Ratings based on 593 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A excellent hotel in great location

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Staff, Location, Room
Beautiful hotel with excellent staff & the best location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

Great Location right in the heart of downtown

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable room, needed nothing. Like being at home.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: All the major stores are but a block away. Walking distance to many stores, great restaurants and events.
Loved this hotel, great service, awesome room, near everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Town

Good location. Great stuff. Rooms needs work.

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Room 1504 is next to the elevator and the noise level are hard to except. The bathroom is small and feels cramped. The room was small and very old school. Hotel rooms around the world had evolved. The Taj in SFO hasnt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: WiFi should be free.
Great location....close to everything. Walked to Ferry Bldg. and then down to Fisherman's Wharf. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old style hotel past its prime

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Staff was great.
Cons: Isolate kitchen food smell. Change the mattresses in rooms that need it. Be firmer with non-smoking policy. Improve window insulation or AC.
I stayed in this property 20 years ago and remember it as the old grand dame of SF hotels, with understated elegance. Well, all good things come to an end, I suppose. Although part of this elegance remains, the room (number 619) was very disappointing for the following reasons: 1) it smelled like smoke even though it was non-smoking room; 2) there was a pervasive food smell coming out of the emergency exit right outside our door, so every time we walked out of the room, it felt we were passing the kitchen; 3) there is either no insulation on the windows, or it's not sufficient, since the room warmed up with direct sunlight and the AC was too weak to cool it off ; and, finally and worst of all, 4) the mattress was u-shaped and it got increasingly worse in our 5-day stay. So, our recommendation is to stay at newer, better maintained hotels, of which there are plenty in SF.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Ashrafi, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us, but do thank you for letting us know of your concerns. Our goal is to provide the best possible experience for each of our guests and I am so sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Your room should certainly not have smelled of smoke in our non-smoking hotel. At times some guests will smoke regardless of the very hefty add on to their bills and deep cleaning must be done to remove to the smoke smell. I regret it was not as effective as it should have been. I also regret that you were disturbed by the food smell in the hall. After investigating, I found the door from the kitchen had been left ajar, allowing the odors to go up the stairwell. The Chef has counseled his team on the importance of ensuring that door is kept closed. Your mattress was replaced only two years ago and should not have been sagging. I have asked our engineering department to check both the mattress and the AC. I hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in Taj Campton Place and allow us to welcome you back the next time you are in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aiea, Hawaii

A Nice Hotel to Stay at While in SF

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The location and hotel staff can't be beat.
Location: Walking distance to Union Square and close to many stores and restaurants. Accessible to taxis, muni, bart, etc
Our first choice of hotels whenever we stay in SF is the Taj Campton Place. We like the location of the hotel near Union Square and especially the hotel staff whom we have come to know quite well and treat like family. The location allows us to navigate around the city but using the different modes of transportation available to us. Despite the construction around Union Square, the Campton Place for us, is still an ideal hotel to call home when in SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange county, ca

I only stay at the Taj when I go to SF!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This is the second time I've stayed at the Taj Campton Place in SF and I still love it. This time we came with our two puppies, for Labor Day weekend. I love that the hotel is pet friendly, and they really took care of us and our dogs. When we arrived they brought up a tray for the pups with two bowls, a bottle of water, some potty bags, and treats! Talk about awesome service! The reason I keep coming back is for this very reason, the service can't be beat. Besides that though, the rooms are comfy, clean, and roomy (we stayed in the deluxe room). I also love the fact that the staff take the time to remember your name which is a small thing but makes you feel you're coming home. During our stay, one of our dogs got sick and threw up on the room floor which was cleaned up promptly. But upon checkout they did charge us extra for a deep cleaning that they had to do ($300). That was a little steep but I didn't mind, and I agreed to pay. A couple days later though I saw on my bank statement that they had refunded me the fee in full! When I called them I was told that they didn't charge me for it, and that it was free of charge, a "Labor Day surprise". Awesome!!! I will definitely go back again, and recommend it to anyone going to the Bay Area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Great Hotel, perfrect location

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness of the rooms
From the time we checked in to the time we left the service was wonderful, the room was extremely clean and the location was very central. Great tips from the staff on places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, friendly, excellent food

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The rooms were small but good. Really liked the reading lights above the bed, sliding doors to bathroom.
Cons: Cost of parking ($63!) and high daily price for wifi ($12.95 per device!). Get free wifi next door at Starbucks, or Caffe Bellini in Union Square.
Location is perfect, just off Union Square. Love that it is small. Staff knew us. Staff was excellent, front desk extremely helpful, concierges gave us excellent recommendations for local restaurants, and had wonderful assistance when my suitcase handle broke. (Fixed! And the fellow was bashful/embarrassed when I tipped him). Bar is small, private, excellent. Bar menu is superb. The restaurant, Indian-Californian Fusion, is amazing for dinner, as one would expect of a Michelin-rated restaurant. Price is also what you would expect from the rating, but to us it was worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Reliable, friendly hotel staff. Great location; very good restaurant. After trying many of the hotels in SF, I keep coming back to Campton Place as my go-to in SF.