Ratings based on 538 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Texas

Wonderful hotel close to Union Square!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
We absolutely loved this hotel! The staff and service were exceptional!!! The rooms were beautiful and clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel to all our family and friends!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really a 4 star in my view

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Didn't seem like a 4 star to me - probably 3.5. A bit tired. This isn't the first time this has happened to me with Expedia Unpublished. I love Expedia except for this. It's often the older properties that offer the unpublished deals - that at some point had been rated high but have slipped. Not all the star ratings are accurate on the regular Expedia site either but at least you can search the hotel and view photos and do your own homework
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Abel from Seattle, WA

Very nice hotel.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The location and customer service.
Cons: The room is a bit small and perhaps the parking fee little expensive in comparison to other hotels. 63.00 a day
Location: Union square.
Very nice hotel. Extremely impressed with the level of customer services. All around a good hotel
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Dear Abel, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is very kind of you to do so. We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to San Francisco. Warm Regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Russ

Great Hotel right off Union Square

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: All the above
The Taj Campton is a beautiful hotel that has it all. Great staff, beautiful rooms, fabulous service, a great bar and a great restaurant.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Atlanta, GA

Decent hotel but was a bit of a disappointment.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The location is its best attribute.
Cons: See above.
Location: Close to Powell Street Bart and cable cars. Within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf. Plenty of nice restaurants in the area.
I had heard good things about this hotel for many years but had never stayed there. I can say that the hotel is well located, nicely appointed, has a comfortable bed and friendly staff. I had a problem with the place and wouldn't stay there because of the following: - The plumbing was noisy and vibrated from time to time. - At this room price range, I wasn't expecting to be charged for the internet connection. I thought that was a bit petty. And, the internet was not terribly fast and would get hung up for several seconds up to a minute or so from time to time. Lastly on this topic, only one device is allowed to be connected per room. So, if your computer is connected, then your partner/wife/significant other's device cannot be connected, and there is no free internet in the lobby. - The room was a bit too small for my taste. - There was a night club that ran until the early hours of the morning whose front door was just below my window, and there was no warning from the staff about this, so it was very difficult to get to sleep because of that. - When my neighbor left his unit, his door closing would cause all the walls of my unit to vibrate as if he had slammed his door. - The staff allowed me a 13:00 checkout on my last day there, but still the cleaning staff was knocking on my door at 10:00 to clean my room, so they were clearly not notified by the front desk staff.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: location
original room was to small, had to upgrade for more money
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Dear Expedia Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the first room that you were given, but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your second room after your upgrade. We hope we have the opportunity to host you once more. Warm Regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wesley from Aiea, Hawaii

An Ideal Place to Stay for Us

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Location: The hotel is near Union Square with access to Chinatown, the US stores and gallerias, muni bus stops/metro stations and restaurants.
We having been staying at theTaj Campton Place whenever we are in San Francisco. We have enjoyed and continue to enjoy the hotel's friendly staff who always seem to treat us like family when there. We found it an ideal location to navigate within the city and when venturing out of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by och laddie from Toronto Ontario

great location, great customer service

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Great value, customer service, and bed.
Cons: Ideally wi-fi should be free. At minimum, it should be by room, not device.
Location: Centrally located. Quick trolley to fisherman's wharf. Everything else downtown is walking distance.
In San Fran for a conference. I've stayed in the city previously and Taj Campton will be top of list for return visits. All staff - from front desk to cleaning people to doormen - are incredibly helpful/friendly and really set this hotel apart. Accomodations were good and extremely comfortable bed. Location near Union Square is great and allowed me to walk everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Crear location, wounderful Restaurant and pleasent

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Second time staying. Great experiencia, Will stAy again
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Dear Expedia Traveler, Thank you for staying with us for a second time, and sharing your review with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your second stay, but hopefully your third stay with us will be even better. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Warm Regards, Ashrafi Matcheswala General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chas

Very pleasant experience

Posted Feb 25, 2014
This is the 4th Taj hotel I've stayed in since 2008. I find them all comfortable , with a very pleasant staff . The amenities are top notch , love the Moulton Brown toiletries , the best! Quiet , comfort, with the best location . I will recommend this hotel and hope to go back again.