Ratings based on 3,571 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Wonderful staff and location

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Hotel staff were wonderful. They were all very helpful and pleasant. Location is one of the best in the city and the lobby is stately and elegant. Early arrival was no problem at all. Except for one dry waste basket not being empty upon arrival, my review would have been a 5 overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable stay.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Upon check in we were assigned a room that smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke. We immediately returned to request a different room and the front desk staff were happy to oblige. Our new room on the second floor was surprisingly quiet and quite comfortable. We had friends staying on the 18th floor of the tower and WOW- the view was incredible! The staff at the concierge desk were very helpful in booking some activities and making dinner recommendations and reservations. Breakfast in the hotel was quite good and a good place to start your day. The hotel is situated at the top of a VERY steep hill so while walking to shopping, activities & restaurants was fine, walking BACK is definitely a workout! Ultimately, we had a great time and would definitely stay at the Fairmont again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

close to everywhere important, safe area to walk

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location and view
Receptionist was so great and advised us what to do important for first time San Francisco visitor. Everything was close enough to walk and safe enough at night time. View was excellent from our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to many attractions

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Within walking distance to Ghirardelli Sq, Chinatown, Pier 39, this beautiful property sits on top of Nob Hill. Rooms are comfy and the bed has just the right support.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inspect your room blinds

Posted Jul 19, 2015
We found out our blinds didn't work when we came home late to sleep. The lights in the courtyard woke us often. I wouldn't expect to have to inspect these ahead of time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gute Lage aber schin sehr in die Jahre gekommen

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Sicher schwierig so ein altes Gemäuer auf Vordermann zu bringen aber zum Beispiel der Aufzug oder die Badezimmerausstattung könnten auf den neuesten Stand gebracht werden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great place for a weekend getaway

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Central location, friendly and helpful staff, clean room.
Cons: Perhaps a little repair work on some of the plaster.
Location: Located in Nob Hill. A beautiful church a block away with a Peet's Coffee inside (go figure), cable cars, taxis nearby for getting around.
The hotel is beautiful and centrally located. The staff is very knowledgeable about local attractions and very helpful in terms of helping you find what you're looking for - great directions! The room was very clean and comfortable - there were small signs of age that didn't interfere in the overall experience. I would highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Fabulous

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Stayed one night-beautiful, historic, romantic hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Read some review about it being old and crumbley and was a little worried--but it was immaculate and well taken care of--absolutely beautiful --could imagine the 1906 earthquake and the 1945 signing of the UN Charter--beautiful lobby. No issues-very comfortable bed. Clean room. Good location. Wish I had paid more for a view--would the next time. Very nice hotel. Close to Chinatown and Wharf and All of downtown. Super friendly valets and staff out front. Really nice time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Nice hotel but wasn't great. I don't want to nitpick but there were several lights not work in the rooms like the restroom and lamps. The room was nice but there was very little closet space no view and for $540 a night that's crazy plus $58 a day for parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yountville Ca

Enjoyed our stay , love the Tonga room

Posted Jul 12, 2015
The only disappointment were the curtains sun shined right through them no way to make room dark to sleep in the morning but other then that it's wonderful place to stay and dine