Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aiea, Hawaii

A Nice Hotel to Stay at While in SF

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The location and hotel staff can't be beat.
Location: Walking distance to Union Square and close to many stores and restaurants. Accessible to taxis, muni, bart, etc
Our first choice of hotels whenever we stay in SF is the Taj Campton Place. We like the location of the hotel near Union Square and especially the hotel staff whom we have come to know quite well and treat like family. The location allows us to navigate around the city but using the different modes of transportation available to us. Despite the construction around Union Square, the Campton Place for us, is still an ideal hotel to call home when in SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange county, ca

I only stay at the Taj when I go to SF!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This is the second time I've stayed at the Taj Campton Place in SF and I still love it. This time we came with our two puppies, for Labor Day weekend. I love that the hotel is pet friendly, and they really took care of us and our dogs. When we arrived they brought up a tray for the pups with two bowls, a bottle of water, some potty bags, and treats! Talk about awesome service! The reason I keep coming back is for this very reason, the service can't be beat. Besides that though, the rooms are comfy, clean, and roomy (we stayed in the deluxe room). I also love the fact that the staff take the time to remember your name which is a small thing but makes you feel you're coming home. During our stay, one of our dogs got sick and threw up on the room floor which was cleaned up promptly. But upon checkout they did charge us extra for a deep cleaning that they had to do ($300). That was a little steep but I didn't mind, and I agreed to pay. A couple days later though I saw on my bank statement that they had refunded me the fee in full! When I called them I was told that they didn't charge me for it, and that it was free of charge, a "Labor Day surprise". Awesome!!! I will definitely go back again, and recommend it to anyone going to the Bay Area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Hotel, perfrect location

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness of the rooms
From the time we checked in to the time we left the service was wonderful, the room was extremely clean and the location was very central. Great tips from the staff on places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, friendly, excellent food

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The rooms were small but good. Really liked the reading lights above the bed, sliding doors to bathroom.
Cons: Cost of parking ($63!) and high daily price for wifi ($12.95 per device!). Get free wifi next door at Starbucks, or Caffe Bellini in Union Square.
Location is perfect, just off Union Square. Love that it is small. Staff knew us. Staff was excellent, front desk extremely helpful, concierges gave us excellent recommendations for local restaurants, and had wonderful assistance when my suitcase handle broke. (Fixed! And the fellow was bashful/embarrassed when I tipped him). Bar is small, private, excellent. Bar menu is superb. The restaurant, Indian-Californian Fusion, is amazing for dinner, as one would expect of a Michelin-rated restaurant. Price is also what you would expect from the rating, but to us it was worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

loved our stay

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Cons: The only thing missing was a coffee pot.
Location: The location is perfect.-- close to the conference we were attending, close to public transportation, and close to good eating places.
As my traveling companion said, "This is the best hotel ever."
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent stay but nothing special

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Rooms are decent value for money and very comfi beds. Some rooms are to be avoided (e.g. 211) as located next to their private dining suite and facing the street. Front desk staff is terrific, concierge a bit hit and miss. If you are there for the city and not the hotel experience can recommend staying there. Def decent stay...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Staff was beyond accommodating, location is great. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The staff was amazing and the accomedations exceeded our expectations! Great location to union square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great Hotel, great location in Union Square.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Everything was great about this hotel. I would definitely go back to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Mixed Bag

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Location good next to Sbx and shopping. Facilities average - few electrical outlets, small desk in room. Towels thirsty. Wifi extra cost not disclosed upfront. Staff friendly helpful knowledgable about area. Inroom service best when ordering indian cuisine. Gym facilities such as they are open 24h bit old unsupervised and several machines not working properly. Overall mixed bag.