Ratings based on 2,346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Close to downtown

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Close to Downtown
Cons: Breakfast and Make it cheaper
Wasnt that bad as some of the reviews I read before booking. But, looks like an old style constructions and you need not expect lot of fancy comforts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Happy to be back at The Opal for our 5 day stay.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Cons: Could use some updating.
Location: Easy to hop on a bus to go to the wharf. We walked to Chinatown and City hall with no problem.
This was a return visit for us and we were not disapointed. Ophelia and staff are excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Convenient location

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. They were pretty enthusiastic in organising day tours for us.
Cons: A ramp at the entrance rather than steps leading to the lobby would be welcome. It is a challenge to move bags in and out of the lobby area.
Location: Very convenient location, close to buses, not too far from the Union Square and other amenities.
We had a pretty good time. The hotel provided good breakfast, there were tea/coffee facilities and the location was good too. There were storage facilities for luggage which was very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The whole experience was a pleasant surprise. I wasn't sure what to expect when booking. The price was rather high, but for an event weekend and considering how much other hotels raised their rates, the Opal was competitive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Nice hotel walking distance to some attractions

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Good experience but complimentary breakfast can improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
The location is perfect for moving around, the complementary breakfast is good just a little crouded!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Stained glass windows and ceiling were beautiful. Appreciated coffee 24/7.
Cons: We would have liked one more chair to sit in. Maybe we should have asked.
Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was welcome addition and very good with many choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The only good thing is the location.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: A friend told me about it.
Cons: New carpets, new sheet, new pillows, new curtains, better wifi and breakfast.
Location: The location is great.
The front desk person was not that nice. She just did my check in and gave me the keys. She didn't tell me about the elevator, the breakfast and I had to ask about parking which she then told me about the garage for $36 a night. The room is smelly. The curtains and carpet are old and yellow. I had to wear flip-flops all the time. The bed is not that comfortable and the pillows the worse. My mom had a terrible backache the next day. Also, our room was by the garage and all night long I heard people in and out and the staff taking garbage outside, pushing carts....I didn't have a good night sleep. And the wifi just didn't work. It lets you log in but then it's just slow and doesn't change pages. I could not get to work. Like I said the only good think is the location, so I made sure to be out and about all day and just use the room to sleep. Oh and breakfast is just cheap white bread, sugary juices, cheap coffee, and sugary yogurt...the rest I didn't look at it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

A tidy place in a good location

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Helpful staff and tidy comfortable room. A good location out of the central area within easy reach of the Civic Centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, old-fashioned style

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, good breakfast
Front desk staff was very helpful. The location was perfect for our needs. Cozy ambience.