Ratings based on 1,033 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Position perfect.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
This hotel is in a terrific position to access Union square and is literally steps from transport to anywhere in SF. There is even a major car rental hub within a block. Service was friendly and helpful. Only concern was street noise in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Everything was nice

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The staff was helpful, the room was clean and spacious.
Cons: The water pressure of the shower was not enough.
Location: Very conveniently located.
We got a room with a small kitchen and a sofa for 3 people. The room was spacious and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with a great location.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: My children and I enjoyed the top floor club/lounge area.
Location: Shopping
We stayed at the Donatello for 2 nights. It was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saudi Arabia

Centrally located comfortable hotel.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Convenience to all San Francisco has to offer.
Cons: Not having the timeshare discussion as soon as you check in. Was very off putting and took the shine of the hotel somewhat. On holiday to enjoy!!
Comfortable hotel, not there much as on holiday for short time in San Francisco!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel and close to everything

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location was a plus! Tons of restaurants that surround the area if you don't want to eat at the hotel. The rooms were large and comfy.
Location: Union Square, Market Street, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bridge are all very close and most of them walking distance.
I'd never been to San Francisco so choosing a hotel in the right area was difficult. We chose Donatello based on reviews and I'm so glad we did. The hotel is nice, very clean and the staff were quite helpful with anything we needed, especially with directions! We ended up being able to walk everywhere we wanted to go..Union Square, Chinatown and Fisherman's Wharf. We stayed in a room on the 9th floor and there was a jazz club across the street that was quite noisy but we were able to sleep through it. We plan on returning and I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel right near Union square

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Hotel was in perfect location, right near Union Square. Central to everything. Quick walk to BART, shopping (designer and popular), China town and some really nice restaurants. Hire a bike from next door to get you all the way around San fran at really good rates. The hotel had a rustic feel to it in the lobby and hallways but the room seemed renovated within the last couple of years. Bed was so comfortable, huge tv and there is even a tv in the bathroom for when you shower. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

Great location, very comfortable rooms, lovely sta

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Great hotel, loved everything about it, Central location, very friendly staff, big room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel & location, staff not so much

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Upon checking in, was approached by staff that was trying her hardest to push their time share program on me. Very annoying. After many numerous "no thank you's", she still insisted I attend a 10 minute presentation. Finally, I said ok and just cancelled the meeting later. Had no idea this would happen on a Expedia-endorsed hotel. Cleaning staff had to be reminded a few times to bring towels. To be fair, however, the TV was huge and the club house upstairs was a nice little retreating spot. I'd go there again; would just avoid time-share lady next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bend, OR

Quick overnight to see a Concert in the City!

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Cons: New soundproof windows!
Everything was actually very nice, clean, and friendly! The only downside was that the room was not very soundproof! There is ongoing construction and I at first thought that the window was open,but unfortunately it wasn't! It would be beneficial to replace the windows with new sound limiting ones. I would have given the overall rating a 4.5 but because of the constant noise from outside it only got a 3!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St George

So dang cool!!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Awesome room with a wonderful feel. Super friendly and helpful, fun staff!