Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Z

Close to downtown and noisy.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Old hotel, small rooms, noisy. Close to downtown
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but wouldn't stay here again

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Great Staff, Great location (Downtown near Union Square - sort of) but very dated Building - inside and out. Musty carpeted narrow stairwells, ancient elevators, very dated decor, no wall outlets (for Laptop, Cameras, Tablets/Phones except for GFCI outlet in Bathroom) and peculiar bathroom design - unable to figure out how to use shower head instead of faucet till last day, 10 min before hot water through plumbing for shower, wall-mounted soap/lotion dispensers with perfumed runny solutions. I had to jerry -rig a power bar after unplugging TV, coffeemaker in room to alternate charging devices. WiFi is free but super slow ... 2hours to download 200MB or slower. Super weird cocoons instead of comforters as Duvets. On the plus side, complimentary earplugs (for construction noise during the day), complimentary water and coffee with a Keurig in the room. I booked expecting a gym but this was under construction and not updated on the Expedia site according to staff. There is no easy way to go for a run with all the dense pedestrian traffic except at 6:30am. Many beggars nearby in all of downtown. Plus side: lots of places to eat, grocery store nearby but no room fridge. Didn't use the ceiling fan - Bright yellow plaster room, inscriptions on walls, ceiling painting. In short, quaint. I kept trying to remember the words to "The Hotel California" ... I found myself smiling thinking how I could leave a gracious review as I really do think the Staff there are super-friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Living loud in SF

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Location is great. Beautiful architectural details.
Cons: Noise. Elevator was regularly stuck on another floor. Bathtub needed replacing
Location: Plenty of restaurants, shopping and clubs nearby.
While this hotel has huge potential, without some better windows and sound deadening, a good nights rest is a challenge. Had a corner 'Sun' room on the fourth floor. The room is very visually appealing and the bathroom is clean and has everything you need. However, the traffic noise from Geary Street and our neighbors 6 am business call to Australia left us a little tired. It didn't get better for the following two nights. We used the provided ear plugs and still no relief. I live downtown in a very large city so noise isn't something I'm unfamiliar with. The renovations currently underway at the hotel will undoubtedly make this the awesome hotel it can be but for right now I can't recommend for a restful night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2015
The room was quaint and perfect for our stay. We weren't in the room much, but it was always very clean. The only downfall was that there was construction going on while we were there. It didn't bother me at all because we were not at the hotel during the day, but it may have bothered others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from LA

Living it up at the Hotel California!

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: San Fran is a fast-paced, bustling city, but there is a relaxed, laid back feel as soon as you walk into this hotel.
Cons: Double paneled windows might help with outside noise. TV channel line up would be helpful, it took a while to find news channels.
Location: Close to the SF Jazz Center, Opera, Symphony... lots of restaurants!
We only stayed one night, we were in town for an awards gala. I must say I was so pleased our room was ready an hour earlier, this gave me time to take a nap in one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in!!! The linens were excellent quality and the bed had two comforters! I may have to rethink the way I sleep forever (no more fighting with hubby over the comforter)! We appreciated the little extras, like the Keurig machine in our room with complimentary coffee and tea. Or the eco-friendly Tommy Bahama toiletries, no wasteful little, plastic bottles! The robes and slippers were also appreciated, I forgot slippers and the hardwood floors are quite cold in the morning. The rooms are small, the building is dated, and we noticed some wear on the walls and ceiling in our room. We also understand the hotel is being renovated and in the end, I think it adds an aesthetic charm to the room. There was a severe noise factor, it may be a deal breaker for some. You can hear noise from one room to another, although we did not experience anything out of the ordinary. But there is an outdoor bar and lounge next door. We went to see if we could get a quick bite, but it was very busy (and very noisy)! Being from a big city, a few night caps later and I slept like a baby! Check out was equally pleasant, the staff are all very helpful. They all have different personalities, but I found they all reciprocated the respect and tact that I showed them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel California

Posted Jun 8, 2015
We booked this for our honeymoon and when we arrived the hotel was under construction for renovations We would not have booked had we known that. It put a bit of a damper on our trip
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Cons: could have been a little cleaner but it was doable (bathroom)
Location: BEST location - close to everything in SF that an out of towner wants to see
This is the 2nd time I have stayed here-it is the best location to be close to the heart of SF and walk everywhere or use public transportation. It is a very comfortable hotel - meant for sleeping, showering or relaxing in the room. The rooms are cute, quaint and charming but small - not equipped with a desk for working on a laptop - these rooms are meant for people coming to spend all day out enjoying the city and have a great place to sleep at night. I will stay here again and recommend it. :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Jun 5, 2015
This hotel is in a great location close to union square and surrounded by fabulous restaurants and bars. Very helpful staff and while the room was on the small side, it was perfectly comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem, NC

Budget-friendly with LOTS of charm & character!

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: The hotel had so much character!!! (In larger cities hotels seem to loose their charm due to the high-end business travelers.)
Cons: Located on a noisy street corner, but earplugs were provided. An actually Taxi pull-off area might be a nice addition.
Location: Located not far from Union Square; it is only a short cab ride to anywhere in the city. Borrow their bikes and explore the entire area.
This place was perfect for a 30 something, budget-minded couple just looking for a place to lay our heads. It was very reasonably priced and had a lot of personality. Absolutely loved the historical feel of the hotel included its antique elevator (which only held 4 people) and the California quotes painted on the walls. A little sad the hotel under renovation but you got to stay up with the times. The pineapple water and muffins were delicious in the lobby and the staff was most helpful! Rooms were clean and I enjoyed the Eco-friendly soap/shampoo/lotion dispensers in the bathroom. Best part was the free bike rentals (saving us at least $65)! We took our two bright yellow Pineapple Cruisers across the Golden Gate Bridge and enjoyed a memorable day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Budget Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015
This hotel is pretty far from Moscone Center so if you are in SF for a conference, think twice about booking here. The hotel is in decent shape, not fancy, pretty bare bones.There is free WiFi and the beds are pretty comfortable. If you are looking to save a few bucks then this is a good option.