Ratings based on 713 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great location in Union Square

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Convenience, room size, comfortable bed and friendly staff
Cons: The outside noise, maybe install better windows.
Location: Located in Union Square, shopping, restaurants, mall, cable car, hop on/hop off bus,
This was our first time to San Francisco and we chose The Donatello because of its location. The hotel is located in a great part of town, within walking distance to nice shops/restaurants and The Westerfield Centre Mall. Our room was right by the elevator but never heard any noise from outside our room or adjoining rooms. The only drawback was it was very noisy outside the hotel each night. The room was very comfortable, great size and nice TV with mini fridge/microwave. It was clean and up to date and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff at the hotel were super friendly and made us feel at home. I highly recommend this hotel and we were very pleased with our trip to The Donatello!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas,NV

Great Views

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff were exceptional, fast check in, lightning fast to respond to anything. The Roof top Balcony.
Cons: Longer hours for the Balcony to be open. The Bar staff, Don't count tips in front of the customers and maybe someone that is a little less scattered.
Location: In the heart of downtown, 1 block from Union square. Lots of fantastic places to eat close. Best Cappuccino across the street. Best sushi boat 1 blk.
Had fun, the family enjoyed the views from the rooftop balcony. A few tiny quirks but they were fixed fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but with minor annoyances...

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Staffs are simply nice, courteous and helpful. Convenient location.
Cons: Poor sound proofing, noise from street can be heard throughout the night. Internet is slow. Weak water pres and very noisy/faulty shower faucet.
Good hotel with a few minor annoyances. Room is clean and spacious. The Club House is quite a pleasing atmosphere to relax in...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gateshead UK.

Californian Holiday.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Very central and 1 block from Union Square.......2 minute walk, very clean with friendly staff.
Cons: Very thin windows which lets in lots of street noise, homeless people close by but they were no problem, this only added to the buzz of the city.
Location: 1 block from Union Square and cable cars etc.
Lovely hotel, very central for our 5 night stay, SF is one of the best cities we have visited, lots to see and do. Would highly recommend hiring a bike to cycle the bay from Pier 39 over the Golden Gate bridge to Sausilto then catch the ferry back, we hired a tandem for my wife and I, also a bike for our daughter, fantastic day. Alcatraz night tour is a must but book before you leave home as you will not get a ticket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but single pane windows

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Great but club across the street loud. Stayed on 8th floor facing away from club and still noisy. Otherwise excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spacious room and excellent front desk staff and bellmen! Perfect location near Union Square and plenty of restaurants. Will definitely stay here again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raema from Manly, Sydney, Australia

Excellent, except it was noisy.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: As it's on a noisy corner (Mason/Post) it was difficult to get to sleep. I believe the hotel should look at installing double glazing on the windows.
Location: Near Union Square, close to the Stockton cable car and Westfield shopping centre and shops on Market.
The Donatello is in an excellent location close to Union Square and my room was large with excellent facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice place, pricey, no wake-up call

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
All in all, it WAS a nice place to stay. SF is NOT a cheap place, and the location was a few blocks from everything (Chinatown, bus stop, subway, nice restaurants, etc). Very accommodating staff but did not get the wakeup call I placed (which was for an early morning flight. luckily was up already). Otherwise, nice place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Todd from Liverpool

Good hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. Staff very friendly. Unfortunately the windows are very dirty which is the only problem.