Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rome,NY

Hotel California a pleasant escape from the cold.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed the room and large space in the bedroom area. Having three rooms was great, you don't always get a full closet now a days.
Cons: The rug outside and other common areas could be cleaner, musty smell. We overlooked it as it was not a real factor.
My wife who has never been on the west coast, she was very pleased along with myself with Hotel California. The room was excellent, along with the caring staff. We were located close to all transportation. Easy walk also to local interested areas. The staff was very informative as to how to get around in a very busy city. If you like older hotels and what a pleasant stay, please consider The Hotel California
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Great experience

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Great hotel reasonable price. This hotel was very clean, you notice it the second you walk in from the lobby to your room, it has a fresh and clean smell. Overall very well maintained hotel, friendly staff and close to everything. Highly recommended, I would definitely stay at The Hotel California again. Thanks for a great hotel experience keep up the good work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Cute boutique hotel, small but cozy

Posted Feb 10, 2015
This hotel was conveniently located near plenty of restaurants, only a short walk from Union Square, and best of all, was a great price. The rooms are small but in a cozy kind of way where we didn't mind. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the pineapple cupcakes in the lobby were a nice treat. My only complaint is the slow elevator but we stayed on the second floor so the stairs were a nice alternative for us. Would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good pineapple hospitality

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Staff was great. I had a nice stay room was clean and they helped me with places to see. Thx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Tahoe

Comfortable, Affordable, and Great location!

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Updated and clean. Excellent bedding and linens. Great location near Union Square
Location: Union Square, Cable car close by. Great restaurants in walking distance.
Check in was easy with pleasant staff. Some construction going on so elevator was a problem as it was being used by workers. The entire property is being updated, re-modeled, and renovated. The bed linens and bath towels were of exceptional quality! I recommend a booking in the "Sun Room" category. A bright corner location that included a small frig along with the Keurig coffee maker. The ceiling fan was quiet and kept the temperature comfortable. Another plus for this hotel was the water pressure. We have been in several other San Fran city properties where the shower barely flows.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Close to Union Square

Posted Feb 6, 2015
This hotel was good for the price. Very unique and has lots of character. The room and bathroom were tiny but there was enough space for me and my husband. We arrived on a Saturday night and we could hear a lot of noise from the street. Ice is located in the basement so you have to ask a staff member to get some for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Leicester UK

Looks great on picture but is a right dump

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Awful area, awful hotel. American version of Faulty Towers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston Celtics

Recommend with Qualifications

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed. Good location near Union Square. Great price.
Cons: Staff.
Location: Union Square and cable car and bus lines.
Great location. Older but nice enough especially for the price. Room very comfortable. Watch out for valet parking at $35 per night. I felt misled about the scarcity of parking garages nearby. There was one right next door. When challenged about this desk person said the other garage was not insured and the other nearby garage had inconvenient hours. Both of those options would have worked for me. Also, when I requested a repair of TV sound, I was left a note about which remote to use. The tech must not have checked out the sound long enough to notice that it went in and out and was scratchy all the time but worse when it faded. These problems weren't so bad that I wouldn't stay again especially for price and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Great old hotel in the heart of the city.

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Neat rooms. We loved the wood floors.
Cons: The ceiling fan was not working properly.
Location: Lots of great local spots for food and drinks nearby. We walked down to Lefty O'Douls. It was a true Deli.
Loved staying at the hotel. The only issue we had was the light over the bed. We could not get the light to turn off and leave the fan running. Other than that, it was a great experience. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Good experience. Kind of random location. Only walk towards Union square, not south. It gets real sketchy real quick. Other than that the hotel was quaint and overall it was a pleasant stay.