Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

Brilliant location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were a delight. The decor is pleasing and rooms very comfortable
Cons: I was annoyed at having to pay for wifi in the room when every adjacent coffee shop and store has free. It is annoying
Location: Location superb. China town is on the doorstep as well as UnionnSquare
Facilities are perfect and the staff could not be nicer. Excellent chef. Rooms are very comfortable and despite being so well situated bit is very quiet. Overall a good experience but small financial things annoyed. One pays for wifi in the room. In order to have a cot for my granddaughter I was forced to change to a more expensive room. These are irritating things
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Boutique Hotel just off Union Square-No Free Wifi

Posted Jul 19, 2014
While we love this quiet hotel in a great location, you would think that free wi-fi would be ubitquitous in the tech hub of San Francisco. Not only was it $25 per day, it was $25 per day, per device. While the staffperson at checkout was friendly and sympathetic, he was not empowered to credit our bill for even one device. We will not be staying at the hotel again for this reason only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Certainly not the 5-start hotel you've been told.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The location is quite nice. Centrally located in downtown. The staff was friendly.
Cons: The size of the rooms, but this would require a total make-over. The mini stairway to actually get to your room was odd and inconvenient.
Location: Excellent location with the City at your disposal.
The hotel is smaller, older, and not what I expected from a hotel with such a high rating. The room was extremely limited in space, only had a smaller-sized shower (no tub), smaller sized bathroom, and absolutely no views. When we got off the elevator, my wife and I found it hard to believe that we still had to walk up about 12 or so stairs to get to our floor. Not usually a big problem because we're both in good shape, but with luggage, it was a huge inconvenience. The room was clean, but extremely tight quartered. The coffee was the only thing in the room that was free, but you could only have one cup per person, per day without paying extra. I didn't feel too very welcomed there, although the staff was pleasant. I most assuredly would not book a room in the Taj Campton again, unless it was a last resort for me to choose from. An overall rating of 3.5 is more than adequate for this location, even though the price says it should be at least a 4.5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Great hotel, Everything was excellent. Room was kind of small but considering we are in San fran all was as expected. Door men could pay a little more attention to opening the doors for guests instead of day dreaming and staring into mid air. Other than that experience was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnetonka,MN

What you hope your room will be

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing we found
Location: It is blocks from China Town and good hike to the Fisherman's Wharf and lots of great bakeries and shops nearby.
Elegant, luxurious, and absolutely beautiful from the front door to the toiletries. What I wish every room could be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Wish we could have stayed longer!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Wonderful staff, beautiful (and comfortable) accomodations!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, Thank you for the great review! Please do stay longer on your next stay in San Francisco. We would be delighted to have you. Warm Regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Very good location.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Cons: The only problem, and it's not the hotel's, is that construction is going on on stockton@union square and it's pretty inconvinient and ugly looking.
The hotel is luxurious and very well located but what makes it special is the attention the staff gives to their guests. It was our anniversary and when checking inn we mentioned it. Miss Matcheswala sent us to the room a beautiful little tray with a delicious petit four. We loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Martha, We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we are honored that you chose our hotel to celebrate such a momentous occasion. We thank you for highlighting our staff, for it is feedback like this that inspires us to continue to provide excellent service. I am glad that you enjoyed your room, as well as the petit fours. We look forward to hosting you again on your next celebration! Warm Regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Excellent location, top quality hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Best stay in SF in years. Highly recommend. Well located in the heart of Union Square. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants (hotel's restaurant is excellent).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hass1919 from san jose ca

Calm and close to everything

Posted Jun 23, 2014
The fact that the hotel is in the square , we didn't have to drive to go to fleur de lys restaurant and the night club starslight room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Hass1919, Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of San Francisco, just steps away from Union Square and other great establishments in San Francisco. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to San Francisco. Warm Regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: We loved everything!!
Cons: I cannot think of a single thing that needs to be changed!
Location: Shopping, Unions Square, Chinatown, and the Trolley line are all nearby.
The Taj Campton Place is fabulous. It is beautiful, well-appointed, and well-located. The lobby is beautiful, as is the bar and Michelin-starred restaurant. The rooms were much larger than expected, with wonderful linens and nicely-decorated baths. There was plenty of room for us to conveniently place our many personal items, as well as a nice closet and numerous drawers. The Molton-Brown toiletries were a great touch. The staff were all friendly, professional and knowledgeable. They helped us navigate all over the city efficiently and arranging transportation for us. This is a wonderful place to stay!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by GeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia Traveler, Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel, including our location, Michelin-Star restaurant, and team! We are delighted that you enjoyed your room amenities. Our Molton Brown products are a common guest favorite. In addition, we thank you for highlighting the service that you received. It is reviews like these that inspires the team to continue to provide the luxurious service that Taj is known for. We look forward to hosting you on your next stay. Warm Regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager