Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The staff was amazing and the accomedations exceeded our expectations! Great location to union square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great Hotel, great location in Union Square.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Everything was great about this hotel. I would definitely go back to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Mixed Bag

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Location good next to Sbx and shopping. Facilities average - few electrical outlets, small desk in room. Towels thirsty. Wifi extra cost not disclosed upfront. Staff friendly helpful knowledgable about area. Inroom service best when ordering indian cuisine. Gym facilities such as they are open 24h bit old unsupervised and several machines not working properly. Overall mixed bag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Great Discovery!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about the Taj Campton...service was great as was the cleanliness, location, overall quality very classy.
Cons: Would have been nice to have little refrigerator in room, bit really didn't miss it that much.
Location: Starbucks was close by. Union Square where tourist pickup for buses are a couple blocks away. The best tourist deal are the hop on, hop off buses. The
I did my homework when selecting a hotel to stay at with my family for a several day vacation. The Taj Campton had high reviews and with Expedia having a deal package of flight plus hotel...it was a great deal. My husband and I enjoyed breakfast at the hotel. The room service meals were great too. The location of this hotel to Union Square and tourist buses was handy. This hotel has a super friendly and helpful staff. This is a very nice hotel. Despite being in the city, the room was quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

A great hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Cons: I only wish we could have stayed longer.
Location: This hotel is close to every thing, including transportation.
We arrived early and they took our cell number to call when the room was ready. We walked the 1 1/2 blocks to China town for a shopping spree and when we returned our room was ready. We had a great room, where the staff was friendly and the hotel was super clean. The restraunt has fantastic food and the deserts are to die for. I give this hotel the highest rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Highly recommended!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
An absolute pleasure from start to finish! Taj Campton Place is in a perfect location, close to all attractions and has top class friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic value for money with all the touches of luxury and comforts of home - I'll definitely be returning for my next stay in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We just returned from a four night stay at Taj ton Place. The hotel is situated one block from Union Square and is a very convenient locatoon without the hustle bustle of the Unoon Square area. Well appointed rooms, immaculately maintained. Rooms can be a little on the small side. I recommend delux rooms for a larger space. Wonderful deep soaking tubs and toiletries of high quality. Loved the Nepresso machines. Very pleasant staff. We appreciate good boutique hotels as they seem more personal and more quiet than large chains. Concierge had great recommendations for dining. It was a very pleassnt stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

Brilliant location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were a delight. The decor is pleasing and rooms very comfortable
Cons: I was annoyed at having to pay for wifi in the room when every adjacent coffee shop and store has free. It is annoying
Location: Location superb. China town is on the doorstep as well as UnionnSquare
Facilities are perfect and the staff could not be nicer. Excellent chef. Rooms are very comfortable and despite being so well situated bit is very quiet. Overall a good experience but small financial things annoyed. One pays for wifi in the room. In order to have a cot for my granddaughter I was forced to change to a more expensive room. These are irritating things
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Boutique Hotel just off Union Square-No Free Wifi

Posted Jul 19, 2014
While we love this quiet hotel in a great location, you would think that free wi-fi would be ubitquitous in the tech hub of San Francisco. Not only was it $25 per day, it was $25 per day, per device. While the staffperson at checkout was friendly and sympathetic, he was not empowered to credit our bill for even one device. We will not be staying at the hotel again for this reason only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Certainly not the 5-start hotel you've been told.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The location is quite nice. Centrally located in downtown. The staff was friendly.
Cons: The size of the rooms, but this would require a total make-over. The mini stairway to actually get to your room was odd and inconvenient.
Location: Excellent location with the City at your disposal.
The hotel is smaller, older, and not what I expected from a hotel with such a high rating. The room was extremely limited in space, only had a smaller-sized shower (no tub), smaller sized bathroom, and absolutely no views. When we got off the elevator, my wife and I found it hard to believe that we still had to walk up about 12 or so stairs to get to our floor. Not usually a big problem because we're both in good shape, but with luggage, it was a huge inconvenience. The room was clean, but extremely tight quartered. The coffee was the only thing in the room that was free, but you could only have one cup per person, per day without paying extra. I didn't feel too very welcomed there, although the staff was pleasant. I most assuredly would not book a room in the Taj Campton again, unless it was a last resort for me to choose from. An overall rating of 3.5 is more than adequate for this location, even though the price says it should be at least a 4.5.