Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Highly recommended!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
An absolute pleasure from start to finish! Taj Campton Place is in a perfect location, close to all attractions and has top class friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic value for money with all the touches of luxury and comforts of home - I'll definitely be returning for my next stay in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We just returned from a four night stay at Taj ton Place. The hotel is situated one block from Union Square and is a very convenient locatoon without the hustle bustle of the Unoon Square area. Well appointed rooms, immaculately maintained. Rooms can be a little on the small side. I recommend delux rooms for a larger space. Wonderful deep soaking tubs and toiletries of high quality. Loved the Nepresso machines. Very pleasant staff. We appreciate good boutique hotels as they seem more personal and more quiet than large chains. Concierge had great recommendations for dining. It was a very pleassnt stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

Brilliant location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were a delight. The decor is pleasing and rooms very comfortable
Cons: I was annoyed at having to pay for wifi in the room when every adjacent coffee shop and store has free. It is annoying
Location: Location superb. China town is on the doorstep as well as UnionnSquare
Facilities are perfect and the staff could not be nicer. Excellent chef. Rooms are very comfortable and despite being so well situated bit is very quiet. Overall a good experience but small financial things annoyed. One pays for wifi in the room. In order to have a cot for my granddaughter I was forced to change to a more expensive room. These are irritating things
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Boutique Hotel just off Union Square-No Free Wifi

Posted Jul 19, 2014
While we love this quiet hotel in a great location, you would think that free wi-fi would be ubitquitous in the tech hub of San Francisco. Not only was it $25 per day, it was $25 per day, per device. While the staffperson at checkout was friendly and sympathetic, he was not empowered to credit our bill for even one device. We will not be staying at the hotel again for this reason only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Certainly not the 5-start hotel you've been told.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The location is quite nice. Centrally located in downtown. The staff was friendly.
Cons: The size of the rooms, but this would require a total make-over. The mini stairway to actually get to your room was odd and inconvenient.
Location: Excellent location with the City at your disposal.
The hotel is smaller, older, and not what I expected from a hotel with such a high rating. The room was extremely limited in space, only had a smaller-sized shower (no tub), smaller sized bathroom, and absolutely no views. When we got off the elevator, my wife and I found it hard to believe that we still had to walk up about 12 or so stairs to get to our floor. Not usually a big problem because we're both in good shape, but with luggage, it was a huge inconvenience. The room was clean, but extremely tight quartered. The coffee was the only thing in the room that was free, but you could only have one cup per person, per day without paying extra. I didn't feel too very welcomed there, although the staff was pleasant. I most assuredly would not book a room in the Taj Campton again, unless it was a last resort for me to choose from. An overall rating of 3.5 is more than adequate for this location, even though the price says it should be at least a 4.5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Great hotel, Everything was excellent. Room was kind of small but considering we are in San fran all was as expected. Door men could pay a little more attention to opening the doors for guests instead of day dreaming and staring into mid air. Other than that experience was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnetonka,MN

What you hope your room will be

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing we found
Location: It is blocks from China Town and good hike to the Fisherman's Wharf and lots of great bakeries and shops nearby.
Elegant, luxurious, and absolutely beautiful from the front door to the toiletries. What I wish every room could be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Wish we could have stayed longer!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Wonderful staff, beautiful (and comfortable) accomodations!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, Thank you for the great review! Please do stay longer on your next stay in San Francisco. We would be delighted to have you. Warm Regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Very good location.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Cons: The only problem, and it's not the hotel's, is that construction is going on on stockton@union square and it's pretty inconvinient and ugly looking.
The hotel is luxurious and very well located but what makes it special is the attention the staff gives to their guests. It was our anniversary and when checking inn we mentioned it. Miss Matcheswala sent us to the room a beautiful little tray with a delicious petit four. We loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Martha, We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we are honored that you chose our hotel to celebrate such a momentous occasion. We thank you for highlighting our staff, for it is feedback like this that inspires us to continue to provide excellent service. I am glad that you enjoyed your room, as well as the petit fours. We look forward to hosting you again on your next celebration! Warm Regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Excellent location, top quality hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Best stay in SF in years. Highly recommend. Well located in the heart of Union Square. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants (hotel's restaurant is excellent).