Ratings based on 2,311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice room - good price - loud traffic noise!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Beautiful historic hotel with lovely rooms.
Cons: Noise, airconditioning, fitness facility.
Location: Movie theatres very close, Annabelles restaurant next door, lots of shopping.
The Mosser is a lovely historic hotel. Our room was beautiful. Unfortunately, there is no air conditioning and the traffic noise is disturbing. I would not stay here again. No fitness center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Room size

Posted Sep 14, 2014
We booked the room knowing it would be small, but when we got there our room was 10 by 10 with a sink in the corner. It was clean and comfortable but we had a shared bathroom and shower rooms down the hallway which was a real drag . When I thought I had booked a room with a shower and toilet. So when you book make sure if you want your own privacy you book a full room with no shared bathrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Hotel was walking distance to many, shops, facilities, attractions and transportation. There was also a coin laundry facility within the hotel which came in handy. Only issue we had was the noise level coming from the streets, too humid in the room to have the windows (no air con, only fans in room) closed so we had to put up with the noise, but given the central location, loud noise from the streets and passing cars was probably a given. Overall we were really happy with our stay, rooms were comfortable and location was excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No en-suite but it really didn't matter

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location and decoration
Cons: Room was a little bit small.
Location: Close to a Union Square where the hop on hop off buses go from. Also at least two good restaurants nearby, plus the shops of course.
We chose The Mosser because it was close to a BART station and we would be using the BART to get into town. Plus it had good reviews and the price was reasonable. We were aware that the room wasn't en suite but the bathroom/shower was 2 yards down the corridor and the separate toilet a bit further on. At no time when we wanted to use either of these were they engaged so there was no problem. Plus they were extremely clean at all times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice Alternative to Chains

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Location is excellent and near the heart of all good things San Francisco; it was clean; service at desk was excellent
Cons: Probably too difficult to make the standard room a bit bigger.
Location: Excellent location-near Union Square shopping, Powell St. cable cars; Westfield Mall, Yerba Buena center, AT&T Park, CalTrain, BART; Ferry Building
This was rented for my sister and 12 year-old nephew. I went with them to check in and found everything to be good. It was a nice alternative to the typical chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toulouse, France

Nice hotel near Market Street

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Nice room in the center of San Francisco. Good ration quality/price. Nice Hotel Staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jefferson City, MO

Great value, close to Moscone.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
This is an old, Victorian hotel about a block from Moscone. There is no A/C and had to leave the window cracked to maintain temperature, which is not really a problem in San Francisco, but that did leave you a bit vulnerable to street noise. The room was small, but adequate. My room had a bathroom, but some rooms share one at the end of the hall, make sure you know which you are booking. Most hotels around the convention center are really expensive...this one is great if you are looking to save a few bucks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila

Very nice location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Very cozy, coffee and muffins at the lobby in the mornings, friendly staff!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Very handy to transport and shopping areas

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Rooms very small and only some have private facilities. If there during night only can be satisfactory. Road side rooms noisey so light sleepers beware.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Excellent San Francisco Hotel on a Budget

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Stayed at The Mosser when in San Francisco for a conference (9th Aug-16th Aug). Hotel is well situated in downtown San Francisco, walking distance from the Moscone Centre and Union Square. Hotel was clean and well maintained. I had booked a single room with a shared bathroom. I was expecting a small room which is what I got. Room had a twin bed, wash basin, waredrobe and cable TV (no Air-Co though, not an issue during my stay as the temperature was only reaching the low 20 oC range, room does have a ceiling fan though) and was modern and well maintained. The same can be said of the shared bathroom next door, which was always clean when I used whatever time of the day. The hotel is on 4th ans Market in San Francisco which is bustling part of the city so street noise could be an issue. The room I had was at the back of the hotel off the main street so was relatively quiet, this might be something to ask for upon arrival. A great hotel for San Francisco if you are on a budget.