Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only problem was Direct tv

Posted Jun 17, 2014
We had to invite staff to come set tv Other guests having sat problems
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kyle C from Alexandria, VA

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Union Square has more hotels per square whatever than anywhere else I've seen, so you've got options, but we highly recommend the Hotel California. It's under new management and feels very hip, friendly, and clean. Pineapple water in the lobby is a nice touch. Our 2-bedroom suite reminded me of a nice dorm room or a small NY apartment. Try for upper floors. It's true, you can hear bar sounds from the street on weekends, but you know what? It's happy and it's the kind of noise you only think is keeping you awake if you're already awake. Our 14-year-old slept right through it. I deduct a point for neighborhood because you're right next to the Tenderloin, where unfortunate people sleep and do other things on the sidewalk year round, but you're also near outstanding food. Try the Vietnamese sandwich place down the hill on Jones Street for lunch!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Checked out after 2nd night it was so bad!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The location! It was near everything in town.
Cons: the hotel needs to install air condition!
Location: It was right in the heart of the city, perfect location.
I use my credit card to treat my friend coming to visit me from GA. He checked out of The Hotel California cause he was sweating to death. No air at all. His room was so HOT he couldn't sleep and left in the middle of the night and checked into another hotel cause he was so uncomfortable he couldn't sleep. I felt so embarrassed cause I truly wanted to treat him his two night visit. He said it was so hot in his room he couldn't sleep & he was so hot his bed was soaking wet! So I paid for two nights and my friend only stayed one uncomfortable night and it was so bad the next day he had to check out and pay for another room. I was so disappointed since this was surpose to be my gift to him? I don't feel I should have to pay for this what do you think?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charles from West Palm Beach, FL

Not what I reserved

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Great staff and excellent location.
Cons: Put tv in front of the bed not on the side. Insulate the walls better for noise reduction and more privacy
Location: You are close to union square about 5 blocks walking, also great restaurants in the area.
When i reserved through expedia it said best western and breakfast included. When i get there they told me they changed the name to pineapple and breakfast was not include anymore. Staff was pleasing no complains at all about staff but expedia should have not advertise them as best western and with breakfast included. Also the room was not very comfy, you can't watch TV because is literally on the side of the bed, my phone in the room wasn't working they offered me to change me to a different room but I didn't want to spend my energy on that, you can hear everything from the other rooms to the point that is very annoying, will i stay there again? Hmm not sure because it was very well located and like I said staff was good and now I would know there is no breakfast and is not the best western.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joesph from west yorkshire United Kingdom

Staying at the Hotel California

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Everything the location was brilliant loved the wall featuring all the song that relate to San Francisco and California we had a brilliant room.
Cons: The hotel is due to be refurbished so everything will be perfect.
Location: The location is excellent near to union square the trams are a must shopping essential also tour buses to the golden gate bridge plus tours.
We were there for 21 nights the management and all the staff were fantastic we were treated like royalty nothing was too much trouble they called us family what a fantastic hotel we came home on the 27th of may would we go back.? yes we would go back tomorrow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Auckland

Enjoyable Stay

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable bed,.... huge big screen TV with access to lots a channels......Location...very friendly and helpful staff....coffee machine in room
Cons: I am a single traveller and really self sufficient...I cannot speak for everyone, but this hotel had all I required for a weeks stay
Location: major theatre just across street, On same street is best blues club in S F. AT&T ball park within 20 minute walk, Chinatown and Little Italy close by!
This was my third holiday in San Fran and this was definitely the hotel I would stay at again. Situated in the heart of the theatre district, surrounded by great restaurants. Five minute walk to Chinatown, Ball park within walking distance, my favourite Blues club on same street !! Staff were super friendly and very helpful. On arrival I discovered that I lost the key to my luggage, within minutes they sent a maintenance man up to help me out and successfully get it opened...no charge. I always like to have a bottle of wine and a few beers in my room for a late night drink. Unfortunately there was no fridge in room and I dislike warm drinks. I brought this to attention of front desk and within hour I had a fridge delivered to room. When my shuttle bus failed to show up to take me to Airport,they had arranged for another to come right away so that I would make my flight.Best week ever in San Fran!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Poor for business

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel smelled like a barn, had a single elevator, and was very loud because of outside street noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris S from Ohio

Nice Hotel...

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
...but beware that this is not a BW anymore. We booked when it was still owned by BW and used points. Upon arrival the manager told us he could not honor the points redemption. I called BW as I am a frequent traveler and BW called the hotel and fixed the issue. The purchase agreement with BW and Pineapple states that they must honor these bookings so if you encounter this issue, call BW and they will fix it. Staff was polite but I feel as if it was an attempt to make a bit more profit and that many who would be "stranded" would just accept their offer of a 25% discount and pay vs getting their free nights.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Proximity/Location
Cons: staff and entire hotel
Location: Bart (transportation) and Union Square are only 4 blocks away
Let me start by saying that I don't write all that many negative reviews and this is a doosey. The first thing that hits you when you walk into the lobby is the smell. A mix between mold/garbage and wet dog. I'm not sure when these other reviews were written but this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. (and I have traveled all over the world) No breakfast, no happy hour. I REPEAT TO BREAKFAST OR HAPPY HOUR (even though its still listed on their website). The new owners need a serious overhaul of the building and staff (overnight and early morning staff do not know the meaning of hospitality). Yes you are 4 blocks from all transportation (Bart) and high end shopping at Union Square, but this hotel backs up to a really bad neighborhood. San Francisco has a very high rate of homeless people no matter where you are in the city, but this block/hotel allows them to stand out front and harrass you. I'm not picky when I pick a hotel, clean, safe and a nice bed. This hotel wasn't all that clean and the beds are sub par (the first night I stayed in a room on the 2nd floor, super noisy, the size of a closet and holes in the walls, etc). I stayed on the 7th floor after that (after asking to be moved) and the room was slightly better. None of the window blinds work (wood slat - dont stay open or closed). And is probably a contributor to the noise factor. They really should consider curtains. Splatters of what looks like food on the walls. After complaining to the staff I
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by krs from elk grove

We will be back

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The linens, decor, comfortable bed, the powerful water pressure from the shower.
Cons: We were very happy with our stay. The coffee in the lobby was super good.
Location: We walked to the Warfield - easy walk and the evening was cool!
We checked in to this lovely hotel tucked in between the awesome eateries. Our room was clean and very well decorated - the crown molding with the words from the Eagles song was cool!