Ratings based on 3,545 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Quick getaway

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Amazing view! Amazing experience! Can't wait to go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great trip

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: All - staff, amenities, location, historical nature of hotel.
Cons: Don't charge for wi-fi.
Location: Great location - close to Union Sq, Chinatown & trolleys.
Very nice hotel. Staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Great 5 day stay - first trip to San Fran; We were upgraded to a corner suite - very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Outstanding experience: perfect location, cheerful and helpful staff, super comfy beds with dreamy pillows. Not pressed with Tonga room though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. I look forward to sharing with the staff, I know they'll be pleased to hear it. Sincerely, Lucas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Linens

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The linens were fabulous. It was very clean and the house keeping staff was very accomodating and friendly.
Cons: There needs to be some kind of fan and heater in the bathroom. The rooms are expensive enough to include small things like refrigerator, water etc.
Location: We loved the location. It is way up hill, but that was great for us.
The hotel was lovely and very posh. It was disappointing that every thing cost something. I would rather have a set price with refrigerator, wi fi, water included. The staff was very friendly, although when asking questions I received different answers from different people. The car rental was a problem because the Hertz person left early and the concierge on duty then did not offer us any alternative.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

"Five star DOGGIE Hotel"

Posted Jun 23, 2015
My expectations of a five star hotel are not on spot at the Fairmont SF. A five star hotel is characterized by luxury appointments, superlative service , and the highest standards of service and cleanliness. The Fairmont failed in all areas. Hotel lobby and room had masked pet odor that made my stomach turn. At night, I was awaken by flea bites. The carpet was soiled in different areas( most likely pet stains )Baseboards had layers of dust. The odor, fleas and loud A/c kept me up all night. In my opinion, all rooms in a five star hotel, should have the same standards, regardless of the floor or rate one paid. Rooms and hotel in general should be exceptionally clean, odor free, and pleasant for all guests. If Fairmont choses to not make improvements, perhaps it should be renamed "The Fairmont Five Star DOG hotel".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Great historic hotel with a classy high end touch.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Extremely friendly staff and glamorous hotel interior but the beds were a bit too soft. Would not recommend to people with back problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the 5 star treatment

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Charm, character, ambience..,but since it's a 5 star hotel, expect to tip everyone...they all expect something "tip" even if ur not a VIP. But it's SF! So only oblige if it's called for! My two cents
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Garcia

short vacation in SF

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Cons: The staff is great.
Location: Cable car very close. Great place to eat.
Rooms were quite and bed was soft. Great to sleep in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Weekend Getaway at the Fairmont

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Old world, classy and historical. Beautiful lobby and room.
Cons: Honestly, I have no complaints.
Location: Close to Union Square, and all sorts of transportation options. The Big Bus hop-on, hop-off stop is only four blocks away, steep blocks though!
I was born in San Francisco and worked there for a long time. My husband lived and worked there too. We moved to San Jose in 1988, and try to get to the city when we get the chance. This time, we decided to be tourists and booked a night at the Fairmont and a day on the Big Bus hop-on, hop off bus! We had a great time seeing "our" city through the eyes of visitors. About the Fairmont, very classy and beautiful! All of the staff members were nice, helpful and professional. Our room was beautiful and clean. I loved the walk in closet! We enjoyed cocktails in the lobby where we listened to lovely piano music. We walked to dinner at Farallon and had an exhilarating 4 block hike back up Nob Hill! We had a really nice time and are glad that we chose the Fairmont. I'm also happy that I went through Expedia and got a great price and free parking!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Milano

Storico e imponente albergo di SFrancisco

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: La disponibilità e cortesia del personale
Cons: Il caffè bar ha una scelta limitata di sandwich che imitano malamente quelli francesi
Location: Ottima posizione per visite e shopping
Ho dovuto cambiare stanza all'arrivo perché le finestre erano per metà coperte da un muro. Insistendo e spiegando che la vista sull'interno non significava sui muri, mi è stata data una stanza con finestre effettivamente sulla corte interna. La mia recensione sul confort si riferisce alla stanza iniziale. Nella situazione successiva il confort è stato gradevole.