Ratings based on 3,298 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne australia

Nice hotel close to all amenities

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: All facilities
Location: Chinatown, little Italy fisherman wharf and the cable cars
Great staff and service Very friendly Nice gym Very clean and Fantatstic location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom São Paulo

ótima estadia em São Francisco

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Atendimento.
Location: Próximo da Union Square e das principais lojas e restaurantes.
Passamos 7 dias em São Francisco e nossa estadia no Fairmont foi maravilhosa. Otimo atendimento das recepcionistas e principalmente dos Concierges. Voltaremos com certeza para este hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Antioch

beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2015
the staff and hotel were great but the food at the Laurel was horrible it took forever overpriced and our food came to us cold and over cooked I would not recommend it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
I was first booked into a small room, with connecting doors on both sides which were not sound-insulated. I could hear and understand every conversation behind both doors. My night was disrupted. This is unworthy of a 5 star hotel (with a rate of $ 600 per night for this room). Fortunately, the receptionist assigned me to another better insulated room after the first night. Overall, the hotel has seen its prouder days....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear your stay wasn't a better one and I hope you would be willing to return and allow us the opportunity to give you the stay you deserve. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: location, personable staff, decor, comfort
Location: easy walking distance to restaurants, marina, wharf, Union Square etc
Rooms are lovely, staff is personable, great location, great service
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Had a great stay here. Neighborhood is a bit boring but an easy cab ride to the more happening parts of SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Martinez, CA

It was Christmas Eve

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: The accommodations were wonderful as we were upgraded to a comfortable king-size bed. The room was spacious as well as was the lovely bathroom.
Cons: I wish we had been told that we needed to make reservations at the restaurant in advance but we're just country bumpkins...we learned our lesson!
Location: Considered Nob Hill section. One mile away from Union Square and Chinatown and The Ferry Bldg. Many restaurants nearby.
The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated with a giant tree and a large gingerbread house. Children and adults were all over the place! The staff was very nice but we were immediately informed that the restaurant had been already booked for dinner and Xmas breakfast. That was disappointing but we weren't smart enough to plan ahead. We have to say, however, our parking was free, so thank you, Expedia! The Tonga Room was so fun! It has a Hawaiian theme with a ceiling waterfall and a lake in the middle of the floor. A live band climbed onto a secure raft, drifted onto the lake, and performed great songs. That was the highlight of our evening!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased you were able to join us during the holidays as it is a special time at the hotel. I'm glad that you were able to experience Tonga Room as it is a San Francisco institution. Thanks again and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom st helens

Good location in the city

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Great location. Good size rooms, spotlessly clean.
Cons: Attitude of the doorman, was a little rude one evening when trying to enter the hotel
Location: Great location to jump on the trams. Not too far to walk to get to union square.
Fabulous hotel, great location. Stayed for 3 nights just wish we could have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

View of Bay

Posted Jan 9, 2015
When you stay in a pricier hotel you expect to be treated well. The Fairmont delivered. The view from our room was breathtaking. I would skip the Tonga Room. The maitre d was not polite, the food was below average and the atmosphere is dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced great service while on property. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Almost perfect...

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Everything you would expect from a qulity 5 star hotel... except the buffet breakfast experience in Laurel court dining area. The selection and quality of the breafast menu was not impressive and therefore definitely not recommendable at all!