Ratings based on 2,817 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mohammed

Safe hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
I really loved this hotel Had a relaxing time Around my attractions Staff are lovely and helpful Room are large
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel, fantastic position

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Friendly staff, comfortable bed after multiple flights, recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Excellent Landmark Hotel - Impressive Facility

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Breathtaking lobby and imposing facilities , friendliness of staff , genuine availability and disposition to serve. Amenities are laudable.
Cons: Some services are cost-excessive, i.e. $65 to park.,
Location: All San Francisco tourist/interest spots are nearby. Very close to all points of interest.
We chose the Fairmont as our "Landmark - Marquee" hotel for our stay in San Francisco. Needles to say, the property lives up to that assessment and more. The lobby exudes history, sophistication and classic refinement, yet it's attendants afford it quite a welcoming and refreshing touch warmth and hospitality, even for such a large facility, you are made to feel at home, welcome and truly serviced. The rooms are very clean and the service was impeccable. Be weary of space when booking but, generally, we were very satisfied with the accommodations and would gladly return. The sheer feeling of arriving at the Fairmont San Francisco, or leaving for a day in the city, amidst the cool San Fran Breeze or the breathtaking views along the cross streets that line its walls are testament to the historic beauty of the site, the city and the property. Close enough to all areas of interest in San Fran, yet standing imposing and ever-present atop the echelons of Nob Hill and its vicinity, the Fairmont is the quintessential San Francisco hotel destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel, but on top of Nob Hill

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Five star is a true representation of the quality of this hotel.
Cons: Not much could be improved except for not having to remind the housekeeping staff to refill the complimentary coffee products.
Location: There are many high end shops, malls, restaurants and sights to see within a reasonable distance of the hotel.
The hotel was excellent and service was good as expected, except that the complimentary coffee products were not filled daily. The hotel is located centrally, but you should be aware it is on top of Nob Hill, which means that a walk to almost anywhere (shops, restaurants, etc) requires the negotiation of steep streets unless you take a cable car or cab, both of which are expensive. If you like to walk as we do, this is a problem. Also, I would not recommend renting a car as parking in the hotel's garage was a ridiculous $65 overnight. Some public parking facilities in the area are a little cheaper. For that matter, parking anywhere in SF is costly. This is why we wanted to be able to walk to various destinations. If you have trouble walking up and down steep hills, be prepared to spend alot on cabs, cable cars or other public transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great. Just didn't like that the staff could be a bit rude and the gym was an additional charge which is ridicules to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Iconic hotel in an iconic city!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, hotel...whats not to like!
Cons: To be supplied with a map of the hotel when you check in would be useful.
Location: Location is very central however it is at the top of a very steep bank, not easy for the unfit or people in wheelchairs to access.
Every member of staff which i spoke to was extremely courteous and professional, a top class hotel - the reputation of the hotel is well justified.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wonderful

Posted Jul 17, 2014
San Francisco is an exhausting city mostly when you just flew from the east coast. The Fairmont is the Ace to stay at to get some rest and discover the City. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Well-maintained historic hotel; great location on Nob Hill; it is a large hotel - the Huntington Hotel down the block is more quiet and more charming - but this is a solid hotel. The new d├ęcor is modern and fresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a.

Great hotel at san francisco

Posted Jul 11, 2014
It one of the best places to stay in San francisco. Its wonderful clean a nice view and very close to the cable train stations. I'll stay again without thinking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Terrible room assignment

Posted Jul 11, 2014
I booked through expedia with the free parking deal. Customers are given least desirable room if third party is used almost to punish. That is not honest. If Fairmont does not like reservations with expedia, then just don't allow it and let those rooms that faces the cables and other hard wares of hotel go with lower price. My room view was horrible especially knowing that you cashed out 125 some dollars you could get beautiful view which other reviewers are talking about. Lobby was impressive but you dont need to stay there to have a look. not too close to Market street or waterfront. Hotel was empty. Front desk clerk did not bother assigning little less claustrophobic room in view of low occupancy. By the way their service gave me impression that they were still in training .hyatt, Marriott does far better than this. Overall I expected more from Fairmont and even I am Presedintal member would not choose Fairmont any time soon.