Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, TX

Not planning to go back there!

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: No way, I am not going back!
Location: Location not as good as I expected
I was very disappointed with this hotel for many reason. First it was very expensive for the poor accomodation and service offered. the lobby does not exist, the reception is in poor condition and the receptionists were not as nice as it is supposed to be. The whole location was smearing so bad. No intentions for doing this better although I think is related with the fact is a very old building. The location is not the expected. I was unable to sleep due some "couple fights" and screams from the street. finally the hotel does not offer breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I stay 0 night. Charged me 2 nights fare.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Creepy hotel. Old fashion elevator. Creepy neighbours. No nodern equipments. There was a nice mirror in the room like a horror movie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

If your looking for A CLOSE TO SAN FRAN DT

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: love the people and staff , they made sure my stay was pleasant ......I LOVE THE LOCATION seriously this is only a few minutes away from everything
Had a great time at the Hotel California in San Francisco. We needed somewhere that was close to the action, My wife and I enjoyed our stay and the rooms were perfect. We were able to walk to ChinaTown (5-7 Min) Union Square (5-7 min) even my gym 24 hour fitness was about 2 blocks away. For the price and location this beats out the busyness of a JW MARRIOT. Very quiet and not a lot of traffic, the parking garage next door gave me a great 3 day rate.....JUST PARK and walk it. If your expecting a penthouse this is the wrong place, but if you want the San Francisco Local Experience and like to stay at a vintage location THIS IS IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Veery Friendly Staff, talk to Ricky the BellMan he knows his way around....VERY FRIENDLY and HELPFUL STAFF THUMBS UP, I would stay again...........................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

My recent stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The bed was so comfortable.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: There are lots of shopping near by and great places to eat.
I love this hotel and it is so close to all kinds of shops. It is affordable and I love the cozyness of the room. The bed is so comfortable, towels are so soft, and they lend you a robe to. I willl be going back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but expensive...

Posted Nov 25, 2014
It's in Downtown SF. Close enough to shopping centers and restaurants, but full of homeless people around the area, also when it gets dark the surrounding area becomes a bit scary. The hotel itself is ok. The room is small and the bathroom is too. Nothing like it was in the pictures. The staff is great though, super friendly. That's why I felt it was too expensive, I was expecting something a bit better for that price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Good stay, small rooms and no breakfast but you should be getting out and enjoying the city anyway. Convenient to BART, MUNI and all sorts of attractions. I felt safe in the area and the people were nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, but a bit small

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Great location, close to downtown and all the tasty ethnic bodegas by the Tenderloin. The rooms are pretty tiny and ours didn't have a nice view. The one complaint was that it took over 20 minutes to get our car from valet parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Great value for the price,

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Great location, many comforts including free internet access.
Location: Close to Union Square and Market Street.
Located close to Union Square. Quaint, cozy room with free coffee and afternoon pineapple cupcakes. Would definitely stay again,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edmonton

Good hotel close to Union Square

Posted Nov 17, 2014
This is an older hotel that is fairly well maintained. The bathroom could have used a renovation as the paint was pealing from the tub and the white tiles were stained with mildew in the grout. Aside from that the noise comments I read before booking were bang on - after a rough night's sleep the first night, I bought ear plugs and slept soundly after that. Is mainly because of the late night traffic as the hotel is on a Main Street in and out of downtown - making it a good location for everything else but the noise factor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great location, great staff, great bed.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Cons: Drawbacks would be if them is warm outside they have no Ac and noise outside could be a drawback. I bought by own small $15 fan and that helped the
Great location and staff. Great beds. Location not the best for families.