Ratings based on 965 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio TX

Great Hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Bathroom look a little outdated, decoration wise, very clean
Location: Tour the city, close to union square, shopping malls, China town
Purpose of travel, wife and I were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary, Great Location, just a couple blocks away from Union square and the shopping mall nearby, a lot of convenient restaurants. We were in the middle of a severe storm and power was out in large part of the city, staff was very accommodating helping a lot of people with luggage at the stairs. I will definitely stay again at de Donatello
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Cons: Please supply small packets of coffee in the room every day.
We always enjoy the Donatello, because of the large comfortable rooms and the convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

ダウンタウンにある便利なホテル

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: 場所が便利で簡易キッチン付なところ。バスルームの鏡にテレビが映るのはすごいです。
Cons: 皿やグラスが載っている壁に取り付けられた棚がぐらぐらするのが気になりました。
Location: バート、ケーブルカー、バスなど交通機関が全て近くにあるので便利です。
簡易キッチン付のホテルということで決めました。 部屋が広く清潔でスタッフも親切でした。 深夜のゴミ収集車の音が大きく、初日は深夜に工事が始まったのかと思いました。 都会なので仕方ないもかもしれませんがビックリでした。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland NZ

Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Lower rates a bit
Location: It was in heart or theatre district, great Blues club and Jazz restaurants just up the street. 20 Minute walk to the Ballpark.
This was second time at the Donatello Hotel, it was clean, pleasant helpful staff, no problems and would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
This was a great hotel, easy walk to Union Square, theaters and restaurants. We didn't have a car, but the hotel did have a parking garage which is a huge plus if we come back to the city for another visit. Very nice rooms, with king size bed, large couch and mini-fridge and counter space for take out meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Highly recommend!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Size and decor of room; convenient location; friendly and helpful staff;
Cons: Eliminate timeshare presentation - but it is what it is.You don't have to attend.
Location: The hotel is located within a reasonable walking distance to the transit center, restaurants and stores (although we did not have time to shop).
When my two daughters and I arrived, we were pleasantly greeted by Steve. He checked us in quickly and gave us information about the hotel. We also met sweet Pam who was helpful during our entire trip! The room was gorgeous - modern decor and very spacious, with a refrigerator, and an awesome TV built into the mirror, and the terrace was a pleasant surprise. We checked in the night the Giants won the World Series and we enjoyed hearing the town erupt in celebration when the winning fly ball was caught. Although we are not Giants fans, the enthusiasm was infectious. The staff told us we were only a few blocks from the celebration and told us how to get there. I am sure the celebration kept other visitors awake, but the noise was not the fault of the staff and I could not believe they were having to field complaints about the noise from hotel guests. Overall, I give the Donatello an excellent rating because of the beautiful room, amazing staff and convenient location. Would love the chance to visit again - but for much longer! San Francisco was awesome and staying at the Donatello made it even more enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: excellent location for touring SF & great helpful staff
Location: prime location - close by to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf ; in heart of Union Suare
nice comfortable hotel with very good services. staff very helpful on best way to go about touring area; driving directions;etc - not just all about hotel itself
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Minutes away from Union Square.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Staff, location,room.
Great stay. Rooms big enough for 3 people. Around corner from Union Square. Lots of lovely places to eat. Staff very helpful especially Jesus the concierge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a perfect location

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location, layout of room
Cons: Another mirror
Location: Pinecrest diner for breakfast (b) (yummy waffles, french toast, eggs and hashbrowns), Levi's store, Lori's Diner (b), Dottie's (b), Brenda's(b)
We stayed at this hotel for 5 days during halloween week and the Giant's win. The hotel is right in the Union Square area which has a lot of restaurants and shopping. The hotel was within 5 min walking distance to The Bart transportation system as well as buses, taxi's. We used Uber (get Uber app) for transport a lot. Cheaper than taxi's, cleaner and more private than the buses. The hotel was in great condition. It was clean, spacious and with a beautiful view of the busy streets below. With it being in a central location, you will hear the street noise and people below at night but it does slow down. We had two windows that would open. Nice to get some fresh air. The bed was very comfortable. There was a big flat screen tv that you could face towards the bed or the humongous stylish pull out couch. The only thing that I felt that was missing in the room was just another mirror. There was one mirror in the bathroom but it just didn't suffice. This will obviously not keep us from coming back. The staff was were very nice and helpful with tourist questions and arranging transportation and leisure activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hotel in central location

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, comfortable bed.
Cons: I can't think of anything
I stayed here for 4 nights and would really recommend it. Rooms are large, comfortable, clean and bright. The location is fantastic - just off Union Square and about 10 minutes walk from Chinatown. Staff are very polite and helpful and always on hand to answer any questions you have.