Ratings based on 997 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san duego

Perfect location

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Just off Union Square so it is quiet yet very convenient. Although there is no breakfast in hotel there is always tea and coffee upstairs. All staff is very cordial and helpful. Will definitely stay there again. Wouldn't bother to even look at other hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Close to union square, Above average size rooms, quite shower close to great restaurants, cheap overnight parking, two TV's in room. Cons: Upon check in I was offered to attend a time share orientation, small fitness room, lots of outside (street) noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toms river, nj

Great hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Nice hotel, great staff and location. Don't agree to the sales talk no matter what they promise. We were pressured to buy up until we got into the car to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Couldn't be better

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Location: The Academy of Science at Golden Gate Park is most interesting and the bus ride takes you past the Victorian "painted ladies" of Haight -Ashbury.
Early arrival got us an upgrade which was mind-blowing. We can't imagine that the other rooms (non-5th floor) could be too much different. We dropped the car at SFO after checking in because a car in SF becomes expensive and public transportation is very good. An effort is made to sell timeshares, but a firm refusal will take care of that. A perfect finish to our California expedition.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location right in the center of the action.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Was on the 5th floor one door down from a very busy and loud party/meeting room. Also noise from the street at all hours of the night was overwhelming and I am from Chicago so I can handle usual noise levels. Proximity to high end shopping and dining was the best part of our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom RANCHO MIRAGE, CA.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: tHE OLD STAFF WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: READ ABOVE COMPLAINTS
Location: EXCELLENT LOCATION
NOT UP TO PAST STANDARDS.POOR LIGHTING IN ROOMS, POOR HOUSEKEEPING,NOT ENOUGHLINENS,HAD TO ASK FOR CHANGE OF SHEETS.HAVING TO PAY FOR ROOM COFFE OFFENSIVE. 3O + YEAR CUSTOMER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
It was so noisy when we stayed there over the weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Close to all major tourist attractions.

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Great hotel, only downside was the external noise. The noise from the night club a few doors down did not help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Great location in San Francisco

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Hotel exceeded expectations. Large clean rooms and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy parking

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Location and parking
Cons: Lobby and hallways could be spruced up a bit.
It was a great experience starting with the ease of parking right in the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was spacious and clean and overlooked Kearney street for a fun city view. Close to union square and lots of great bars and restaurants. Mortons is my favorite. I would stay at the Donatello again!