Ratings based on 3,406 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

first class plus

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: lovely room
Cons: more smiles in the restaurant
The hotel is on Nob Hill so walking to restaurants, parks, beaches is fairly easy. Coming back, uphill, is another story; for that you might want to Lyft it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas

Amazing stay!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Every detail of our stay was excellent. From the amazing view of San Francisco bay to the convenience of valet parking and the superb condition of the room. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in the city and this one is number one in my book at this point.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sorry, but I expected better.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Cons: Definitely needs a makeover or facelift.
Location: Didn't care for the location, as it is difficult to walk to sights. Not centrally located.
We stayed at the SF Fairmont for two nights (this past Saturday and Sunday). I expected so much more from this "luxury resort". In the past, I have worked as the guest services manager of a 5 star resort. I know what is to be to expected as a guest of a luxury resort of this caliber. Unfortunately, I felt let down. From the stained and tattered sofas in the lobby, one robe (with two hangers) hanging in the bathroom, to the elevators with buttons that would not light up, the hotel seems tired and old. My biggest complaint was at 5:45am on Sunday morning, when I called to the concierge to ask what time the gym opened. I was told "6am". I went down to the fitness center/spa at 6am and found the doors locked and a sign that read that they opened at 7am on weekends. When I went by the fitness center later, I was told that the concierge mistakenly says that "all the time". I rarely write poor reviews, but I would have to give this hotel 3-stars, based on this visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel but value is just not there!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
My son and I stayed in this hotel. The hotel is beautiful but the staff and service were terrible. We had a $115 in room breakfast which was scrambled eggs and 1 bagel with a fruit bowl. The milk was sour. We left the hotel for 7+ hours 10am-almost 6pm. When we returned, our room smelled like sour milk as the dishes had not been cleared nor the room cleaned. The internet cost $14 a day and was not working half the time. The business center charged for use of the computer by the minute. WHen I'm paying $600+ for a jr suite at a hotel I do not like being nickel and dimed to death. It took 2 calls to get the room cleaned at 8pm and the next morning before 8am the maids (who were obviously mad from the previous night) were turning on our room lights and waking us up. We are so low maintenance it's a joke in our family but this was a firmly disappointing experience. DON"T OVERPAY FOR BAD SERVICE HERE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Excellent hotel in superb location.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything except the bed was a bit soft and their maintenance of luxury hotels attempts to charge for wifi?
Cons: Free, good wifi
Location: Top of Nob Hill. 5 blocks from Union Square and a couple of blocks from China town. It doesn't get any better.
It isn't the Four Seasons but it is in the next rank. We really had no criticisms recognizing that service is inevitably somewhat impersonal in such a large hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm happy to hear you found the hotel excellent and we hope to welcome you again. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stuttgart

Zentrale Lage und super Service

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Zentral gelegen, allerdings direkt auf Nob Hill, also steil Bergauf. Cable Car hält aber direkt neben dem Hotel. Das Hotel ist sehr sauber und schön eingerichtet. Das Personal war jederzeit freundlich und hilfsbereit. Absolutes Top-Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Old school. Elegant. Staff was great

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Location: Very short but hilly walk to/from Chinatown. On the cable car line.
My only recommendation is that the health club should be complementary for hotel guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Redmond, OR

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Everything else;
Cons: room food
Spent a fortune on dinner in the room. I've had better dorm food in college.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV.

Weekend Away

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff. Attention to detail. I felt like a person with them and not a number.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very centrally located. Good choice for San Fran. Easy access to Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and Financial district.
Great extended weekend with my 12 year old son. We got to experience lots of things in the city. Hotel staff made great recommendations for activities & food choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
I'm pleased you and your son had such a nice visit and found the location well-suited to your needs. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Historic San Francisco perfection

Posted Mar 5, 2015
We chose the Fairmont to be away from the hustle and bustle, pamper ourselves and to enjoy the historic elegance. We are a couple in our early 30's and we found the hotel to be swanky without being stuffy.