Ratings based on 615 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
It was good. We had a good time and the surrounding were very pleasant for exploring and enjoying san francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Pleasant, Older Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Bed, hardwood floor in the room, pineapple water in the lobby.
Cons: Elevator
Location: In the Theatre District, and close to Union Square and Chinatown.
The sheets were clean and crisp, the bed soft and comfortable, the towels soft and plush, the room small but adequate. The staff was friendly and helpful. A nice touch was the pineapple water that was always available in the lobby, cool and refreshing after a walk outside! The only negative was that the elevator, a real antique in this older building, broke down the day before we left. All in all, a very pleasant place to stay in San Francisco, and a bargain compared to other SF hotel prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Older style boutique hotel in excellent location.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Excellent location.
Cons: Breakfast is not provided. While we saw this as a disadvantage, there were several breakfast options close by.
Location: See above. The proximity to Union Square.
The hotel is located a few short blocks from Union Square, which is the hub of the "hop on hop off" bus operations and a main trolley bus line. It is therefore an ideal location for tourists wanting easy access to virtually any tourist attraction. While it is an older style hotel it was comfortable and pleasant, albeit a bit noisy at night due to outside activities. (Sirens etc)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great hotel, right next to Union square

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Just right for us - nicely renovated, with the old charm and the new amenities. Staff was terrific. Great location for walking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Great location. We came to San Fran just for leisure, and discovered we were right in the middle of most of what we wanted to do once we got here here! Clean comfortable place. A nice little bit of semi-independent character. Affordable for San Fran. A little cheaper if you're ok with non-refundable. Very small, simple rooms though! No frills, big breakfasts, pools, large closets or anything here. Come here without a car -- I heard complaints of their parking rates, but you just don't need it here. Quick walk from the BART, easy to get around once you're here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

A character hotel in convenient location.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The polite and helpful hotel staff.
Cons: Don't think anything can be done to modernize the hotel short of tearing it down and rebuilding it. This hotel has character charm. Let it be!
Location: Love riding the cable trams, shopping around Union Square, dining in cafes and restaurants at the Fisherman's Wharf besides joining day tours.
Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights stay there. Staff very friendly and helpful. No air-con but who needs it. The nights were cool. Hotel was getting on with age but still functional, comfortable and most of all clean. Only 3 blocks away from Union Square, the cable trams and shopping precinct. Fishermen's Wharf within reach by public transport. Can be cold in San Francisco but pretty warm once over the Bay Bridge or the Golden Gate Bridge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria Canada

Great Staff Poor Hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Awesome staff
Very noisy sounds from the street and hallway. Not in a great area of town. Staff was great and very helpful. Rooms were small but clean. Great fluffy towels. No air conditioning. Elevator not very useful small and slow, stairs are faster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Central WA state

Perfect getaway hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Convenience to shops and great places to eat. Central location to attractions and a bus ride away from the pier!
Cons: Just basic updates to hotel, liven it up and modernize!
Location: Experience the night life! We were able to walk to the ballpark (but most would prefer taxi)!
We stayed 3 nights here to watch San Fran Giants play. We were very pleased with the location as it was not a bad "hike" from the BART. We were able to get hop on and off bus passes and the stations were within a couple blocks. This was the perfect couples hotel and not too many kids we saw. Neighborhood borders some sketchy people and be prepared to be asked for extra change from local residents, but that is expected. Great beds, we got upgraded from the regular room so I would suggest next time paying a little extra for the next room size up! We had fun in this city and hope to be back in the near future! Definitely would stay again..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice Hotel close to downtown.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Clean room, upscale linens, comfortable beds.
Very comfortable bed. The decor was charming. Some rooms have fans but there is no air conditioner...usually don't need it in San Francisco though. I have trouble sleeping in a warm room, so I asked for a room with a fan...then I had no problem. There is no complimentary breakfast and their restaurant doesn't open till noon...so plan to eat somewhere else. There is a noisy club next door and we could hear the crowd at times, but it wasn't a problem in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mill Valley, CA

Nice hotel for our needs.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The location was great for our needs. The room was clean and the amenities we used were great.
Cons: It was a little noisy, but staying downtown lends itself to vicarious participation in the night life in and around the hotel.
Location: We were within walking distance of various museums and shopping venues.
We were really happy with the location. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and wanted to visit various places in the vicinity--Union Square, Asian Museum of Art--and wanted to have access to good restaurants. Hotel California was located quite well for this. We found the staff helpful and accommodating.