Ratings based on 723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland NZ

Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Lower rates a bit
Location: It was in heart or theatre district, great Blues club and Jazz restaurants just up the street. 20 Minute walk to the Ballpark.
This was second time at the Donatello Hotel, it was clean, pleasant helpful staff, no problems and would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
This was a great hotel, easy walk to Union Square, theaters and restaurants. We didn't have a car, but the hotel did have a parking garage which is a huge plus if we come back to the city for another visit. Very nice rooms, with king size bed, large couch and mini-fridge and counter space for take out meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Highly recommend!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Size and decor of room; convenient location; friendly and helpful staff;
Cons: Eliminate timeshare presentation - but it is what it is.You don't have to attend.
Location: The hotel is located within a reasonable walking distance to the transit center, restaurants and stores (although we did not have time to shop).
When my two daughters and I arrived, we were pleasantly greeted by Steve. He checked us in quickly and gave us information about the hotel. We also met sweet Pam who was helpful during our entire trip! The room was gorgeous - modern decor and very spacious, with a refrigerator, and an awesome TV built into the mirror, and the terrace was a pleasant surprise. We checked in the night the Giants won the World Series and we enjoyed hearing the town erupt in celebration when the winning fly ball was caught. Although we are not Giants fans, the enthusiasm was infectious. The staff told us we were only a few blocks from the celebration and told us how to get there. I am sure the celebration kept other visitors awake, but the noise was not the fault of the staff and I could not believe they were having to field complaints about the noise from hotel guests. Overall, I give the Donatello an excellent rating because of the beautiful room, amazing staff and convenient location. Would love the chance to visit again - but for much longer! San Francisco was awesome and staying at the Donatello made it even more enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: excellent location for touring SF & great helpful staff
Location: prime location - close by to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf ; in heart of Union Suare
nice comfortable hotel with very good services. staff very helpful on best way to go about touring area; driving directions;etc - not just all about hotel itself
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Minutes away from Union Square.

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Staff, location,room.
Great stay. Rooms big enough for 3 people. Around corner from Union Square. Lots of lovely places to eat. Staff very helpful especially Jesus the concierge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a perfect location

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Location, layout of room
Cons: Another mirror
Location: Pinecrest diner for breakfast (b) (yummy waffles, french toast, eggs and hashbrowns), Levi's store, Lori's Diner (b), Dottie's (b), Brenda's(b)
We stayed at this hotel for 5 days during halloween week and the Giant's win. The hotel is right in the Union Square area which has a lot of restaurants and shopping. The hotel was within 5 min walking distance to The Bart transportation system as well as buses, taxi's. We used Uber (get Uber app) for transport a lot. Cheaper than taxi's, cleaner and more private than the buses. The hotel was in great condition. It was clean, spacious and with a beautiful view of the busy streets below. With it being in a central location, you will hear the street noise and people below at night but it does slow down. We had two windows that would open. Nice to get some fresh air. The bed was very comfortable. There was a big flat screen tv that you could face towards the bed or the humongous stylish pull out couch. The only thing that I felt that was missing in the room was just another mirror. There was one mirror in the bathroom but it just didn't suffice. This will obviously not keep us from coming back. The staff was were very nice and helpful with tourist questions and arranging transportation and leisure activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hotel in central location

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, comfortable bed.
Cons: I can't think of anything
I stayed here for 4 nights and would really recommend it. Rooms are large, comfortable, clean and bright. The location is fantastic - just off Union Square and about 10 minutes walk from Chinatown. Staff are very polite and helpful and always on hand to answer any questions you have.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

The Donatello is a great hotel.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: hotel staff and location were great for me
Cons: You can only get a king size bed. If another person wants to sleep seperate then they set up the sofa bed,which is only o.k.
Location: The hotel is located 1 block from Union Square, San Francisco, and is close to the trolly car and bus lines.
The staff at this hotel more than very helpful. Every day they would see you and call you by your name and ask if every thing was fine. The Club Room staff would ask what were your plans for that day and give you helpful tips...best time to go there or if another function was happening also at that time, They had a list of very nice local restaurants that were fine, and the hotel has a nice restaurant and lounge also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TN

Great location in Union Square

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Convenience, room size, comfortable bed and friendly staff
Cons: The outside noise, maybe install better windows.
Location: Located in Union Square, shopping, restaurants, mall, cable car, hop on/hop off bus,
This was our first time to San Francisco and we chose The Donatello because of its location. The hotel is located in a great part of town, within walking distance to nice shops/restaurants and The Westerfield Centre Mall. Our room was right by the elevator but never heard any noise from outside our room or adjoining rooms. The only drawback was it was very noisy outside the hotel each night. The room was very comfortable, great size and nice TV with mini fridge/microwave. It was clean and up to date and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff at the hotel were super friendly and made us feel at home. I highly recommend this hotel and we were very pleased with our trip to The Donatello!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas,NV

Great Views

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff were exceptional, fast check in, lightning fast to respond to anything. The Roof top Balcony.
Cons: Longer hours for the Balcony to be open. The Bar staff, Don't count tips in front of the customers and maybe someone that is a little less scattered.
Location: In the heart of downtown, 1 block from Union square. Lots of fantastic places to eat close. Best Cappuccino across the street. Best sushi boat 1 blk.
Had fun, the family enjoyed the views from the rooftop balcony. A few tiny quirks but they were fixed fast.