Ratings based on 3,454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Beautiful hotel in the heart of SF...easy access to Union Square and the Wharf! Thank you The Fairmont!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Best Hotel to stay in love it

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Room and the staff and the beauty of the hotel
Cons: Better Dance place and a bar and good music
Location: Everything is near by
I love this hotel I had the most great vacation , I live in Modesto California and every other weekend I book a room in this hotel just to go away and have fun . Is close to everything and free parking and the staff are so great . The food and the facility are so great . The only down side that I would love for the hotel to have a better place to dance hear music and a nice bar to hang out with the group of people of my age. I went to the tango Restaurant and felt out of lace to much young people and the food was not good at all. The dance floor was so small I really didn't enjoy it. I end up going to Mark Hopton Hotel there was good music great people . nice atmosphere I had a great time there we end up standing there all night , Something that I would have done if the fair mount Hotel had the same dancing place to hang out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tallahassee FL

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: A very beautiful old world, elegant hotel, the Fairmont is very special. Truly, the top of its class
Cons: Not a thing
Location: At the top of California Street, the cable cars stop close by and make it easy to get around .Chinatown is close by and a short walk.
A fabulous hotel. Valet, Bellman and check in staff were all exceptional. Bomen, the front desk clerk was very accomodating. I asked for and got a room upgrade with a bay view and Bomen made it work. The room was beautiful, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and well served. A very enjoyable stay and we look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Granite Bay CA

Absolutey fantastic weekend stay in SF

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Its historic background, the luxurious decor, beautiful lobby, comfortable, clean and quiet room. Every single staff member was cheerful and helpful.
Cons: Wish the room shades were blackout. Nothing major!
Location: Directly on the MUNI and cable car route, easy access for Uber drivers, beautiful CIty views.
The room was beautiful and extremely clean with no annoyances of any kind---no dripping faucet, runny toilet or broken drawers. Great attention to detail in all respects. Keurig coffee pot is a huge bonus. The towels were so big and soft. Room was VERY quiet (inside court view side). No traffic noise, no neighbor or hall noise, just very peaceful and luxurious. Shower head was perfect, plus a nice big tub for soaking. The bed was wonderful! I got an excellent sleep both nights. The hallway carpets were so plush and soft to walk on. Everything was CLEAN. Love the historic photos along all the hallway walls. Very convenient and soothing dining room experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Great hotel with a lot of history. Very clean rooms and comfortable bedding. Perched at the top of California and Mason streets. Be warned that walking from the Hotel is a pretty steep walk in all directions, but there are always taxis waiting to take you where ever you want to right on the street. Located in a nice part of San Francisco, about a 30 minute walk to Fishermans warf, and about 20 minutes to Union Square and BART
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid Hotel, No Complaints.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Attentive staff. Clean. Very nice area to have a cocktail. Overall solid hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Beautiful hotel but uncomfortable mattress.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Everything was great except the mattress. My husband ended up sleeping on the floor. Don't get room #28!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom y

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Excelente hotel sigue guardando la majestuosidad de siempre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Bedding,
Location: Grace Cathedral, Ferry building, piers
Good hotel pedigree given that heads of state routinely stay there. Decent 4.5 star, not 5 . seems a bit stuck back in time. Ornate lobby areas, good seating, room views were ok, rooms ok lack attention to detail missing paint/ lining, windows, bedding 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location in SF

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Very classy, excellent staff, great use of room space, great location.
Cons: Teach the people at the Top Of The Mark across the street "what service is".
Very classy, excellent staff, great use of room space, great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to welcome you again. Sincerely, Lucas