Ratings based on 1,927 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in a Nice Location

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Nice room, great location.
Cons: Add window curtains.
I was attending a class across the street from the Moscone Convention Center and wanted a place to stay withing 1 mile walking distance. The Mosser was several blocks away (10 minute brisk walk), near the corner of Market & 4rth. The rooms are small, but cozy, clean and nicely appointed. It fell short of 5 stars for the following reasons - 1. I was awaken late at night by conversations in the next room. 2. The room window faced 4rth street, across from a brightly lit hotel. Though the blinds looked very nice, the room was when tightly closed still let enough considerable light. Additional curtains when have been helpful. Having said that, I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Hostel feeling to Hotel prices

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: its in a central area
Cons: Prices and Service
Location: 123
When I booked the room, I haven't expected that you have to pay attention if there is a shower in the room or not. So I was lucky that they offered me a upgrade for $20 to a room with a shower. But even the upgraded room was very small. And the bathroom was just everything necessary. Yes, they offer a valid parking, but it takes about half an hour to get the car. 40 bucks the night is for that kind of service too much. Same with the Spa and Fitness, you can go across the street for the spa, just 15 dollars. I don't know if its worth for it, for me it was just insane expensive and crossing the street in bath closes, thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Artsy fartsy and awesome

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Staff; location; style; historic look; modern decor; price.
Location: Really close to the Yerba Center and artsy part of the city
Rooms are microscopic but have everything you'd need, unless you need space. Shared shower - not much of an issue; shared bathroom - not much of an issue. Not terribly soundproof but wasn't a problem until the weekend. Staff was wonderful, helpful, welcoming, kind. Suuuuper cute place. Historic with modern flair. No 80s art or bedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location, close to lots of stores

Posted Apr 15, 2014
The hotel is close to everything if you like to shop around.
1 out of 5
by Frankie

Warning- Communal Toilet and Shower

Posted Apr 5, 2014
I guess I did not read the Expedia listing closely enough before booking this hotel last minute (we were driving in Soma las we were looking for a hotel). I personally have never been to a hotel like this, and much less for that price I wouldnt guess I wasnt paying for a private bathroom. I blame Expedia. They should put that part in cap locks! P.S. the room was tiny. As in the bed covered 7/8 of the floor space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel for Short Business Trip

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the hotel was just excellent, the hotel did not have any type of weird or strange odors which surprised me for a hotel of this age.
Cons: New and different more vibrant color carpet in the hallways. Lobby could use a facelift, more appealing colors. Newer inside renovations overall.
Location: The location was perfect. Coming from the Airport, you take the BART to Powell St and its a block away from the hotel. Lots of shops and eats close.
I was extremely pleased with the booking through Expedia, second to none. When I arrived at the hotel, I wasn't sure what to expect not having stayed there before -so this was a first time visit and stay. The check-in was a "no-hassle" welcome, I was very pleased. I didn't know the hotel was as old as it was tenure-wise (100 yrs), but it was nicely kept. Marble floors when you enter into the lobby. Nostalgic legendary hotel from what I understand. The staff was very friendly and professional. When I reached my room, it was super-clean but small in square footage. For a single person or couple, it might be ideal. Coming from Texas, I'm accustomed to quite a bit more in deluxe room real-estate. The room had no odors or strange smells, and was pleasant to stay in...just small. The room amenities were in place (i.e., iron, clean bathroom towels, clean drinking glasses) and the closet was ok. The bed was comfortable, queen size. Only one window with a fairly nice view from my side of the hotel. Being on the 8th floor was nice with no noise and I was away from the elevator. The hallways and corridors were clean, but the carpet just looked old. But nothing smelled old or antiquated. Very interesting hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Knowles Studio from Poulsbo WA

For a 1913 old hotel, it was great.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
For a 1913 old hotel, it was great. Be prepared to put on your bathrobe, supplied by the hotel, to go down the hall to use the loo or the shower. If you can deal with not having a private bathroom, it's a great place to stay, close to the major financial district and a safe and entertaining walk to the embarcadero. They have green soaps and other products in the room. They provide delicious organic apples in the afternoon. Tap water tastes good. Bed was comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but ...

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Nice, good situation, affordable ... but some room have just a wall in front of the window. Nevrtheless I would recommand this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lori from toronto

Great hotel and reasonable price

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Great location. Friendly staff. Free muffins and coffee for breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sean from Wellington, New Zealand

Great mid-city hotel for singles/couples

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: Better selection of pillows. Were too bulky and resulted in a poor sleep
Location: Excellent location. Great eating, shopping and entertainment nearby. Easy to access public transport and the Freeways
The hotel served my purpose as being a clean, safe and relatively comfortable base from which to do business in the city during the week and to sightsee from in the weekend. The room is not sufficiently big enough to do much else than sleep and refresh, and there is not much room to put bags/luggage, but if that's all you need, like I did, then it's an excellent choice. The free Wi-Fi was certainly appreciated!!