Ratings based on 3,452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tallahassee FL

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: A very beautiful old world, elegant hotel, the Fairmont is very special. Truly, the top of its class
Cons: Not a thing
Location: At the top of California Street, the cable cars stop close by and make it easy to get around .Chinatown is close by and a short walk.
A fabulous hotel. Valet, Bellman and check in staff were all exceptional. Bomen, the front desk clerk was very accomodating. I asked for and got a room upgrade with a bay view and Bomen made it work. The room was beautiful, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and well served. A very enjoyable stay and we look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Granite Bay CA

Absolutey fantastic weekend stay in SF

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Its historic background, the luxurious decor, beautiful lobby, comfortable, clean and quiet room. Every single staff member was cheerful and helpful.
Cons: Wish the room shades were blackout. Nothing major!
Location: Directly on the MUNI and cable car route, easy access for Uber drivers, beautiful CIty views.
The room was beautiful and extremely clean with no annoyances of any kind---no dripping faucet, runny toilet or broken drawers. Great attention to detail in all respects. Keurig coffee pot is a huge bonus. The towels were so big and soft. Room was VERY quiet (inside court view side). No traffic noise, no neighbor or hall noise, just very peaceful and luxurious. Shower head was perfect, plus a nice big tub for soaking. The bed was wonderful! I got an excellent sleep both nights. The hallway carpets were so plush and soft to walk on. Everything was CLEAN. Love the historic photos along all the hallway walls. Very convenient and soothing dining room experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Great hotel with a lot of history. Very clean rooms and comfortable bedding. Perched at the top of California and Mason streets. Be warned that walking from the Hotel is a pretty steep walk in all directions, but there are always taxis waiting to take you where ever you want to right on the street. Located in a nice part of San Francisco, about a 30 minute walk to Fishermans warf, and about 20 minutes to Union Square and BART
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid Hotel, No Complaints.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Attentive staff. Clean. Very nice area to have a cocktail. Overall solid hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Beautiful hotel but uncomfortable mattress.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Everything was great except the mattress. My husband ended up sleeping on the floor. Don't get room #28!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom y

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Excelente hotel sigue guardando la majestuosidad de siempre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Bedding,
Location: Grace Cathedral, Ferry building, piers
Good hotel pedigree given that heads of state routinely stay there. Decent 4.5 star, not 5 . seems a bit stuck back in time. Ornate lobby areas, good seating, room views were ok, rooms ok lack attention to detail missing paint/ lining, windows, bedding 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location in SF

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Very classy, excellent staff, great use of room space, great location.
Cons: Teach the people at the Top Of The Mark across the street "what service is".
Very classy, excellent staff, great use of room space, great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to welcome you again. Sincerely, Lucas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dixon, IL

Stunning place

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Very clean and comfortable. Love all the little shops in the hotel. The 2 restaurant's are awesome. Perfect location from everything. The roof top garden is just beautiful. If we ever go back to San Francisco we will be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thanks for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased you had such a great stay and were able to experience so much of what the hotel has to offer. Thanks again and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Lucas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisville, KY

Beautiful old hotel, but not all rooms are equal

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Fantastic old touches. Well-preserved classic hotel. Very recently updated rooms (with plenty of outlets for all your devices)
Cons: sound dampening between rooms
Location: It's San Francisco... there's everything to do near by. It's located at the intersection of the two cable-car routes so it's easy to get anywhere
My wife and I loved this historic hotel. It's really 2 different hotels, so know what you are booking. There is the original 5-story hotel with beautiful touches. And there is the 20+ story tower that is much newer. We stayed in the original hotel so we can't comment on the tower. Though the front desk staff were eager to upcharge us to move to the tower. The only benefit I can see in the new tower is the view. But we don't stay in hotels for the view... we get out and see the city. In our room, the walls were paper-thin. We heard conversations (at normal level...no shouting) in the next room. I don't think this is this is typical of all their rooms since we don't see a lot of reviews that mention it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you found the hotel beautiful and enjoyed the history of the property. As you mentioned we are a historic property and much of that storied past is on display throughout the hotel. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Sincerely, Lucas