Ratings based on 2,358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Hotel close to union square

Posted Oct 20, 2014
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was very close to Union Square and some great restaurants. Close to a target and AMC theatre. The rooms were small and of course old but most things were updated. It was fine for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Merritt, B.C.

Great location to down town.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: I think is the low key style and location to shopping etc.
Cons: I think if somehow air conditioning could be added to the rooms as sleeping is hard when its hot.
Location: Love Mels diner just down the block. Car rental across the street. Shopping to all the stores are minutes away.
We have stayed once before at the Mosser. Love the atmosphere and location. I think the only thing that I can say on the negative side, that when the weather is hot there is no air condition. Miss that for sleeping at night. Mr Joe at the front is most accommodating. There is car rental across the street. A most enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Clean, well-located hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
We didn't know what to expect and were only staying overnight. Although the room was very small, it was well designed and welcoming with a very comfortable queen bed. The room we had was not meant to spend time in but definitely met our needs and we'd go back again if it was for a one or two night stay and get a room with facilities if it was for a longer stay. Extremely well located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, near the BART subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The start of our journey to Sedona

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Well maintained and very helpful and pleasant staff
Location: Good position, near all the shops and transport. Walk distance to the piers is about a mile
On arrival our room was not ready so we left our luggage at the desk and went to the bar next door. on returning our room was ready so we took our luggage to the room only to find a nice bottle of wine and a flower on a tray on the bed which we thought was a very nice gesture. We had a room on the second floor over looking the road. We thought at first this would be noisy but with the double glazing shut it was rather quiet. Just incase though ear plugs were supplied with all the usual toiletries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Simple clean and comfortable - good value

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: See lighting issue above
This is a small older hotel which has had a recent make-over and it has been well done given the challenges of an old hotel. Only issue I had was the intrusion of the passage light into the room via a partially screened window over the entrance door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Room was clean and bed was comfortable.
Location: Close to shopping, chinatown, fisherman's wharf
Hotel was in downtown san francisco close to Target, a movie theater, and lots of shopping. The room was a lot smaller than I'm used to, especially for the price. But the deal booked wasn't bad considering the prices of other hotels. Within walking distance to chinatown and a short drive to fisherman's wharf. Hotel room was nice and clean. Coffee and muffins were provided at breakfast. Coffee was only served in hotel's mugs. It would have been better if they allowed travel mugs or other cups for visitors on the fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from near LAX

Good location but noisy

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Location. Very nice bed
Cons: Check-in
Location: 2 blocks from union square, less than a mile to Chinatown & North Beach.
Check in was not that smooth but once in it was a nice room. Close to all I needed. But a lot of street noise. Room pretty small. I did not encounter any real issues to report.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Mosser, a CHEAP Diamond in San Francisco

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Locatio, Location, Location to the Moscone center and the PRICE.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Moscone 1.5 blocks away, Trolley Cars 2 blocks away, walking distance to China Town and semi walking to the Wharf if you feel like taking a 20 minute
THe Mosser is a VERY GOOD hotel. What kept me from giving it all 5 stars is I booked a room without a bathroom, INTENTIONALLY. THese rooms are clean, small yet great because all I wanted was a place to sleep. And sharing a bathroom is not as bad as it sounds. On a 4 night stay, I only waited for the shower once and that was for only 5 minutes. I have stayed here at least 6 times and it is AWESOME. Oh yeah, a shout out for the Concierge, JOE! HE ROCKS. Takes care of anything that you need!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

love this place

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Hotel is right near Market St. Easy access to buses and great restaurants. Rooms are small but we knew this before we booked so it was not a surprise. We paid to have a private bathroom. Love this hotel. Highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Shared bathroom isn't so bad after all

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The Mosser was pleasantly surprising! We stayed during fleet week and weren't jazzed about staying somewhere where we had to share a bathroom. Considering the entire city was either sold out or ridiculously expensive we braced ourselves for more of a crummy hostel experience (we even brought shower shoes). The Mosser was anything but. It was a historic charmer! The room was a bit small, but comfortable and the bathroom and shower were clean and conveniently located. We enjoyed our stay! Staff was great and the value was good. Note: I wouldn't suggest this option if your mobility is limited. The toilet was not handicap accessible and narrow and the shower room had a fairly deep tub that might be difficult to get in and out of. Otherwise, great stay and convenient location near the BART.