Ratings based on 662 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

The only selling point is location

Posted May 21, 2015
Not obvious how or why Taj is rated 4.5 stars either as a guide or in terms of reviews. The Grand Hyatt across the street is superior in every dept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kirkland, WA

Great hotel in a great location

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Location and comfort
Great stay from beginning to end! Great location in Union Square. Came in from SFO and were able to walk from the Bart Station to the hotel. Staff was so delightful and the room was gorgeous! Wish we stayed longer! And free wifi!!! You don't find that often these days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2015
Perfect setting in an elegant hotel with world class restuarant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K

Excellent

Posted May 6, 2015
Staff were phenomenal. The service was out of this world.. Definitely got what we payed for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The beds need to be replaced. A little too hard and I felt I was on a slope.
Location: Shopping and Union Square was great
It was a great hotel. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Everything in our room was perfect except the beds were a little uncomfortable. I think its time to replace them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

Great location and Great staff!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, great service, location, small and quiet in the middle of everything ,
Cons: One Small closet in room, bathroom in suite had one sink and no counter space
Location: Shopping at Gumps and Uniqlo were fun! Fabulous lunch at Tadish! Fabulous dinner at Farallon!
Stayed here on a friends recommendation for the location, as we were bringing my 89 year old uncle here from Texas for his birthday. Upon arrival, he found a birthday dessert waiting in his room. One night we were going to dinner close by, and my uncle was overheard to say he didn't know if he was up for walking. Suddenly we were getting into the hotel's limo, being driven to our dinner! Lovely and thoughtful personal touches is why we liked this hotel so much! And of course the location by Union Square close to everything! Will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel in a great walkable location

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Room size is great with all the amenties and comfort you would expect in a 5 star property.
Perfect botique 5 star hotel walkable to numerous eateries and shoping in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in SF

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Awesome hotel. Cleaning was outstanding. The best part was the gym. The gym is always a second priority on most hotels but not on Thai compton. It was the best hotel gym I've ever seen with free weights, machines, bikes with TV monitors, ice cold water and even free headphones (!). 5 stars for the hotel but 6 for the gym.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose

Hotel near Union Square

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Location
The hotel is really close to Union Square(about 2 mins walk....) The room is quite big and the beds are comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Service, quiet, centrally located, employees/staff were great! Great amenities!
Cons: No recommendations here. Everything was perfect!
Location: Centrally located; across from Union Square; close to entertainment, shopping, art galleries, perfect place to stay!
Excellent service! When the staff found out it was my birthday, they surprised me with a special dessert delivered to our room! Would definitely stay there again!