Ratings based on 2,417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfield CT

What a find!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Great ambiance, and of course the coffee and homemade muffins in the morning and wine tastings on Friday night
Cons: One elevator, and it can be slow at times - be prepared to take the stairs
Location: Excellent location, right by the Civic Center, Union Square, and the Powell Street Cable Car terminus
Reasonably priced hotel in the middle of downtown. Don't be put off by the toilet and bath down the hall - it was never a problem, and well worth the tradeoff for a reasonably priced hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Perfect little hotel for a great price. The room is small but clean and very well designed. A bit noisy from outside noise but would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central value-for-money hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Friendly staff, central location. Basic but ample amenities that are well kept. Nice muffin and coffee/ tea in the morning across the reception
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but small room.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Hotel is located right in the heart of San fran, quite and old hotel but has all the mod cons. They even provide a little morning Buffett of muffins and coffee. Recommended!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

Friendly hotel, as central as it gets!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, location, cleanliness
Cons: Room was too hot at all times (early November) even without the heating, had to keep the window open - was noisy due to 24x7 construction nearby.
Location: As central as it can be - within walking distance of most attractions in SFO
I was skeptical about the shared bathrooms but after reading positive reviews from other travelers, decided to give it a go. The Mosser left me pleasantly surprised, all the staff members from those at the reception to the cleaners were polite and friendly. The room (though tiny) was very thoughtfully designed and comfortable to stay in. I never had to wait to get into the shared bathroom/ toilet - both were kept absolutely spotless clean at all times. The hotel is very central (about a minute's walk from Powell station - direct connection to the airport), it is also within walking distance from most attractions in the city. Plenty of dining and shopping places right outside the hotel. Some central parts of the city are rough but this hotel is on a decent street, I did not see any dodgy people in the immediate vicinity. If you are looking for a clean, central, affordable (by SFO standards) and friendly place to stay at - go for it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
I will never consider the hotel. The room is so small and bathroom is dirty
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Hotel staff was not friendly whatsoever and the room is very small
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Great for the price. Staff was friendly and hotel was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Very good location hotel!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: I like the location
Cons: Should suggest guest about place to go in the city
Location: Union square
We are a couple staying at the Mosser for a week. The location is very good for travelling around the city and very closed to Powell station and cable car. Room is nice and clean but a bit small. Anyway it's not a problems. The only thing I feel not comfortable is the sink which is quite small in front of the bathroom. Staffs at the front desk and housekeepers are friendly while the guys at the hotel door looks quiet and never smile to the guests. The muffins are really good and enough for our breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for mini getaway

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Super cute and cozy hotel. close in walking distance to Union square. I stayed here on a weekend getaway on a budget and it was perfect