hotel is right in Chinatown. Bars/restaurants in less than 3 min, Fisherman's Warf in 15 min, Business District in less than 5 min
Not sure how to rate or review this one... Pros: --location cannot be beat (during the day). Its right at the top of Chinatown, walking distance to literally everything. --room was very clean and orderly --quiet and strong AC --very hot water and clean bathroom --Staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming Cons: --literally the loudest hotel room I have ever been in. It felt like we were sleeping ON the street in Chinatown both Saturday and Sunday nights --Possibly the most uncomfortable bed of all time--platform bed with cheap mattress --No where to drop off or pick up on the street. Located on a busy street with very little room for pull-over
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tom from san jose

Right In the Heart of San Francisco

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: thicker walls.
Location: It's all here. Restaurants, bars, entertainment, public transit. centrally located.
What a great location! China Town, North Beach, restaurants, mass transit...