Ratings based on 2,812 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Iconic hotel in an iconic city!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, hotel...whats not to like!
Cons: To be supplied with a map of the hotel when you check in would be useful.
Location: Location is very central however it is at the top of a very steep bank, not easy for the unfit or people in wheelchairs to access.
Every member of staff which i spoke to was extremely courteous and professional, a top class hotel - the reputation of the hotel is well justified.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wonderful

Posted Jul 17, 2014
San Francisco is an exhausting city mostly when you just flew from the east coast. The Fairmont is the Ace to stay at to get some rest and discover the City. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Well-maintained historic hotel; great location on Nob Hill; it is a large hotel - the Huntington Hotel down the block is more quiet and more charming - but this is a solid hotel. The new d├ęcor is modern and fresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a.

Great hotel at san francisco

Posted Jul 11, 2014
It one of the best places to stay in San francisco. Its wonderful clean a nice view and very close to the cable train stations. I'll stay again without thinking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Terrible room assignment

Posted Jul 11, 2014
I booked through expedia with the free parking deal. Customers are given least desirable room if third party is used almost to punish. That is not honest. If Fairmont does not like reservations with expedia, then just don't allow it and let those rooms that faces the cables and other hard wares of hotel go with lower price. My room view was horrible especially knowing that you cashed out 125 some dollars you could get beautiful view which other reviewers are talking about. Lobby was impressive but you dont need to stay there to have a look. not too close to Market street or waterfront. Hotel was empty. Front desk clerk did not bother assigning little less claustrophobic room in view of low occupancy. By the way their service gave me impression that they were still in training .hyatt, Marriott does far better than this. Overall I expected more from Fairmont and even I am Presedintal member would not choose Fairmont any time soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice loby.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The hotel was very nice. The staff was very friendly and the loby was very pretty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Hotel was great. Fantastic location and stunning lobby. Staff was just OK. Line for cars was long at times and hotel was looking to change you more and move you to more expensive rooms while other hotels I have stayed looked to upgrade you complimentary. Nice but you will pay for everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

weekend getaway

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The history of the hotel
Cons: a list of prices for taxi's, cable car, etc. also best way to get around the city
Location: The golden gate bridge of course and Muir Woods. Alcatraz and route 1
Great place to stay. Close to everything. Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice comfy place to stay and it's quiet.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: All of it.
Cons: Needs an extractor fan in the bathroom.
Location: It's San Fransisco what more can you say, China Town is close by and the cable cares are also handy.
Really nice no problems at all, honestly I could not fault it at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff is impeccable.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The rooms in the old section were remodeled in the past month! They are beautifully done.