Ratings based on 633 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Excellent hotel in the heart of the city. Hotel staff is very friendly. Restaurant food is awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

San Francisco

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: In the middle of downtown, so close to everything
Nice Hotel. Floors a little funky, with half floors. Makes taking your own bags to room a pain. A lot of construction surrounding the area, but what big city doesn't?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

San Francisco Taj Campton

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Staff support excellent Facilities clean but not 5 star for such s high cost. Paint is durty in places, glass tables scratched carpet worn in halls, etc Dinning ver expensive but excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic boutique hotel!

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Rooms a bit small but overall very nice hotel! Great little bar below with fantastic food and cocktails..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A excellent hotel in great location

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Staff, Location, Room
Beautiful hotel with excellent staff & the best location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

Great Location right in the heart of downtown

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable room, needed nothing. Like being at home.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: All the major stores are but a block away. Walking distance to many stores, great restaurants and events.
Loved this hotel, great service, awesome room, near everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Sehr gut geführtes Hotel der Oberklasse.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Eigentlich alles.
Location: Liegt nahe am Union Square, man die Einkaufsregion, Financial District, Chinatown und Moscone Center zu Fuß bequem in 5 - 15 Minuten erreichen.
Geschäfts- / Konferenzreise. Das Hotel ist definitiv besser, als die Bewertungen, die ich vorher im Internet gelesen habe. Findet Michelin auch und hat das Restaurant in diesem Jahr mit einem Stern ausgestattet.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Town

Good location. Great stuff. Rooms needs work.

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Room 1504 is next to the elevator and the noise level are hard to except. The bathroom is small and feels cramped. The room was small and very old school. Hotel rooms around the world had evolved. The Taj in SFO hasnt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: WiFi should be free.
Great location....close to everything. Walked to Ferry Bldg. and then down to Fisherman's Wharf. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old style hotel past its prime

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Staff was great.
Cons: Isolate kitchen food smell. Change the mattresses in rooms that need it. Be firmer with non-smoking policy. Improve window insulation or AC.
I stayed in this property 20 years ago and remember it as the old grand dame of SF hotels, with understated elegance. Well, all good things come to an end, I suppose. Although part of this elegance remains, the room (number 619) was very disappointing for the following reasons: 1) it smelled like smoke even though it was non-smoking room; 2) there was a pervasive food smell coming out of the emergency exit right outside our door, so every time we walked out of the room, it felt we were passing the kitchen; 3) there is either no insulation on the windows, or it's not sufficient, since the room warmed up with direct sunlight and the AC was too weak to cool it off ; and, finally and worst of all, 4) the mattress was u-shaped and it got increasingly worse in our 5-day stay. So, our recommendation is to stay at newer, better maintained hotels, of which there are plenty in SF.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Ashrafi, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us, but do thank you for letting us know of your concerns. Our goal is to provide the best possible experience for each of our guests and I am so sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Your room should certainly not have smelled of smoke in our non-smoking hotel. At times some guests will smoke regardless of the very hefty add on to their bills and deep cleaning must be done to remove to the smoke smell. I regret it was not as effective as it should have been. I also regret that you were disturbed by the food smell in the hall. After investigating, I found the door from the kitchen had been left ajar, allowing the odors to go up the stairwell. The Chef has counseled his team on the importance of ensuring that door is kept closed. Your mattress was replaced only two years ago and should not have been sagging. I have asked our engineering department to check both the mattress and the AC. I hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in Taj Campton Place and allow us to welcome you back the next time you are in San Francisco.