Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but single pane windows

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Great but club across the street loud. Stayed on 8th floor facing away from club and still noisy. Otherwise excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raema from Manly, Sydney, Australia

Excellent, except it was noisy.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: As it's on a noisy corner (Mason/Post) it was difficult to get to sleep. I believe the hotel should look at installing double glazing on the windows.
Location: Near Union Square, close to the Stockton cable car and Westfield shopping centre and shops on Market.
The Donatello is in an excellent location close to Union Square and my room was large with excellent facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great San Francisco location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
We really enjoyed our time in San Francisco. We stayed at The Donatello for five nights and it was perfect for our family. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Everything in the room feels updated. Our room was towards the front of the building - some street noise but it didn't bother us much. We were also right next to the elevator which we didn't hear - we occasionally would hear people in the hall. It's in a great location - easy walking distance to most sites or other transportation just outside the door! We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by quartermast from Philadelphia

The best hotel in San Francisco downtown

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Location: Union square and a lot of shopping stores and malls.
This hotel was so comfort and also clean condition was very good. This hotel is located in main downtown, so it was very easy to reach to many shops and restaurants. Union square is one of the best place in SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lisa from gainesville, fl

Nice area, lots of shopping and resturants.

Posted May 31, 2014
Easy check in and out, valet service was wonderful. Room on 9th floor but club accross the street was loud from 12 to 2am. Fridge and microwave was a nice convenience. Hot tub nice after walking all day, would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very large room.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The large size of the room, pleasant staff, location.
Cons: The only thing to be improved would be an update to the bathroom, a little worn and dated. The rest of the room had already been re-done.
Girls getaway. Great location near Union Square. Close to shopping and restaurants. The staff in the lobby were exceptional. Very helpful for restaurant recommendations, directions, and generally seemed happy to be there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Adam from midwest

Don't sell me timeshares

Posted May 22, 2014
I didn't realize when booking I was walking into a sales pitch to look at time shares for a free breakfast. Barf. I was on a family trip to decompress and the last thing I want as a salesmen on vacation is to be topically complimented by someone who then turns that into a pitch. More importantly I won't return because obviously this is lucrative for them as suckers prolly write checks daily to simply stop the pitches from coming. No thanks ever again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by m from nc

great location

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
very good